We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helped by the owner and staff at the Madang Resort Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Madang Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

During June 2014, I was one of a team working with archaeologist Professor Glenn Summerhayes and we were accommodated within the complex of the Madang Resort Hotel. We received wonderful assistance from Sir Peter Barter, owner of the hotel and his staff particularly Sibona Mani and the driver who called himself "Busy Bee." The food in the 'haus win' was great as were the views and the pool. An extra trip was taken to Long Island aboard the Kalibobo Spirit which can be hired. Banana boats took us to nearby islands. Madang is warm all year around and the Madang Resort Hotel is a great place to stay. Mary Mennis

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank yu for taking time to write a review. Positive reviews help to dispell the conception that Madang and PNG is dangerous placer to visit. We are also pleased you enjoyed your visit and it was productive and thank you for your effort in assisting Jane at gage Museum.
We look forward to your return visit in the near future.
Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have stayed here several times. It has the most beautiful grounds of all the Madang hotels. The food and drinks are overpriced, but the city is right outside where it is easy to get good food really cheap. Sometimes the front desk staff are a little slow, but as long as you are patient, they come through and are very helpful. The cost of this hotel is comparable with the other big Madang hotels, but it is much nicer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLust577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we are very proud of the grounds including surrounding parks which are all maintained by the madang resort team of gardeners and are assisted by kids of the staff who undertake clean up of plastic bags weekly.
We also hope to have the orchid garden reopened once the former mayor is evicted from the orchid house!
Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Loved it all, diving, sun, food, staff, management, boats,fun. It was just amazing.Go, go,go. I sen crabs and groupers and pufferfish and a whale blowing in the distance, the scenery is wonderful and it is just really a paradise.

Thank you so much from Mexico!!!!!

Room Tip: they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fobabett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thankyou for taking time to write review, it is always pleasing to hear about our guests that enjoyed Madang and the Madang Resort. We take great pride in maintaining this iconic property which is now rated amongst the best in the Pacific, we were also pleased to receive Trip advisor excellence award for 2nd year in a row, again thank you.
Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

great bungalow overlooking the harbour and across to Kranget Island, excellent service at all times from reception and restaurant staff, very friendly people at MRH, very comfortable and clean room and well serviced daily, also prompt laundry service, lots to do in and around Madang. Visits to Hobe Village, Bil Bil village and Sulphur Creek and Cave are highly recommended. Highly recommended place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 064 was excellent, overlooking the harbour and watching lots of activity on the water. Small z...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

review like this give our staff a boost in their enthusiasm to go the extra mile. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Madang Resort and look forward to your next visit to beautiful Madand.
Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Superb accommodation in a well laid-out 'townhouse format' available, especially the waterfront bungalows which overlook a beautiful harbour and have large balconies with dining tables and chairs

But the quantity and quality of the dining is a standout. I would not hesitate to recommend the Madang Resort to any intending visitor to PNG.

Room Tip: Book a waterfront 'upstairs' unit - well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Designmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review of your stay at the Madang Resort. Over the past 5 years we have trained a very young person from Kuduaga Village in the Trobriand Islands who showed amazing enthusiasm to learn to cook, initially he was a galley hand aboard our Kalibobo Spirit and learned very quickly, within 12 months he took over as Chef and produced some of the finest meals I have ever enjoyed, so did many of our guests all of which were amazed at his culinary talents. We then took him to Australia where he gained valuable exposure at the Cairns Sheridan Hotel, at first the Chef did not take him serious but after the first day, his enthusiasm captured the imagination of the Chef who took a personal interest in developing his skills in the kitchen, since then he has worked and trained in Cairns and upon his return wsa appointed Head Chef at the Madang Resort where he heads a team of 30 fantastic staff in our kitchens, some of which are twice his age of 24 and all work with him due to his nature, his ability and genuine concern to satisfy our guests.
The story is a little longer, but I thought you may be interested in knowing the process we take in training staff, in this case Abraham Molekewa.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to a return visit in the near future.
Kind regards
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed at the Madang Resort for 4 nights and loved every one of them. The staff were great and extremely helpful and the diving was also excellent! The town is clean and safe during the day, but the resort and view was a highlight. The food was also great - except for the Sunday night BBQ which is overpriced and not very nice.

I would definitely reccomend the Madang Resort, beautiful, relaxing, great helpful staff and a generally excellent stay! Thoroughly enjoyed it!

Room Tip: The Executive rooms are definitely in the best location! Right on the water, clean and very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kendalljulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you for sending a review of your stay at the Madang Resort, we are pleased you enjoyed the Resort and facilities and the superb location. I have noted your concern on costs of Sunday Sizzler cost and feel that you may not be aware the cost is inclusive of 3 courses including buffet salad. The cost on the blackboard includes, soup, the main course you select and dessert for around K65 which converts to $AUD25 - I doubt if any hotel in Australia or anywhere else would provide a dinner at less cost. In PNG the costs of food has increased by around 50% over the past couple of years, this has resulted from the demand by Mining Companies who continue to compete at markets against other consumers, it is one of the downsides of resource development.
Look forward to seeing you in the future.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

AN excellent performance by the hotel and the staff and the dancers. A short stop with from our cruise but I Highly recommend it. A great flavor or folklore in a superb environment. The dive shop is professional and to be recommended. I will make another review for that separately.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for the review. We enjoyed the visit of the Silver Whisper and pleased to read that the cultural show was a highlight. Such a show takes a lot of effort by my staff, assisted by students of the Divine Word University in Madang . The Balengut canoe was a first, it is now back at Bilbil Village. We all wish you Bon voyage and look forward to you returning with thousands of your friends.
Kind regards
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madang
0.1 mi away
Kalibobo Village
Kalibobo Village
#3 of 6 in Madang
27 reviews
1.8 mi away
Madang Lodge Hotel
Madang Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Madang
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crossroads  Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lae
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Morobe
Hotel Morobe
#4 of 6 in Lae
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madang Star International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madang Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madang Resort Hotel

Address: Coastwatchers Ave | P.O. Box 707, Madang 511, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Momase Region > Madang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Price Range: £91 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madang Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madang Resort is PNG's top rated resort and conference centre. 200 rooms, bungalows, townhouses, apartments & cottages set on 20 acres of landscaped gardens facing Dallman passage and Yamilon Lagoon. All rooms offer ensuite, air con, TV, Radio, Coffee/Tea facilities, 4 pools, gift shop, conference rooms, gymnasium, PADI Dive shop, marina, kayaks, catamarans, tennis, golf, game fishing, tour desk & concierge. The new Kalibobo Haus Kibung provides an air conditioned function room overlooking the pool and harbour and rebuilt Haus Win Restaurant are now both open for business. Located near centre of Madang, 200m from markets, 5kms from airport in a safe gated environment. Complimentary breakfast and transfers between airport and resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Madang Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madang Hotel Madang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing