We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madang Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed at the Madang resort early this year as a weekend break while visiting family in Lae. Could have spent all day just sitting on the balcony watching the world go by on the harbour. Resort grounds were just beautiful, the garden team are to be congratulated. The orchids were divine! Service was helpful, always with a smile. We found the rooms and the resort clean and well presented. I would recommend staying here if you are in Madang.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank where22day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Madang Resort. We look forward to your return visit in the near future.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    72
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
26
20
26
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We recently stayed a week here and found the rooms, grounds, restaurants, pool area very clean and well presented. In addition the staff were courteous, friendly and very helpful. We found Madang in general a very enjoyable place and in particular the people of Madang very warm & friendly. We felt quite safe during the day provided we moved around in groups of 2 or more. Need to move around in vehicles of an evening though. There is plenty to do in Madang, all of which can be arranged through the Resort reception. The resort shop had limited hours of operation whereby it closed at 4.00pm each day, which restricted the opportunity to buy things.

Room Tip: Try to get a room over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamberoo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. You review has been circulated to the staff. I note that you have ticked all categories with 4 stars. I would have thought there would be some variation - I am aware the staff really went to extraordinary lengths to satisfy you group and indeed this was conveyed to me personally prior to your departure. In regard to the closure of the gift shop at 4pm, yes we may have to review the hours of operation to open at 10am and close at 6.3opm - there has been a low volume of visitors and Management reduced the hours over the past month.
We look forward to having you return in the future
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberwell, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I stayed at the Madang resort for a month while in Madang for business. What a beautiful place to stay! The units are surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens that contain wonderful orchids as well as so many of the other local tropical plants and trees. The unit was spacious and nicely decorated with some local artefacts adding ambience to the PNG experience. The veranda jutted out over the waterfront and the ships, large and small, came past as they headed to the port, providing interesting entertainment.

The staff looked after me like my mother would have, cheerfully and professionally responding to any requests for assistance or food. The tourist office of the hotel has amazing ocean and jungle activities that are not to be missed. And the staff on these trips were very generous with both their time and local knowledge. What a wonderful place to stay in the Madang! Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the waterfront are novel and have a great view. There is a pool with spa which looked invit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay over the past month. It was a privilege for us to have you stay at Madang Resort and your review will be made available to all the staff whom I am sure will appreciate your positive comments about the Resort, services and staff.
Yesterday, we received notification from Tripadvisor that the Madang Resort was winner of the 2013 Excellence Certificate. We were further thrilled that Tropical Heritage Cairns and Cairns Sheridan Hotel received similar awards from Tripadvisor indicating that we are doing some things right to satisfy our guests - I have spent a lifetime in the hospitality industry broken by a decade or so in politics, I have committed myself to development of the tourist industry as the potential PNG has to offer is tremendous and my hope is that we can begin to improve the image of PNG as a tourist destination and provide mores business and job opportunities to Papua New Guineans rather than simply rely on the natural resource industry. Unlike gas, oil, copper, gold, nickel the tourist industry is a renewable resource!
Again, thank you for your review, and thank all those people who have given the Madang Resort many positive reviews.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Used to stay here a lot but it has become a little unloved-looking. The lobby floor and tables were dirty, dead flowers in vases and air-con had left a trail of dirt on the wall on my last visit. The bungalows over the sea are roomy but a recent change of furniture has left a terrible smell in the room. Food is usually ok and the restaurant pleasant but main entrance and many of the rooms are all just looking a little tired. Overpriced and don't stay here anymore.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for your response although we are surprised you visited us in Feb and it has taken this long to write the review. We are always pleased to receive comments good and bad that will help us improve our facilities and services and you must believe us, we take action when we may not have performed to the expectations of our guests and if you read the reviews on the whole we satisfying almost all guests. I have personally checked each matter you raise, floor in foyer is normally spotless, but in Feb we had a lot of heavy rain and it is possible from time to time dirt may have been bought inside, we have no tables in the foyer, the flowers are arranged weekly by a professional florist and we constantly get positive comments. We have checked all air conditioners in waterfront bungalows and could not locate an trails of dirt, but sometimes split unit air conditioners drip which makes a stain - we endeavour to keep on top of this with two full time refrigeration mechanics on staff but sometimes it happens. The furniture in all rooms was completely changed with imported palmwood and Italian leather lounges and chairs - the furniture without doubt would be the most expensive in any hotel in PNG, the furniture does have a new smell in Feb it had been only just been placed in rooms. Again we have only had praise on the quality of the furniture and until you review, no complaint about the smell.
You state the Madang Resort was on a downhill slide - over the past 2 years we have spent K7m on new function rooms, new guest rooms, new haus win restaurant, new 40" TV's in all w/front rooms and continually carry out routine maintenance.
You of course have a right to make your own judgement, but fortunately are not shared with most of our guests. The remark on overcharging is absurd and I do not wish to go into detail justifying charges which on an average are half what is charged at hotels in Port Moresby, Lae and other towns and we provide many more facilities that unfortunately cost - they include Marina, 4 pools, 2 lagoons, tennis courts, orchid park, aviaries, sightseeing, cruises, dive shop as well as extensive conference and meeting facilities over a 15 acre landscaped site.
Our records do not indicate your presence under Kokopo or Brisbane over the period - it would be helpful to know your exact date of your stay and room number so we can further investigate if any maintenance is required.
Kind regards
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I recently stayed and the Madang resort with my husband and we have both agreed that it was our best holiday so far. The staff are friendly, welcoming and very helpful. Our accommodation was five star and the food served in the hotel restaurants was fantastic! The resort also offers many activities such as village tours, the guides are extremely friendly and knowledgable and it is a great way to meet people in the community.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
KatieH
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Madang Resort. The staff remember you and your husband and would love to see you back again in the near future.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My wife and I recently returned from our 10 day honeymoon to Papua New Guinea. We stayed for 9 nights at the Madang Resort.
Our room was excellent and had all the mod cons including Air Con and Cable TV. The Resort's large pool was a relaxing way to wind down at the end of the day. But the best part was the food at the Resort restaurant. With such a varied menu we could easily eat something different for every meal. It was all great quality food and the staff are really friendly.
We could have easily just chilled out at the resort the whole time but with so may different day trips and other options on the table we kept busy all the time. We experienced Village tours, Deep Sea Fishing and multiple Scuba Diving trips.
All in all, it was such a great holiday, we already want to go back as there was still heaps of activities we didn't have time to do.
So good!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 276Stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Stuart, thank you for your review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Madang Resort and look forward to your return visit in the near future.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Brilliant, as it was the last time I stayed.
Everything from the Waterfront or Deluxe rooms to the entertainment in the Haus Win over dinner is superb.
The room prices are extremely fair, especially compared to other places in PNG.
Staff are ALWAYS friendly and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Go Waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRBCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Tthanks for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay again at the Madang Resort. We will pass on your comments to the staff whom I am sure will appreciate the positive comments you have made.in regard to services provided. We look forward to your visit again in the near future.
Sir Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madang
1.8 mi away
Madang Lodge Hotel
Madang Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Madang
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kalibobo Village
Kalibobo Village
#3 of 6 in Madang
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crossroads  Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#4 of 6 in Lae
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seeadler Bay Hotel
Seeadler Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lorengau
5 reviews
0.8 mi away
Madang Star International Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tufi Resort
Tufi Resort
#1 of 1 in Tufi
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madang Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madang Resort Hotel

Property: Madang Resort Hotel
Address: Coastwatchers Ave | P.O. Box 707, Madang 511, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Momase Region > Madang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madang Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madang Resort is PNG's top rated resort and conference centre. 200 rooms, bungalows, townhouses, apartments & cottages set on 20 acres of landscaped gardens facing Dallman passage and Yamilon Lagoon. All ensuite, air con, TV, Radio, Coffee/Tea facilities, 4 pools, gift shop, conference rooms, gymnasium,PADI Dive shop, Marina, Kayak, canoe, Cat sail, tennis, golf, Game Fishing, tour desk & concierge A The new Kalibobo Haus Kibung provides an air conditioned function room overlooking the pool and harbour and rebuilt Haus Win Restaurant are now both open for business.Located near centre of Madang, 200m from markets, 5kms from airport in a safe gated environment. Complimentary breakfast and transfers between airport and resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Madang Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madang Hotel Madang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing