We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, includes parking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Puerta del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in David
Panama
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great value, includes parking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a great hotel for the money. I paid $42. The room was very clean, comfortable enough bed, hotel had an elevator and underground parking. A/C worked well-mine wasn't loud. I was in an interior room-nice and quiet. Great location-city park is just down the street. Hotel has a restaurant and a computer room. Wifi in the rooms included in price. Staff were friendly and helpful. No coffee in the room, but luckily I brought my own instant packs from Trader Joes. There is a fast food place called PioPio right across the street-I was up and about at 6 a.m. and they had coffee. I would stay her again and recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet (from street noise) get a interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFamily20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    50
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
28
33
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

David is interesting to see briefly; the traffic is an experience, but it's worth persevering to get around and the big shops off the Interamericana highway are worth visiting if stocking up on goods. This is a great hotel, very central, easy access to Interamericana and road to airport and near the central park which is a good spot for people-watching and catching some shade. The restaurant is reasonably priced and reliable, if not inspiring and very handy and good for breakfast. My husband really enjoyed his steak there. I strongly recommend this hotel, prices are very low and quality very high. The folks at reception are super-helpful (lent me a hairdryer) and friendly.

Room Tip: Room 117 was great and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We scheduled three days of our trip in David, getting to know our way around and this hotel suited us very well. It isn't new, but it is kept in immaculate condition and if you ask for a quiet room they can provide it. There are some obvious improvements that the hotel could make, including making sure that rooms have night lights at the bedside, however, for the price this hotel delivers value. The food in the restaurant is excellent and plentiful for a reasonable price, even in a downtown hotel. The staff are friendly and eager to help, and the hotel remains an oasis of calm even on Friday and Saturday in David, which tend to be very boisterous indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the street. If possible get a room with a double and a single, you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyldbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel has an excellent vibe in spite of looking pretty old from the outside. The desk staff does speak a little English and I had fun practicing my Spanish.

If you are forced to spend a night or several in David, Panama and want a hotel in this price range it is a reasonable choice. The AC worked well (very loud) buy hey it worked, the showers got us clean (in hot enough water) every day and we couldn't hear the street noise over the noise of the AC (I sleep with ear plugs when I travel anyway).

Most of the rooms in this hotel have windows that face a blank wall. That's not a problem if you are arriving late and getting out early, but after the first night we moved to a room with a view of the street. The rooms we stayed in were reasonably clean, and the entire hotel has a tile floor.

If you have to spend a night in David, this is an okay choice, not good but okay. My only real recommendation is to avoid David entirely unless you absolutely have to go there.

There is lots of garbage in the streets everywhere, some streets smell strongly of sewage and lots of sidewalks had holes so big you could fall in and disappear.

Armed guards are posted in front of all cash generating businesses an hour before sunset and the streets did not feel safe at night. There are very few good options for eating out.

If I was forced to visit David Panama again, I would stay here again, but I don't really plan to go back.

Room Tip: Most rooms have windows that face a blank wall. Ask for a second floor room with a view of the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadfad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
425 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

My first night my room was above the kitchen and I heard noise until after 10 PM. Also, there was almost no water pressure in the bathroom probably from use in kitchen. The next morning I changed to a front junior sweet. There was good water pressure in the bathroom but I had other issues. The room faces a new disco across the street and music played loudly until after 3 AM. Also a lot of traffic noises. I first stayed here almost six years ago. The hotel is still clean but the distractions will prevent me from returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDogPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We booked a junior suite for $65 a night, a good deal. The hotel doesn't look like much on the outside, but our room was comfortable--nothing fancy, but it was adequate. The location was central. The staff was efficient and friendly. As others have noted, this hotel is a good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MYu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel only because they were nice enough to open an extra secure parking area to accommodate my utility trailer being used to haul some boat motors. The staff were courteous and helpful. The rooms were clean, fresh, and the AC worked great. For the value, you can't beat this hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AirDumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these David hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
0.8 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#4 of 13 in David
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcala
Hotel Alcala
#3 of 13 in David
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta del Sol

Property: Hotel Puerta del Sol
Address: Calle Central y Avenida Tercera, David 0426, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puerta del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Chiriquí Province and to Puerta del Sol Hotel where you will feel the pleasure of being at home.We are located between 3rd Avenue and Central Street, at the commercial heart of David city and just 5 minutes away from Enrique Malek Airport. Our hotel offers 86 rooms, one restaurant, 3 meeting rooms and 2 parking lots, among other services that will make your visit to our province for business or for touristic purposes an unforgetable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Puerta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Sol David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing