We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, room and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madang Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madang Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great location, room and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

Myself and several colleagues stayed at the Madang Resort in September 2012 and all had a great time. We stayed in rooms facing the water and the view is great and the large balconies provide for a perfect area to sit and enjoy the view, morning, day or night. There is a constant flow of small fishing boats and long boats that cruise between Madang and nearby islands, which keep you entertained and not to mention the odd cameo from a pod of dolphins (quite the treat on our final night).

The rooms are well air-conditioned, the beds comfortable and the bathroom is plenty big enough.

The grounds of the hotel are very well landscaped and the room service was very good.

There is wide selection of food from the restaurant and the ambience created by the open-sided restaurant, with fish tank and grand piano made for many enjoyable eating experiences during our trip.

All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

We were also fortunate to enjoy one of the snorkelling tours offered by the resort. Fish and coral were amazing and rivalled anything we'd seen on the barrier reef. Beautiful warm water too.

All in all - a great place to stay, very safe and would definitely return for either business or pleasure!!!.

Thanks

Luke Gray
Adelaide

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
LUKE
Thank you for taking time to write a review, you comments have been passed along to all staff and I am sure they will be happy that you were satisfied during your stay at the Madang Resort. As you may have experienced, we have just rebfurbished all the waterfront bungalows with Pacific Green Furniture imported from Fiji. We are also in the midst of training our staff by gaining experience in our hotels in Cairns and attending TAFE. We look forward to your return visit in 2013 and wish you a very Merry Christmas.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    71
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
25
20
26
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

I think my waterfront room was about 350 AUD per night.

Nice view. Nice gardens.

No mini bar. And room service completely shut down at 930pm. Tried all modes on the aircon and it was only blowing hot air. So spent the night covered in sweat as it was humid outside with no breeze.

It could be good - but I was too tired to tell.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrmcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Thank you for your comments. At the time of writing we do not know which room you used, but this week every single air conditioner in the waterfront rooms were cleaned and checked - all reported to be working perfectly. wE WILL AGAIN CHECK TODAY. I suggest that you have been too tired to use the remote control correctly and had we been advised, we would have assisted.
In regard to being run down, sorry mate, every waterfront room has been totally refurbished in the last month with Pacific Green Furniture from Fiji, new venetians and curtains and beds repplaced.
In addition, we have spent $5m in rebuilding the Haus Win Restaurant, the new Kalibobo Haus Kibing Function room and currently using the low season to repaint every cottage in Kalibobo Village.
Whilst we appreciate honest reviews, comming from someone that is supposed to be 'senior' trip advisor it appears you have a motive for being so negative as I cannot accept your critisism without responding appropriately - we really try to work hard to maintain the Madang Resort which in reality is the oldest, most historic hotel in PNG and it is certanly NOT run down as your describe.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We were holidaying in Madang Resort during the Christmas (2011) on a discounted rate and we got the best seaside marvelous unit. It’s a very big resort with many individual units. There are many activities to do including kayaking, snorkeling, cycling inside the very large resort, fishing, etc. The sea cruise with Kalibobo Spirit is must do thing if you are staying in Madang resort or not. Enjoyed the tropical style breakfast as well as.

Room Tip: Seaside rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zahid I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you for taking time to make a review of your visit last Xmas, the memory must be still in your mind of beautiful Madang. Since last Xmas we have reopened the Haus Kibung the Haus Win Restaurant, installed the giant aquariums and before this Xmas we hope to have all the plantation shutters installed around the Haus Win. We hope that you can make a return visit to see the progress that has been made.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

The resort itself is set on very nice grounds near to the rest of Madang and the sights. It is however next to a ship passageway which although it is interesting seeing the container ships go past, there is no beach nearby. The food is good, especially try the seafood curry, and the breakfast is adequate. The rooms that they put us in however were small and infested with ants, the air conditioner above the bed leaked water. It was also sad to see native animals stuck in tiny cages.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer pool side rooms and inspect the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you for taking time to send in a review of your stay. It would help if you had identified the room allocated, as you would be aware we have several categories of accommodation and generally speaking we receive very good reviews but it appears your room had ants, we note the air conditioner was leaking so since your visit, we have had the Manager and our service engineers check all air conditioners and we have again sprayed the rooms inside to remove ants which unfortunately in the tropics are apart of like. In regard to the animals in the cages, for your information we let all the wallabies, tree kangaroos loose as well as the hornbills (Kokomos), gourier pidgeons (Vicoria Crown Pidgeons) but they need to be locked up at night due to stray dogs , snakes and the ocassional people who steal them. We are planning a completely new aviary and zoo in Kalibobo Village, hopefully this will be complete in early 2013. Thank you again for the review, we hope you return in the near future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

I would like to thank the staff of the Madang Resort for their exceptional service during our stay with them in October. In particular I would like to thank Tobby, the hospitality manager, Alphonse from the restaurant and Oliver, the night security guard, for the lengths they went to in locating my lost camera and passport which they returned to me 24 hours after I left my bag in the restaurant. Your honesty and helpfulness was truly remarkable and I cannot thank you enough for all you did for me.

I would also like to thank the staff at the dive centre for not only the fantastic diving, but especially for all their help with the logistics of our trip, keeping us supplied with dive tanks for two weeks and making our field work possible.

I cannot fault the level of customer service and hospitality we experienced during our stay, with staff doing everything possible to meet our large group's needs, even opening the kitchen early to feed our hungry pizza-craving-crew as we passed through en route to the airport.

A very sincere thank you to all at the Madang Resort, and I hope it won't be too long before we will be visiting your beautiful country again.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the water on the Madang Lagoon are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoaminFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Thank you for such a positive review. After almost 2 years of construction, we are finally providing exceptional services, we have provided each of the staff mentioned copies of your review which will encourage them to continue to satisfy our guests. We look forward to your return in the near future, thank you
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Madang Resort is a must stay in PNG. Comfortable and relaxing with great rooms that overlook the water. Half day village tour with "Busybee" was an awesome experience. We were kept safe and well looked after at all times. Nothing is too much for the staff. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms overlooking the inlet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieTraveller088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review, not only does this help us see ourselves through the eyes of a guest but it helps improve the image of Madang and assists removing some of the fears of intending visitors.
For the past 18 months we have been in construction mode, keeping the property looking good has had its challenges and in some cases has caused some inconvience - we have now passed this point and we are concentrating in the finishing touches with the Haus Kibung, the Haus Win Restaurant the landscaping of our gardens and the stocking of the new giant aquariums with live reef and sealife. We look forward to your return in the future and thanyou again for your positive review.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

I have stayed in Madang Resort many times over the past two years. This time I took my nineteen year old daughter to go diving for the first time. The dive experience for her was very exciting; she dived through an old plane wreck which made for a great story on her first ever dive. The dive staff were amazing and competent allowing her to go at her own pace. Some of other travellers were snorkelling and appeared to be impressed by the amount of fish they saw. Note: Take drinking water, sunscreen, snacks etc as these are not provided. They also have fishing and sightseeing trips of varying duration.
The resort's new Haus Win is completed so once again meals can be had downstairs in the restaurant and at times upstairs in their new air-conditioned conference area if there is a function in the Haus Win. The new menu had steak cooked on "Hot Rocks" at the table which was a great hit with my daughter as she had it for three consecutive nights. My personal favourite is "Madang Giri Giri" which is served in a half coconut shell. The last night I was there the band was playing quietly and the owner accompanied them on the piano for a short time.
I would definitely recommend a stay in this resort, it is beautiful, you can walk on the grass beside the sea and watch the ships and boats go past, The resort has a gorgeous lagoon and large lap pool, there are Guria pigeons which sometimes walk freely around and other caged birds. Paintings and bilum bags can be purchased on site and a safe bus and taxi service takes guests on local paid trips if booked in advance. The staff are always very friendly and helpful, and try their best to make sure that your holiday is the best possible of experiences.
When we completed our stay in Madang Resort we had trouble flying home to Brisbane because of airline difficulties. This was the first time many of us had experienced this type of delay. For two days we went to Madang airport and were told that our planes were cancelled. Each afternoon Madang Resort collected us in their bus, accommodated us and gave us wonderful meals, paid for by the airlines. The staff were very courteous and understood the frustration this was causing some of the travellers such as missed meetings and international connections etc. I think everyone agreed, when we finally were flown out late of the third day, that the one thing we couldn't be unhappy about was being accomodated for the extra nights at the Madang Resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madangmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review. Comments made are always taken seriously and the Management respond to both positive and negative reviews/ In the case of your review I am sure the staff will be pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Madang Resort.
Sir Peter Barter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madang
1.8 mi away
Madang Lodge Hotel
Madang Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Madang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kalibobo Village
Kalibobo Village
#3 of 6 in Madang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crossroads  Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lae
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seeadler Bay Hotel
Seeadler Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lorengau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madang Star International Hotel
0.0 mi away
Liamo Reef Resort
Liamo Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Kimbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madang Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madang Resort Hotel

Property: Madang Resort Hotel
Address: Coastwatchers Ave | P.O. Box 707, Madang 511, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Momase Region > Madang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madang Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madang Resort is PNG's top rated resort and conference centre. 200 rooms, bungalows, townhouses, apartments & cottages set on 20 acres of landscaped gardens facing Dallman passage and Yamilon Lagoon. All ensuite, air con, TV, Radio, Coffee/Tea facilities, 4 pools, gift shop, conference rooms, gymnasium,PADI Dive shop, Marina, Kayak, canoe, Cat sail, tennis, golf, Game Fishing, tour desk & concierge A The new Kalibobo Haus Kibung provides an air conditioned function room overlooking the pool and harbour and rebuilt Haus Win Restaurant are now both open for business.Located near centre of Madang, 200m from markets, 5kms from airport in a safe gated environment. Complimentary breakfast and transfers between airport and resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Madang Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madang Hotel Madang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing