We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Pleasure”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coastwatchers Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Madang
St. Andrews Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected Pleasure”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

What an unexpected pleasure to stay at this hotel on the coast. Staff are very friendly and attentive, views over the ocean just beautiful, especially from the restaurant. The food is a wonderful mix of seasonality and simplicity with a great range of seafood and local produce. Very comfortable rooms that are serviced well.

Room Tip: Take the split level premium room and get the ocean side if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye_A132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Coastwatchers Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Kaye_A
Thanks you for your feedback I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to Coastwatchers again.
Jay Penno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
1
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Nice clean hotel with everything you need. Great friendly staff and good food. Worth the stay just for the raw, uninterrupted views of the ocean. All in all a great stay, highly reccomend for business trips. Unsure of value as this was a business trip and paid for by my company.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Coastwatchers Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Steve,
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay, you are right the views are breathtaking and not to be missed. I believe you stayed in one of our ocean side premium rooms and the view always starts the day of in a good light.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Jay Penno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My first visit to Madang, and if first impressions are any thing to go by. This Hotel has set a lasting impression on me. Excellent views from my room, curtains look brand new. Slept like a baby on a comfortable bed.
The staff where very friendly and welcoming. And if given another opportunity, i will be jumping at the chance to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XsArdur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Coastwatchers Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear XsArdur,
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us just recently. We strive to deliver the kind of service that makes our guests feel at home and experience true Madang hospitality.
If I can assist with any future bookings please feel free to contact me directly.
Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Regards
Jay Penno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Our room was split level, with a small kitchen, lounge, and bed downstairs, and a master bedroom upstairs. Very comfortable, with a lot of room.
A highlight was walking alongside the beach, across from the gold club, watching a pod of dolphins working their way up the coast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiBobCambodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I've stayed at Coastwatchers several times - the most recent in May - and each time has been faultless. The staff are attentive and have the best intentions (even if things get a little muddled). The rooms are clean, well attended. The air con is COLD!

But the best thing about this place is the restaurant. It has uninterupted views of the ocean and coastwatcher's monument. Sitting there with a G&T catching the evening breeze is one of the best moments I've had in PNG.

The only downside is that while they have access to the best seafood, it is not cooked brilliantly. The food isn't bad - its just good rather than great.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Clean, tidy rooms. Not luxurious but perfectly adequate self contained.
All service was great.
Staff very polite.
Delicious food/meals .
Hotel bus transfer very reliable.
Beautiful setting.
Loved the meals area.
Not sure about the value as my company paid.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coastwatchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerema
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Spent 2 nights in Coastwatchers hotel... It is conveniently located within Madang town so you have all the shops and restraunts in town accessible within walking distance.
Staff were friendly, considerate and went out of their way to welcome us and ensure our stay was comfortable...

Great Lobster and Steak from the restraunt and the architecture of the Restraunt and Bar was a first i've seen in PNG. Nice balcany views of the Kalibobo lighthouse and beachfront from the Executive suites..

Room service took abit longer than expected but the coconut fried fish was worth the wait...

Missed out on the pool.. So must go there again soon..

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NobleRigman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madang hotels
1.7 mi away
Madang Lodge Hotel
Madang Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Madang
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madang Resort Hotel
Madang Resort Hotel
#1 of 6 in Madang
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kalibobo Village
Kalibobo Village
#3 of 6 in Madang
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Madang Star International Hotel
Show Prices

Been to Coastwatchers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastwatchers Hotel

Property: Coastwatchers Hotel
Address: Coastwatchers Avenue, Madang 511, Papua New Guinea
Region: Papua New Guinea > Momase Region > Madang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastwatchers Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing