We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suite Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Farallon
The Americas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Suite Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were assigned a Master Suite at the Town Center section and were not disappointed. Some of the facilities need updating/refreshing but this is still nice for a three star all-inclusive product. The Town Center is a bit far from the beach and the restaurants though. It is not luxurious but it is quite adequate for a family. There are plenty of things to do. Try to get a visitor pass to the lagoon. It is remarkably big and pretty. It claims to be the largest swimming pool in Central America and the Caribbean. It is certainly the largest I have seen. It is filled with saltwater though. The beach is one of the nicest near Panama City (about 1.5 hours). The food is not as good as it used to be. It is now more like a regular all inclusive whereas it used to be better than it is now. They are very generous with the drinks, and the food and there is always some food at hand. The show is not worth going to. The views and the landscaping are still very good. The Town Center is half empty (the businesses) but you can go to the Lebanese restaurant which is excellent (not included) and the disco/bar. The one by the lagoon is actually nicer. This resort now caters to the massive Colombian middle market. The percentage of Europeans and North Americans is not as high (some people may actually like this). Overall not a bad experience. It is not luxurious.

Room Tip: Stay at the Town Center suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ViajeroESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    497
    330
    170
    155
See reviews for
641
487
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We celebrated our wedding at Playa Blanca Resort in February, and it was amazing. Yes, the property can use updating...yes, the buffet food is not out of this world (like 99% of all inclusive resorts)....and yes, the resort is lacking some added service (clinic, spa, etc)...but the service it's out of this world. I am Panamanian living in the US for over 15 years, and I can tell you with absolute certainty...you don't get this type at competition (DeCameron or Bijao). When you go to Playa Blanca you pay for the service, and the family environment. There are not any resorts in the price range that are as family friendly as Playa Blanca resort.

Like I said before, the hotel has some shortcomings... but their business operations/model is not a result of carelessness; it is deliberate. Playa Blanca management has made the business decision not be affiliated to any major hotel brand in order to spread the wealth among its employees (without the corporate overhead). But as a result, you get long tenured employees that are passionate about the work they do...


I can personally recommend Jenny De Gracia as a contact person....she is good.

One important fact about Playa Blanca - they are very relaxed and personal - you don't feel like you are just another transaction...I can't say the same for the competition.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bensorj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterloo, ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here for one night in Feb. while driving to Pedasi. If I hadn't pre-booked the hotel, we definitely would not have stayed here. The front desk was extremely busy, chaotic and under-staffed upon check-in. We were given a room without a balcony, even though our reservation specified that we should have one, so we had to go through the hassle of switching rooms.

The hotel is noisy, filthy and run-down. Maintenance is definitely an issue, because there were several things that needed fixing in our room. The breakfast buffet was barely edible and the lunch buffet was revolting although we did have a decent dinner in the Oriental restaurant at the beach.

The hotel is part of a huge mega-complex of high-rise condos and beach houses and there was construction everywhere. The hotel seems to cater to Spanish-speaking guests and Panamanians. We were definitely a minority by a long shot. Almost none of the staff spoke English and the nightly stage show was entirely in Spanish.

Farallon beach is well on its way to becoming a Panamanian Acapulco, dirty, polluted, noisy, over-developed. Not at all, the beautiful quiet beach it was 8 years ago when we last visited.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank laurWaterloo_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Farallon hotels

Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Nuestra estadía en Playa Blanca fue por 2 noches en las suites, bajo reserva No.148610. Fuimos 9 adultos y 2 niños. Nos retiramos antes de tiempo porque nos incomodó lo siguiente:
1. No se aguanta el polvo (ver foto). Las habitaciones y pasillos están llenas de polvo.
2. La comida del buffet no la sirven en cheffing dishes de baño maría caliente y como el Restaurante esta al aire libre, hay riesgo de bacterias. A 4 personas nos dio diarrea.
3. Hay una discoteca justo debajo de las suites. El ruido no deja relajarse. Deben mover esa discoteca a un lugar aislado.
4. No tienen médico. Te cobran 25.00 por la cita con una enfermera.
5. El agua de las habitaciones cuesta 2.50.
6. El servicio de botones es demorado.
7. En el área de snacks un empleado me contestó en son de burla que el tasajo era de "caballo". Eso sonó grosero.
8. Los baños no tienen secador.
9. Las recamareras son escandalosas y se quejan de su trabajo.
ENGLISH TRANSLATION
Our stay at Playa Blanca was for 2 nights in the suites, reservation No.148610. We were 9 adults and 2 children. We retired earlier because we bothered the following:
1. Dust can not stand (see photo). The rooms and hallways are full of dust.
2. Buffet food is not served hot water bath and as the restaurant is outdoors, there is a risk of bacteria. 4 people got diarrhea.
3. There is a disco right below the suites.The noise is unbeareble.This club must be moved to an isolated place.
4. There is no doctor. They charge 25.00 for an appointment with a nurse.
5. Bottle of water in the rooms costs 2.50.
6. Bell service is delayed.
7. In the area of ​​snacks an employee replied that the jerky was "horse meat." That was rude.
8. No hairdryer at bathrooms.
9. Housekeepers are noisy and complained about their job.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Indira C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I booked a last minute deal onTriplink at this 4star rated resort...this rating is only for the sun! The weather is perfect. That's it. Playa Blanca resort was a bad choice for me being a single, English speaking person. Firstly, it's a 2hour drive from the airport, there was no hot water in our first room, and it was not cleaned. We moved to a 2nd room, it was cleaner but noisy, and mold was everywhere in the bathroom. Took us 2days to be transferred to their town centre suites which is a separate 'hotel' and much cleaner and quieter. For an additional $25/day. Bait & switch? Longer walk to buffet and beach, but we got used to it. This resort does not cater to English speaking clientele, very difficult to communicate with staff. The drinks and food was good-because it was buffet. Very disappointed with the beach. It was dirty. Nonsmoking signs, but we smoked near the ashtrays ;) the disco, great place to see the locals dancing to,Latin music..I really felt trapped on in this resort...we rented a taxi +translator! and did a tour into Panama City, this was a great escape. Resort had tours, bit pricey though. I would not pay to go this resort again....there's a lot of good buzz about the new airport opening up, and Riu nearing completion next door.... Playa Blanca will have to improve with this competition . I wasted my money going to this resort. I think the Spanish speaking clientele rated this resort a 4.....foreigners would rate this a weak 3....but they don't care about foreigners !!!!

Room Tip: Single - choose Town Centre Suites, cleaner, quieter, but longer walk to pool,beach, food, disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felina_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We thought a day at an all inclusive would be a nice change while renting a condo at Playa Blanca...wrong. This hotel is just barely a 3 star. The food was mostly terrible, there were a few items that were ok but overall not good. If you wanted a canned beer it's was an extra $1 USD after paying $50/pp for the day.
The pool was cloudy and didn't look clean. The furniture in restaurants and around the pools was a) broken or b) should be replaced because it looked so shabby.
Save you money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lemorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We spent a couple of days at Playa Blanca resort with a group of about 40. I know places like this are never perfect because nothing that is all inclusive ever is, but we were extremely disappointed with Playa Blanca. They advertise that they have "the second largest pool in the world" however it was closed due to construction. They advertise free wifi, however that was not working the weekend we were there. All around the hotel and even on the property, buildings are being put up (they even block the sunset from the beach!). The top floor for the towncenter is still being worked on so to get to the rooms you have to go up one elevator, then down another 1 floor, and then up another.
I'm not sure who designed the place, but the bathroom in the room has no door at all, and the shower and toilet stalls have doors, but they are clear glass (very awkward). The beds are pretty stiff and almost feel like they are just box springs.
Service was ok. Frequently we would go to the bar in the lobby, but there was no bartender. I also left a package at reception for another room, and returned the next day to be sure it was picked up and they said yes, but it was not and is still there today.
There are only a couple of restaurants (sushi and thai) and you have to reserve by 10AM in the morning to get a table for that evening. This leaves you with the buffet which was ok, but nothing special. There are also lots of services and things on the property that are NOT included in all included. These include 2 other restaurants, an ice cream parlor and more.
The disco is totally dead and smells very strongly of cat urine. The beach "closes" at 6 because the life guards leave and there are supposedly creatures that come to shore at sunset.
This place may be great in a few years, but I would not recommend it to my worst enemy right now.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrogo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farallon
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
1.6 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
JW Marriott Panama Golf & Beach Resort
22.1 mi away
BlueBay Coronado Golf & Beach Resort
5.2 mi away
Hato Viejo Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort

Property: Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Address: 115 Km Via Interamericana, Farallon, Rio Hato 8437, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Cocle Province > Rio Hato > Farallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Farallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Blanca Hotel Farallon
Playa Blanca Hotel And Resort
Hotel Playa Blanca Panama
Playa Blanca Resort Panama
Playa Blanca Panama City
Blanca Panama Playa
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort Panama/Farallon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing