We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Madang Resort Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
108
84
28
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
84
28
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmadang resorthaus winsir peterdive shopfishbeautiful locationpapua new guineaharbour entranceconference facilitiesscuba divingsalt waterwaterfront roomrelaxing staygreat rooma real treatlocal villagevillage tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Loved it all, diving, sun, food, staff, management, boats,fun. It was just amazing.Go, go,go. I sen crabs and groupers and pufferfish and a whale blowing in the distance, the scenery is wonderful and it is just really a paradise.

Thank you so much from Mexico!!!!!

Room Tip: they are all great
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fobabett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thankyou for taking time to write review, it is always pleasing to hear about our guests that enjoyed Madang and the Madang Resort. We take great pride in maintaining this iconic property which is now rated amongst the best in the Pacific, we were also pleased to receive Trip advisor excellence award for 2nd year in a row, again thank you.
Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

great bungalow overlooking the harbour and across to Kranget Island, excellent service at all times from reception and restaurant staff, very friendly people at MRH, very comfortable and clean room and well serviced daily, also prompt laundry service, lots to do in and around Madang. Visits to Hobe Village, Bil Bil village and Sulphur Creek and Cave are highly recommended. Highly recommended place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 064 was excellent, overlooking the harbour and watching lots of activity on the water. Small zoo at the resort is different, and the longbills wander around the resort after their 'breakfast' of fresh fruit.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

review like this give our staff a boost in their enthusiasm to go the extra mile. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Madang Resort and look forward to your next visit to beautiful Madand.
Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Superb accommodation in a well laid-out 'townhouse format' available, especially the waterfront bungalows which overlook a beautiful harbour and have large balconies with dining tables and chairs

But the quantity and quality of the dining is a standout. I would not hesitate to recommend the Madang Resort to any intending visitor to PNG.

Room Tip: Book a waterfront 'upstairs' unit - well worth the extra
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Designmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review of your stay at the Madang Resort. Over the past 5 years we have trained a very young person from Kuduaga Village in the Trobriand Islands who showed amazing enthusiasm to learn to cook, initially he was a galley hand aboard our Kalibobo Spirit and learned very quickly, within 12 months he took over as Chef and produced some of the finest meals I have ever enjoyed, so did many of our guests all of which were amazed at his culinary talents. We then took him to Australia where he gained valuable exposure at the Cairns Sheridan Hotel, at first the Chef did not take him serious but after the first day, his enthusiasm captured the imagination of the Chef who took a personal interest in developing his skills in the kitchen, since then he has worked and trained in Cairns and upon his return wsa appointed Head Chef at the Madang Resort where he heads a team of 30 fantastic staff in our kitchens, some of which are twice his age of 24 and all work with him due to his nature, his ability and genuine concern to satisfy our guests.
The story is a little longer, but I thought you may be interested in knowing the process we take in training staff, in this case Abraham Molekewa.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to a return visit in the near future.
Kind regards
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed at the Madang Resort for 4 nights and loved every one of them. The staff were great and extremely helpful and the diving was also excellent! The town is clean and safe during the day, but the resort and view was a highlight. The food was also great - except for the Sunday night BBQ which is overpriced and not very nice.

I would definitely reccomend the Madang Resort, beautiful, relaxing, great helpful staff and a generally excellent stay! Thoroughly enjoyed it!

Room Tip: The Executive rooms are definitely in the best location! Right on the water, clean and very spacious!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kendalljulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for sending a review of your stay at the Madang Resort, we are pleased you enjoyed the Resort and facilities and the superb location. I have noted your concern on costs of Sunday Sizzler cost and feel that you may not be aware the cost is inclusive of 3 courses including buffet salad. The cost on the blackboard includes, soup, the main course you select and dessert for around K65 which converts to $AUD25 - I doubt if any hotel in Australia or anywhere else would provide a dinner at less cost. In PNG the costs of food has increased by around 50% over the past couple of years, this has resulted from the demand by Mining Companies who continue to compete at markets against other consumers, it is one of the downsides of resource development.
Look forward to seeing you in the future.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

AN excellent performance by the hotel and the staff and the dancers. A short stop with from our cruise but I Highly recommend it. A great flavor or folklore in a superb environment. The dive shop is professional and to be recommended. I will make another review for that separately.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for the review. We enjoyed the visit of the Silver Whisper and pleased to read that the cultural show was a highlight. Such a show takes a lot of effort by my staff, assisted by students of the Divine Word University in Madang . The Balengut canoe was a first, it is now back at Bilbil Village. We all wish you Bon voyage and look forward to you returning with thousands of your friends.
Kind regards
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews