We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming With Nemo”
Review of Jais Aben Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jais Aben Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Eleven perfect days. The perfect Manager and a 5 star chef in a 5 star resort. I enjoy an adventure when holidaying. This is the place to be if you want to swim with Nemo and his friends in pristine gentle waters surrounded by islands and mountains and friendly people. Kayaking in the lagoon or further afield is your choice. Boat trip to the Madang local Chinese Restaurant with the full moon spreading light like skipping stones over the Coral Sea. A sunrise at the top of the local mountain looking over the world followed by a well earned top class breakfast at the Resort's Coco's Restaurant afterwards. I visited this place alone which was perfect. A group of friends or a quiet honeymoon would be just as awesome. The Bridge Bar has a BBQ kitchen so a lazy day by the sandy beachette with a good book and friendly staff on 'your days off' from exploration of the majestic mystical PNG. You may even get the privilege to visit a nearby island where the children run free and the people subsist from the sea and this beautiful land. There is a world class Convention Centre on site that holds 450 people. A wedding took place while I was there. It's just the perfect venue for everything. The bride arrived by canoe. The bungalows are separated by coconut trees, banana plants and frangipani with rolling green lawn manicured and cared for by the friendly groundsmen. Anyone for golf? A nine hole pitch & putt meanders amongst the trees only 150m from the bar at any time. Nothing is too much trouble here. Shuttle bus service from and to Madang airport and into town if you want to see the food market - oh my God - the food market. Fresh fruit and veg straight from the farm to you. The Resort staff will organise a dive trip or fishing - you only need to ask. It's a day's travel from Brisbane Airport, but hey, it takes a day to travel to anywhere. A sensory overload to enjoy such beauty and wilderness in this interesting country. Don't miss it. There is no begging on streets or trinket hawkers to distract. How refreshing. Oh yes, for the fit fans, there is an aircon gym (near the bar). You could order a pizza, go do your thing in the gym then sit by the lagoon with a cold beer and pizza to die for. Life's a balance - right?

Room Tip: All rooms are air conditioned, have a bar fridge and a flat screen tellie. Most bungalows are separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 44Linda44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

Jais Aben Resort is in my opinion the best place in Madang for the perfect holiday feeling!
The only resort in Madang with a direct access to the beach. Superclean water with corals and beautiful colored fishes, snorcheling is possible directly from the beach, total relax, a small but very nice hotel bar, good kitchen and the best staff and management I had in all PNG. While I had big problems with my tourguide from Mount Hagen Jais Abens management helped me with every issue.
I would reccomend the resort also for business purpose as they have a new very big and modern conference hall.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SMA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

View were perfect & it was great to walk around the resort & just soak up the serenity. The bar was small but had great views & being able to go snorkeling out the front of the report anytime you want was an added bonus. Not to mention the quality of the snorkeling considering it was so close & accessible. The resort was very quiet when we were there so none of the water sports equipment was out, but the friendly staff were all to happy to get out the Kayaks when we asked. Going paddling was amazing, as on the other side of the river were locals going about their daily chores & we got some fantastic photo's up close.
The resort facilities are old but the facilities are clean & comfortable. Staff were very friendly & nothing was too much trouble for them. It's not with all the other resorts in town, but I'd much rather stay here & completely relax rater then be crammed in a high rise.

Tip: Take some lollies with you that you can hand out to the kids as you drive in. They absolutely love it & you genuinely make their day!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissMagasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I was actually staying at the Madang Resort, but was instantly jealous when I set foot on this resort's grounds! The setting was beautiful and pristine. The family and I was snorkeling with fish, tourists and locals alike splashing around.

It was great fun. We hung out at the little beach bar and ate some subpar burgers they were serving. It is a bit outside of Madang proper... but that is not exactly a bustling hub anyway.

Madang Resort was quite nice, but I would definitely like to stay here the next time. Just for the beach, pool, and beautiful facilities alone!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank fuego2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This was my first trip to PNG and I am fascinated by its beauty and diversity, both in cultural and natural aspects.
The resort is located 20 km from the provincial capital of Madang. At the check-in, the first impression is the view through the restaurant out at the sea. Right in front of the resort, only meters from the shore line, starts a fringing coral reef and several coral cays with tropical vegetation are visible in the background. This is paradise on earth.
Accommodation is in very spacious bungalows lining the water front. The standard is very good with the usual amenities, air-con, TV, fridge and so on. Each bungalow features solar panels on its roof to help with its carbon foot print. Wow!
The resort is run by a very nice and professional Canadian couple. All the other staff are PNG nationals, mostly recruited from the nearby village. They are very friendly, although their pace can be a bit slow. I guess one has to remind himself that life in paradise runs at a more relaxed schedule. This is not Berlin, London or Tokyo; you have to wind down to enjoy these so different and exotic surroundings.
There are 2 restaurants; the dishes include PNG, Asian and European dishes. Try the PNG dish Grisim Kaikai of local head chef Samson. The local dish was a kind of chicken stew in an elegant broth with coconut milk, some chicken stock, sweet potatoes and to me many unknown local vegetables. It had a very intense flavour and was first class fine cuisine. The grills are Australian influenced; large serves with very tender high quality meat. The entire a la carte menu is available as room service!
The resort seems to do quite a bit of conference business, also weddings and is ideally suited for that.
Another big surprise was a very well equipped, super clean and new gym.
Activities on offer are plentiful. The main things are the marine activities like snorkeling or fishing. The reefs are astonishing. I recommend letting manager Jerry organize the 2 day trip to Kar Kar Island. You can climb its volcano and enjoy the breath taking views from the top over the Bismarck Sea and the coastline.
Jerry was so kind to take me on a shopping trip to the fruit and vegetable market in Madang City. PNG has the oldest continuous agricultural tradition in the world and the vegetable market was amazing, many vegetables and fruits that I have never seen before, and all the food is organic!
You can spend 2 or 3 weeks at the resort and you will never get bored. I’ll be back, what a place, what a people, what a country!
Thank you Jerry and Sheila, and Chef Samson to make this one of my most beautiful trips.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OliverSchreiberSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

I have stayed at Jais Aben on several occasions and was very pleased with their services each time. They doen't cost much and there may not be a better place to relax. The management has changed this last year and the resort has subsequently improved a lot. The atmosphere is so relaxed as always, and they had service that I thought was very good, the receptionists helped me and my friends out several times. Last time I was there the road out had been fixed and I think the current manager will ensure they are maintained. As for the security, I never felt unsafe at all out at the Jais Aben resort. The water is just a few meters away from most of the rooms. The water is so clear, and the snorkeling is straight up amazing. The only other thing I have to say is just make sure you get one of the air conditioned rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank png_mi_luvim_yu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

A total rip-off. Everything was expensive for what it was, and the service was shocking although it's in an incredible, pristine location.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Psteff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madang
0 mi away
Madang Lodge Hotel
Madang Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Madang
70 reviews
0 mi away
Madang Resort Hotel
Madang Resort Hotel
#1 of 6 in Madang
223 reviews
0 mi away
Kalibobo Village
Kalibobo Village
#3 of 6 in Madang
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tawali Resort
Tawali Resort
#1 of 2 in Alotau
106 reviews
0 mi away
Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort
Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort
#3 of 7 in New Britain Island
103 reviews
0 mi away
Rapopo Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jais Aben Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jais Aben Resort

Address: North Coast Road | Riwo Village, Madang 511, Papua New Guinea
Region: Papua New Guinea > Momase Region > Madang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Price Range: £62 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing