We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rip Off!!! Estafar!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Hotel Nacional
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in David
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Rip Off!!! Estafar!!”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Never wrote a bad review before, but this one was needed. We were charged for a reseration we did not make. When we went to the hotel to explain the issue, we were treated very nicely by the staff, but they could not make the decision to credit our card for their mistake, it had to handled by someone further up the chain. When the decision was finally communicated to us several days later, after daily follow ups on my part, we were told that we booked a reservation for the month prior to our arrival in the Panama (coincidentally the reseration that their clerk booked us for was the day following our call to book a room for the upcoming month).

Needless to say we were unhappy - if we are ever in David in the future, we would sleep in our car rather subject ourselves to their customer service.

Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juno80503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    78
    38
    11
    13
See reviews for
50
53
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fossil, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Beautiful hotel with kind staffs and a wonderful restaurant serving good seafoods and Italian/American food. Price was very reasonalble. Free buffet breakfast was different everyday and delicious and they have a very clean swimming pool. David was a good location to go see other towns like Boquete or Beaches.. etc.. Shopping in David was great, too!

Room Tip: We wanted to use a room by the pool but we choose a mini suite because of it's size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

That’s the oasis away from hot busy David. We just were changing busses on our way to the coast, so it was the ideal place for a rest. Big friendly room with big comfy bed, aircon, nice bathroom, very clean. Refreshing swimming pool in the flower garden and a nice dinner at the barbecue restaurant. Relaxing! Computer use, Wifi, big cooked breakfast buffet and welcome drink all included – excellent value for money (we paid 85$ for a double, booked online). Would always come back here! We didn’t leave the hotel, as we know David (nothing much to do there), but if you want to explore, it’s all walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MK1Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I was there for 4 nights few weeks ago. At first impresion I thought that will be a nice hotel ... well ... Front desk is not bad at all but you have to walk a lot to get elevator... once you get the room "340" with pool view . . . it was really hot ... I turned A/C but ws a really noisy one.. or watch TV or get Air running...

Bed Sheets are old as hotel, dirty ... I decide go to the gym .. well a think no more than 3 sq. meter with old machines.. 1 cycle .. 1 walking machine and one kind of exercise machine in a very bad conditions.... it really dissapointed me...

Restaurant was great... nice food and not expensive at all. Good deal here !!!.

Last day I arrive from work and my room was open.. so I asked front desk and she said I dunno... she asked manager and nobody knows why it was open... However nothing was missing...

I will say like a summary ... if can get a better hotel .. DO IT !!! This hotel does not worth it if you are lokking some 4* hotel.

Room Tip: A/C is really noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan_Alejandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uvita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

From check in to check out everything was very pleasing. My room was small but clean and nicely appointed with great A/C, TV and WiFi. It was on a noisy side but it did not bother me. The hotel is a non-smoking property which I liked. It is centrally located so access to the myriad of shops and vendors is within a few blocks walk. Staff could not be faulted except for restaurant staff who consistently do not do provide follow-up service once you are served. Mind you, if you are tired of wait staff catching you with a mouthful...asking if, "You guys are doing OK?" this may be a good thing. But you will need to go find a waiter if you need another beverage or your bill....they just don't seem to come back otherwise. Nice, big inner court yard pool. Lots of on-site parking with security guards. David will never ever be a destination of choice for me, but I would stay at this hotel again any time if I must go to David.

Room Tip: Ask for an inner facing room - there really are no views worth suffering street noise for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrgould45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Spent two nights over New Years. Close enough to the plaza to easily walk to the festivities. Far enough away to be restful at night. Rooms were comfortable. Pool was magnificient. Complimentary breakfast buffet was very satisfactory. Dinner in the restaurant was very reasonable and more food than we needed. WiFi worked well.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
154 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The hotel room had been upgraded with a 'new' bathroom. The room was large with 2 double or possibly queen sized beds, and a good air-conditioner. The room price is quite reasonable (and as noted by others the price on their web page or at the front desk is the same as on Expedia or Booking.com) and included 2 breakfasts each morning in their restaurant. We were unable to locate any better restaurants last time so we ate in their Italian Pizzeria each evening and were quite satisfied. It is frequented by locals and provides good 'local' food and pizzas. It also provides take-out pizzas for the locals. Our room didn't have a fridge which would have been useful as most evening meals were bigger than our appetites. The alcoholic beverages are reasonably priced.
The pool was welcome on hot sunny afternoons and was very clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyboomerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these David hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de David
0.8 mi away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
13.3 mi away
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Via
Hotel Gran Via
#9 of 13 in David
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#7 of 13 in David
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Nacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Nacional

Property: Gran Hotel Nacional
Address: Avenida Central | P.O. Box 378, David 0426, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Nacional 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nacional is located in the heart of David´s banking and commercial Center, Capital of Chiriqui Province completely remodeled. Its surroundings are great to spend a good vacation with your family, also to plan the business meetings, weddings, seminars, etc.Our comfortable rooms, Jr. Suites, Pool–Side, Master Suites, are mostly furnished with two double beds, and some are equipped with king or queen sizes.There are 3 restaurants on property: the Coffee Shop serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the daily exquisite lunch-buffet, the Italian–Pizza Restaurant offers “A la carte” all day from lunch to dinner, furthermore the Gazebo, located in the small Tropical Garden, the room transforms every night to a Barbecue Restaurant with a salad-bar.For your evening activities the hotel offers “Multicinema” with 6 theater, plus Las Vegas style Casino open 24 hours.Gran Hotel Nacional, “More than a Tradition, a Chiriqui Heritage”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Hotel Nacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel David

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing