We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, would go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Farallon
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice, would go back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

It takes about two hour to get to the resort from the airport. Hoping that the new airport that's 5 minutes away from resort will be open to international flights.

Once at the resort, we had a beachfront room. That's the only way to go. From there everything is accessible; pools beach restaurants, bars and snack bars. They made sure everything was less than 2 minutes away. The reason is the resort is built on a downward sort of a hill. All three lobby's are on top and room go down towards beach and most of the restaurants.

Beach is beautiful, weather was Amazing., food was very good. Lots of varieties. Service very good, staff so nice. Rooms are clean but don't expect a fully renovated hotel. That being said we we're happy with our room. The ocean front room has an amazing view. We were in building # 31.

Downside : you have to pay for your security box and WIFI. Also, no mini-fridge in rooms, but that's ok since they provide very room with a 1.5 lt of water daily and like I mentioned before, restaurants and bars everywhere.

We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying for beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loulou_hanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adal B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Greetings,

We appreciate your comments.

Thank to your review we are able to keep improving our services. Currently we can tell you that we have free WiFi service in our lobbys. Also we count with mini refrigerators in each room. This is possible because we like to make our customer happy so they can enjoy their vacations in Decameron.


Hopefully we´ll have you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    1,649
    1,023
    381
    268
See reviews for
1,261
1,673
102
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is my first time to Panama and would certainly go again. The food was good, the weather was awesome and the drinks were great. We did try a couple of the ala cartes, but found the food was better at the buffets. Staff is really nice. One of the girls in our group has to have surgery on her knee, so we took shuttles if we had to go up the hill. The resort is huge, very clean and grounds well kept. We upgraded to a room down near the beach, which was awesome. We didn't have to walk far for the buffets, the pool and the beach. I would definitely recommend this resort.
We hired a cab driver from the resort to take us to the Canal, boat trip and the market. He took us where ever we wanted to go for $60 each for the whole day. He was great, spoke english very well and brought a driver with him so he could focus on us and answer any of our questions.
Yes, you do waste 2 travelling days......5 hour flight and 2 hours from airport to resort, but we knew that when we booked so we were prepared for it.
I would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Not a place for someone who has trouble walking. But the shuttles are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scrapper57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adal B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Greetings,

We appreciate your review.

Hopefully we will have you around soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were at the Royal Decameron in Panama for the first two weeks of March 2014. This resort is huge but well maintained with 3 different lobbies. The grounds are well maintained. If you don’t like stairs, this is not the place for you. We were in building 16 and had to go up 104 stairs from the beach to our room. There are lots of a la carte restaurants and at least 3 buffets – one for each lobby - open for meals. All restaurants were good, cannot complain about the food at this resort. The only complaint from us is the variety – always the same food day after day. Rooms are good size, somewhat outdated, but kept clean. We were a bit frustrated - we had to pay extra $3.00 a day for a mini fridge that took almost 2 days to show up. Apparently the resort only has about 50 fridges, so we had to wait for someone to leave to get one. There is also lots of open bars all over the resort – at least one in every lobby and pool. Service was slow at some and OK at others. We noticed that the younger bar tenders were nicer than the older bar tenders. The best bar was the one in Lobby 2. The bartender was the best, always happy and smiling and very friendly. We spent the first week at the pool in lobby 2. At first, the animation crew were very nice and playful. They would ensure everyone got to participate in their daily games. After a while, they did not want us (Canadians) to play. We tried to play volleyball or sand bags but to no avail. We were never chosen so we decided to go to pool in lobby 1 and got better service and fun there.
We booked 1 excursion from the hotel - Decameron Explorer - to visit the Embera Indigenous Community. On our way there by bus, our tour operator explained to us that we had to stop at a grocery store to buy groceries for the Indigenous village because they could no longer hunt for food as all the animals are gone and their village is now on a national park. We were told we could purchase beer, rice, beans, etc. so we bought beer, rice and cookies. Once the bus stopped, we took a small ride on a piragua (small wooden boat) to the indigenous community. Arriving at the village, we were told to either give our bag of goods to the people of our choice or put the items on a table and it would be shared by the tribe. We decided to put our items on the table. We had a meal (fish or chicken) served in a bowl made out of a banana leaf. It was good; then the villagers danced and played music then some tourists had temporary tattoos done on them for a small tip. We then went to their market to purchase trinkets made by the locals. Someone in our group then noticed that one of the guides from Decameron Explorer took all of the beer and some food and put those items in a bag and was leaving with it. We confronted him and he told us that we were not allowed to give beer to the indigenous people. We explained that our guide had told us that we could so he finally gave the beer back to the tribe chief. He still left with a bag full of food though. This kind of ruined our day trip. When we arrived at the hotel, we told our Nolitour representative. Not sure what happened after that!!!!
All in all, we liked our trip but were a bit disappointed with the lack of fauna in Panama. We were told that with the deforestation, most of the animals were either dead or moved to higher elevations. There was also a lot of garbage everywhere on the side of the road. It’s a pity because they have a beautiful country and could ensure tourist get to see their animals and plants. Over all we loved our vacation to the Royal Decameron in Panama, but would not go back to this resort as there are a lot of other places/countries to be visited.

Room Tip: In our opinion, choose rooms close to lobby 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malyhupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adal B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for your comments.

We deeply apologize for the inconvenience regarding the tourist guide, we will make sure this matter reach to our the correct person, if you could provide us more information, we will appreciate.

Regarding the mini fridges, now all our accommodations are equipped with one.

If you have any other comments please feel free to let us know so we keep improving our services.

Kindly regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We just came back from our vacation.My overall rating for this hotel was very good.Hotel is very clean and very well maintain.Beach is nice and clean.Food is well prepared with lots of choices.Room service was excellent.Servers need some more training but it is not a big problem.Rooms are nice and big.Every room has air conditioner and it is very quiet and efficient.Resort is built on the hill it not good for people with limited movement but transportation is provided when needed.Rooms with ocean view have nice panorama of ocean with a sound of waves. Weather was nice.We will go again we are looking forward to be there again.I woud recommend.

Room Tip: Chose the room that is not close to main reception if you want to sleep soon.Have room with ocean vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adal B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Greetings,

We appreciate your review.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your vacations here in Decameron.
Regarding the training for the service staff, we will make sure this comments will get to the right person.

Hopefully well have you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Like over reviewers this resort is HUGE! Very clean and found it pretty - there was always a worker cleaning or gardening. We stayed in bldg. 18 on the 3rd floor - you could see a bit of the ocean - perfect location as you are in between lobby 1 & 2. Our room was very clean, there was shampoo, conditioner, soap & hair dryer provided, no face cloths, we brought our own from the dollar store and left them there. Peacocks and iguanas are running around - fun to watch. Yes, the resort is hilly and you have to walk a bit - but it's not half as bad as Costa Rica - you can take the shuttle if you don't want to walk. We found the staff friendly - only came across one rude bartender, when my turn came up he took the person behind me first because they were talking Spanish. Food was OK, found breakfast to be the best - lunch and dinner OK - we always found something to eat. We did try El Canal which was "gross", both order the seafood mix grill - nothing was grilled and it came to us cold, the shrimp was "mushy" we couldn't even eat it. The other was Kontiki - we both had the salmon which was good but overcooked. We did eat at La Fogata just outside of gate 2 just before Woody's which was delicious - had a 3 course seafood dinner with drinks for $88 - you need to make reservations. We didn't book any excursions but did book the shopping shuttle - you need 6 people to have the shuttle run at $20 per person - we met 4 people in the lobby who want to go but needed 2 more people - we jumped onboard. The drive to Panama is worse than Toronto QEW - it should have taken 2 hours to get there it was 3 for us. They will drop you off at the mall and tell you that they will pick you up at 4 - we ended up getting a taxi from the mall (they are all line up waiting for business) to the locks at a cost of $10 one way - admission into the locks was $15 per person - there's a restaurant a couple of cafes, a museum, a small film about how they built the locks and other things to see - they will announce the time when the ships will be coming through - we spent the afternoon there then went back to the Mall for our shuttle. We also took the local bus to Penonome, you can catch the bus (it's a mini van) just outside of the Decameron front gates, cost is $1 per person one way. Penonome was very interesting to see - this is where the locals shop - not much English here - lots of brand name shopping especially sandals - way better prices than the big mall which we found expensive. We also rented a car from National for two days - cost was $118 with tax and full insurance coverage. National Car Rental is just outside the front gates of Decameron. We drove to El Valle de Anton and ate at Ty's Bar which has a Monkey there you can hold and take pictures with - good burgers and cheap beer. We also ate at Casa de Lourdes, beautiful setting and the best meal we had all week - a bit pricey but well worth it - just beware that they open at noon. We also drove to Chame, this is a beautiful white sand beach, very secluded and great for long walks, approx. 40 minutes from Decameron going towards Panama City - this is where you can rent or take lessons for kit surfing. We also went to Coronado - beach here is black sand & coarse - not many people on the beach. Entertainment at the resort - we tried watching a few nights but it's really geared to the Spanish - instead, we ended up going to Woody's just next door - they had a great band playing on Saturday night and Sunday afternoon. Decameron had a nice small gym that seem to have what you needed - I didn't use it but it was busy all the time. You can also book an massage on the beach - cost was $60 for an hour. It was a great first trip to Panama - yes, the food could have been better, but I didn't go to stuff my face - I went for relaxation, sightseeing, hot weather (which was in the 90's every day & no rain) & drinks.......I have no complaints....la vida es Buena!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lichty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adal B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear customer,

We appreciate your review.

These comments help others to know our hotel, so we enjoy reading about your stay here in Decameron. We will improve those areas you recommended and continue with the same quality as we offer to our guests.

Hopefully we will have you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed here for 7 days in March . It was our first time to Panama. Tired of Mexico and wanted something different. Yes it is a 2+ hr drive from the airport to the resort- which is bad and good - there are NO noisy planes over the resort when they come in for their landing. do not whine on reviews about the 2 hour ride - you have been warned over and over again.

Definitely upgrade to beachfront if possible - the room was level with the ocean, which was very convenient. otherwise you are walking up hills and stairs - do not whine on reviews about this - you have been warned over and over again.

the staff was friendly to us - I know this is all-inclusive but open your wallets people. this staff makes approx $2.20 per hour - tip your bartender once in a while and tip your waiter at the al a cartes (also your maid) . You would tip at home for these services. And for gosh sakes - pick up your plastic glasses from the beach! just my rant on how to treat people when you are a guest in their country.

the Club Med and Brazilian al a carte were nice - because there are right on the beach.

Go to Pipa's at the end of the beach for seafood - cheap and good.

I am not a high maintenance traveller and do not knit pick - what do you want for a $1000?! for 7 days. If you are that choosy - go to Sandals or Club Med.

the resort is huge and the only one on this beach - so it is not overly packed - which is nice.

WARNING - they seem to ship you back to the airport quite early - and the food in the airport is more overpriced than a movie theatre. $9 for a bag of potato chips. EEK!

Enjoy your week away from the Canadian winter.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank jpilat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adal B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Greetings,

We appreciate your review.

These comments encourage us to provide a better service. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here in Decameron.

Hopefully we will receive you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

A group of 26 of us went Feb. 2014 and not one person had a good thing to say about the resort. It was the same attitude to the other people on the plane on the way home. No fridges in the rooms, no ice to be had anywhere. It was an all inclusive and everything was extra: a key for the safe $3.00 per day, deposit for extra key only one per couple. Rooms no where they looked in photos and showers were 10 seconds of cold and without notice 10 seconds of scalding hot.Low grade brands of drinks. Only bad tasting draft beer. No workers, long lines to get a bad drinks, meals most times not worth eating and very few people speak English or even care. Would never recommend to anyone. Paid to stay at the Hard Rock Hotel the last night just to get away from the ROYAL DECAMEROON. Panama Canal was nice, that's the only thing good about the trip. Very HAPPY to leave and to never return.

Room Tip: Stay at the bottom of the Hill less walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Anthony Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adal B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Greetings,

We deeply apologize for the inconvenience.

We appreciate these comments, they encourages us to provide a better service, we are doing our best to improve, that is why now all our accommodations have mini fridges, also we are remodeling and upgrading our rooms.

Our guest service staff are fluent in English, unfortunately we weren't able to offer this service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Farallon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farallon
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
20.5 mi away
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort
5.9 mi away
Hato Viejo Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino

Property: Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
Address: Avenida principal Farallon, Km.115, Farallon, Rio Hato, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > Rio Hato > Farallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Farallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 1170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas Panama is an all inclusive hotel located about 2 kilometers of white sandy beach in Farallon, Panama. The hotel is located on the Pacific coast, close to many tourist attractions. Also, the city of Panama and the Tocumen International Airport (PTY) are located 120 miles away. The Royal Decameron in Panama hotel offers 852 guestrooms in low-rise buildings and 370 rooms Villas. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, satellite TV, closet, safe (local charge), direct dial telephone (with deposit cash at the reception) and a private bathroom with shower and hair dryer. Also have a minibar as part of the all inclusive plan and the villas are located on the golf course. Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas Panama offers eight pools for adults three wading pools, three hot tubs, a casino, a golf course with 18 holes and a full spa. This beach hotel also offers a variety of organized activities on land and water for the whole family, and two convention centers for business travelers. The Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort has 11 bars, a nightclub and 10 restaurants ranging from traditional to the more exotic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf Hotel Farallon
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf And Casino
Royal Decameron Beach Resort Panama
Royal Decameron Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Panama
Hotel Royal Decameron Beach
Royal Decameron Costa Blanca Hotel
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino Panama/Farallon
Royal Decameron Resort Panama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing