We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Conference Venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madang Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Conference Venue”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I recently arranged a 4 day workshop for 20 people at the Madang Resort and found it a great venue with friendly and helpful staff who were happy to work around our schedule and delayed flights. We had the new smaller conference room which has its own kitchen and toilets. The security was excellent and we were able to leave our workshop equipment set up each night. There is a wide variety of rooms, some are naturally better than others but they were all very clean and well serviced. The grounds a very well kept and the views amazing, we saw dolphins at lunchtime from our upstairs restaurant table 2 days in a row. We were on set menus meals and would have preferred to have been offered a choice of lunches/mains, breakfast was good. The bill was accurate despite a complex series guest arrivals and departures throughout our stay. Next time we will book an extra day to check out the resort facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crayeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a positive response. The Madang Resort has developed the most comprehensive conference facilities in PNG. In all we have five different meeting rooms plus the Sana Room that can seat up to 400 and fully equipped. In addition, this month we can now provide video conferencing followiung the connection to the optic fibre cable which provides broadband internet in all conference rooms and guest suites.
In recent weeks we have also opened the Haus Kibung, a dedicated function room and re-opened the Haus Win Restaurant.
We hope to see you again in the future, again thanks for your positive review, much appreciated
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    76
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
26
20
28
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I have stayed here a few times as there is very little else. I go there for work. I do get a 50% discount because of my work partners but even this is expensive for what it is. But this is PNG and everywhere is expensive. It used to be excellent in the 90s but has now been rundown somewhat. The restaurant food is ok, but pricy for what you get. I am planning to stay at another new hotel just recently started called Star International. It is cheaper but the quality looks better. For those going to PNG, be prepared for an expensive trip all-round. Having said all that...I love the people and the place....just the prices too high...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
I have read your review with great dissapointment. We will check to identify you and to make sure that if you ever stay here again you will NOT receive a discount, if an when discounts are offered, it should remain confidential, we will check to ascertain why such a discount was approved. Discounts of this nature normally only apply to Christian Missions, charitable organisations or in some cases on humanitarian grounds, it sounds to me that you do not fit into any of these categories.
Internet is an interesting media, you can write reviews in attempt to influence others but the organisations you target are ledt with little defense.
Finally we make no apology for tariffs charged which directly relate to the costs of operating in Madang and are less than 50% of the tariffs charged for hotels in Port Moresby.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Visited Madang just before Christmas last year and stayed at the Madang Resort. We had rooms right over the water. The activities going in and out of the channel were just great, we watched all sorts of diverse activities right form our balcony.

The place was nearly empty however, quite a surprise for the time of the year

Room Tip: The rooms over the water are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheChinwagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you or your response, we appreciate reviews as they help us understand the needs of our guests and the Management takes them seriously.
During the period of your stay the National Elections were taking place as a consequence very few people travel as Government and private sector travel over this period and very few conferences are organised until after the election is over - it is sad, but the reality of operating hotels in the Provinces outside Port Moresby.
Since the election the occupancy has increased and last week occupancy was recorded at 85%.
Again thank you for your comments, we look forward to seeing you again.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed here last year at the Kalibobo Village, and this year I was here alone on a business trip at the Resort proper. The resort still has a very nice ambiance and layout and is reasonably priced by PNG standards. The deluxe room was very spacious and clean and the bed very comfortable. The meals at the restaurant were a bit ordinary (meat overcooked and gristly) although the pizzas were very good. Madang town itself is getting pretty grotty though with garbage in streets, unkempt shopfronts, large pot holes and street sellers, so hopefully it doesn't end up like Lae and towns in the Highlands. There is also a proliferation of squatter settlements on the edge of the town which is resulting in increased crime in the town. The ocean drive past the coastwatchers memorial and golf course is still exceptionally pretty.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzrovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Belated thank you for your review. We look forward to s eeing you and your friends again in the future and see for yourself the amazing transformation that has taken place with the new Haus Win Restaurant which is finally complete after 2 years construction.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lae PNG
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Last week my wife drove from Lae to spend 2 nights at the Madang Resort. Our room was spotless and had magnificent views of the passage and Kranket Island opposite us. Reception staff were extremely friendly and very helpful and room was well equipped even providing plunger coffee which was a first for us.
Meals were very tasty and the fish was extremely fresh. We will use this resort again in the future and strongly recommend it.

Larry & Bonnie George

Room Tip: Ask for a room with water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Madang resort is only a short ride from the airport, in the complimentary air conditioned shuttle bus. And it really is waterfront, with views to neighbouring islands from the bar and various locations. When you arrive, there is the usual smiling south pacific friendly greeting. Staff were able to assist with any queries we had. Meals were delicious and I often opted for the "hot rock" cooking which allowed you to prepare your beef or seafood at your own table, as you liked it. The lobster and fresh caught Mackerel were a couple of favourites. Staff at the dive shop were well trained and very knowledgeable about their area. I had some fantastic wreck dives, with Joseph pointing out a few things I would possibly have missed. I met the owner and despite being busy keeping an eye on everything, he was always happy to supply a bit of help or advice if needed. To those who have given good reviews, I may see you there next trip. To those who criticize, if you don't want any problems or adventure in your life, stay at home and leave Madang and PNG for the rest of us to enjoy. Regards to all. Jenkin STEED.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bootsjjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for your positive review, we are very pleased you enjoyed Madang and experienced our new Hot Rock menu which has exceeded all expectations. The staff and management continue to improve the facilities and service our aim is to ultimately make the Madang Resort the logical venue for rest, relalaxation and adventure.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Check In
Overall the 8 day stay was pretty good, a few things that really annoyed us, when you are paying premium price for water front executive accommodation. Fruit bowl... no fruit bowl, Bar fridge off and no milk, request for for milk resulted in more tea and coffee. Took nearly 2 days to get some milk and when it did come it was a half used 1 liter container!
Toilet paper... came so close to having none on several occasions, went to town and bought our own.
FOOD
Sunday night BBQ, I can honestly say I could not eat the Pork, this was worse than old boot!!
Pizza Fantastic one night, never go back again a few nights later.
Breakfast Buffet...Shallots...Shallots, and more Shallots everything is covered in Shallots. YUK
Check Out
The Hotel tried to stick us with a K90.00 lunch bill on check out. Nice but we never had lunch at the Hotel. Refused to pay, and they said it was a mistake from breakfast??
Just to SUSS for me as our breakfast was included in overall cost.
Average rating giving for food and someone trying rip K90 from guest checking out at 5:00am

GO BACK

YES but Hmmmmm.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for taking time to write the review. I was away aboard the Kalibobo Spirit during your visit and am dismayed to hear some of the problems that you experienced during your stay, there are perhaps extenuating excuses, I have not yet had an opportunity to speak to the Management but let me assure you action will be taken immediately to ensure such failures will not occur again..
As a means of compensating you for inconvenience, we would be delighted to provide a complimentary nights accommodation and dinner. We hope to see you again.
Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madang
0.1 mi away
Kalibobo Village
Kalibobo Village
#3 of 6 in Madang
26 reviews
1.8 mi away
Madang Lodge Hotel
Madang Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Madang
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
#3 of 15 in Port Moresby
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Madang Star International Hotel
Show Prices

Been to Madang Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madang Resort Hotel

Property: Madang Resort Hotel
Address: Coastwatchers Ave | P.O. Box 707, Madang 511, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Momase Region > Madang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madang Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madang Resort is PNG's top rated resort and conference centre. 200 rooms, bungalows, townhouses, apartments & cottages set on 20 acres of landscaped gardens facing Dallman passage and Yamilon Lagoon. All ensuite, air con, TV, Radio, Coffee/Tea facilities, 4 pools, gift shop, conference rooms, gymnasium,PADI Dive shop, Marina, Kayak, canoe, Cat sail, tennis, golf, Game Fishing, tour desk & concierge A The new Kalibobo Haus Kibung provides an air conditioned function room overlooking the pool and harbour and rebuilt Haus Win Restaurant are now both open for business.Located near centre of Madang, 200m from markets, 5kms from airport in a safe gated environment. Complimentary breakfast and transfers between airport and resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Madang Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madang Hotel Madang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing