We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone down hill” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madang Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madang Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Certificate of Excellence
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Used to stay here a lot but it has become a little unloved-looking. The lobby floor and tables were dirty, dead flowers in vases and air-con had left a trail of dirt on the wall on my last visit. The bungalows over the sea are roomy but a recent change of furniture has left a terrible smell in the room. Food is usually ok and the restaurant pleasant but main entrance and many of the rooms are all just looking a little tired. Overpriced and don't stay here anymore.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kokopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for your response although we are surprised you visited us in Feb and it has taken this long to write the review. We are always pleased to receive comments good and bad that will help us improve our facilities and services and you must believe us, we take action when we may not have performed to the expectations of our guests and if you read the reviews on the whole we satisfying almost all guests. I have personally checked each matter you raise, floor in foyer is normally spotless, but in Feb we had a lot of heavy rain and it is possible from time to time dirt may have been bought inside, we have no tables in the foyer, the flowers are arranged weekly by a professional florist and we constantly get positive comments. We have checked all air conditioners in waterfront bungalows and could not locate an trails of dirt, but sometimes split unit air conditioners drip which makes a stain - we endeavour to keep on top of this with two full time refrigeration mechanics on staff but sometimes it happens. The furniture in all rooms was completely changed with imported palmwood and Italian leather lounges and chairs - the furniture without doubt would be the most expensive in any hotel in PNG, the furniture does have a new smell in Feb it had been only just been placed in rooms. Again we have only had praise on the quality of the furniture and until you review, no complaint about the smell.
You state the Madang Resort was on a downhill slide - over the past 2 years we have spent K7m on new function rooms, new guest rooms, new haus win restaurant, new 40" TV's in all w/front rooms and continually carry out routine maintenance.
You of course have a right to make your own judgement, but fortunately are not shared with most of our guests. The remark on overcharging is absurd and I do not wish to go into detail justifying charges which on an average are half what is charged at hotels in Port Moresby, Lae and other towns and we provide many more facilities that unfortunately cost - they include Marina, 4 pools, 2 lagoons, tennis courts, orchid park, aviaries, sightseeing, cruises, dive shop as well as extensive conference and meeting facilities over a 15 acre landscaped site.
Our records do not indicate your presence under Kokopo or Brisbane over the period - it would be helpful to know your exact date of your stay and room number so we can further investigate if any maintenance is required.
Kind regards
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    71
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
25
20
26
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I recently stayed and the Madang resort with my husband and we have both agreed that it was our best holiday so far. The staff are friendly, welcoming and very helpful. Our accommodation was five star and the food served in the hotel restaurants was fantastic! The resort also offers many activities such as village tours, the guides are extremely friendly and knowledgable and it is a great way to meet people in the community.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
KatieH
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Madang Resort. The staff remember you and your husband and would love to see you back again in the near future.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

My wife and I recently returned from our 10 day honeymoon to Papua New Guinea. We stayed for 9 nights at the Madang Resort.
Our room was excellent and had all the mod cons including Air Con and Cable TV. The Resort's large pool was a relaxing way to wind down at the end of the day. But the best part was the food at the Resort restaurant. With such a varied menu we could easily eat something different for every meal. It was all great quality food and the staff are really friendly.
We could have easily just chilled out at the resort the whole time but with so may different day trips and other options on the table we kept busy all the time. We experienced Village tours, Deep Sea Fishing and multiple Scuba Diving trips.
All in all, it was such a great holiday, we already want to go back as there was still heaps of activities we didn't have time to do.
So good!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 276Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Stuart, thank you for your review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Madang Resort and look forward to your return visit in the near future.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Brilliant, as it was the last time I stayed.
Everything from the Waterfront or Deluxe rooms to the entertainment in the Haus Win over dinner is superb.
The room prices are extremely fair, especially compared to other places in PNG.
Staff are ALWAYS friendly and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Go Waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRBCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Tthanks for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay again at the Madang Resort. We will pass on your comments to the staff whom I am sure will appreciate the positive comments you have made.in regard to services provided. We look forward to your visit again in the near future.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

A waterfront bungalow overlookiing Krangket Island and the Harbour Entrance was the perfect place to write up reports, conduct interviews and keep on top of the email traffic with the great swimming pool just a short walk away as well as the excellent Haus Win Restaurant for lunch and dinner breaks. The food was 1st Class and the service extremely efficient

Room Tip: The waterfront bungalows are superb. I can certainly recommend room 67
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CairnsBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for your review, as I have responded many times it helps us see our services through the eyes of our guests and where necessary make improvments. You may have witnessed a number of activities around the resort including the sandy beach in the Forum Park and a new Haus Win (traditional round haus) which we hope will be opened within a month providing a top class venue for functions, relaxing beside the lagoon and a place where we can launch the kayaks, catamarans or simply enjoy a swim.
We look forward to your next visit, again thank you for the review.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

The Madang Resort hotel is spread out over many acres and their waterside villas are superb. The room service is unobtrusive and the reception staff and those in the restaurants are friendly and helpful. The food is fresh and wholesome and there is a good wine list. Sir Peter Barter is present to keep a paternal eye on the smooth running of his hotel, which has been growing in size and reputation for the past 45 years. I had a relaxing and refreshing week away from it all.

Room Tip: Go for the watyerside villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luap46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for writing a response, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again in the near future.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We returned to Madang in March this year after having lived there 45 years ago. We had a great experience at the Madang Resort and our short visit to Madang. As we were teachers at Tusbab High and Kusbau Primary in the 60's the experience of returning to these schools was rewarding. Mr Busy Bee Kudjip was helpful and knowledgeable in driving us to the various places we wished to revisit. We walked around the town visiting old and new areas,; the markets have grown considerably. The people of the Madang were very friendly.

The staff at the Madang Resort were very professional, efficient and attentive. Our room over the water was excellent and I would advise anyone visiting the resort to request one of these rooms. The grounds were well maintained and beautifully presented. We enjoyed walking around after dinner each night. In such a short time we came to know many staff members who were always obliging enabling us to enjoy our time there. To mention just few and no doubt I will miss someone: Reggie, Cathy, Edward, Michael, Toby, Busy Bee, Nigel, and many others.

We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
THANK you for your review. A lot has changed in 45 years, you obviously were in Madang at Tusbab and Kusbau before we acquired the "old" Hotel Madang in 1973 and began rebuilding, expanding the hotel to the resort it is today. We continue to expand and upgrade facilities at the Resort and having just completed the new Haus Win Restaurant and Haus Kibung Function Room we are in the midst of landscaping Forum Park which will become a sanctuary for relaxation with a sandy beach, lagoon and a central traditional Haus Win which can be used as a venue for functions, BBQ and base for Kayaks and sailing boats for our guests.
I am sorry I dod not personally have the opportunity to meet you during your visit but pleased yo have made friends with the staff, allof whom will be given a copy of your review.
Thank you again, we hope to see you again in the future.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madang
1.8 mi away
Madang Lodge Hotel
Madang Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Madang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kalibobo Village
Kalibobo Village
#3 of 6 in Madang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crossroads  Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lae
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seeadler Bay Hotel
Seeadler Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lorengau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madang Star International Hotel
0.0 mi away
Liamo Reef Resort
Liamo Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Kimbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madang Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madang Resort Hotel

Property: Madang Resort Hotel
Address: Coastwatchers Ave | P.O. Box 707, Madang 511, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Momase Region > Madang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madang Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madang Resort is PNG's top rated resort and conference centre. 200 rooms, bungalows, townhouses, apartments & cottages set on 20 acres of landscaped gardens facing Dallman passage and Yamilon Lagoon. All ensuite, air con, TV, Radio, Coffee/Tea facilities, 4 pools, gift shop, conference rooms, gymnasium,PADI Dive shop, Marina, Kayak, canoe, Cat sail, tennis, golf, Game Fishing, tour desk & concierge A The new Kalibobo Haus Kibung provides an air conditioned function room overlooking the pool and harbour and rebuilt Haus Win Restaurant are now both open for business.Located near centre of Madang, 200m from markets, 5kms from airport in a safe gated environment. Complimentary breakfast and transfers between airport and resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Madang Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madang Hotel Madang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing