We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get any better than this in PNG!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Madang Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

So very close to paradise. World class.

A short business trip to Madang saw me booked in for two nights at the Madang Beach Resort. This is the best hotel that I have stayed in PNG and I have stayed at quite a few! This is especially so for provincial PNG where expectations should generally not be as high as in upper end hotels in Port Moresby and certainly overseas.

On arrival our early morning check-in was prompt and efficient. Due to the early arrival we were informed that our rooms would not be ready for another hour. One hour later they were ready. That’s really appreciated as it enabled us to unpack and then continue on with our business during the day knowing our things were in our rooms.

The rooms we reserved were right on the water’s edge. The balcony literally jutted out over the water and overlooked the harbour entrance and surrounding islands. A tropical paradise. The room itself was of a good size, very clean and with a comfortable bed. A large flat screen TV with numerous cable TV channels including CNN (I am a CNN junkie!). Separate bathroom and toilet with coffee/tea making facilities were included.

The resort is set amongst some of the most immaculate tropical gardens I have ever seen with wild birds wandering around, not a leaf seemingly out of place. Just stunning.

I ate all meals in the hotel. The Haus Win restaurant is extremely good with great service and presentation, live background music in the evenings and a really nice tropical resort feel.
The food itself was brilliant. An awesome burger for lunch on the first day. Some of the best barramundi (coconut crusted) I have ever eaten that night. The buffet breakfast included with the room charge was a great way to start the day. Fish patties and chips for lunch on the second day were also really very good. All meals were accompanied by very fresh salad or vegetables.

The only letdown was the dinner on our second day but I would not lower my rating because of it. So many other great things made up for it.
Because of the “State of Origin” Rugby being played that night I believe that a BBQ dinner was utilised in lieu of the usual menu. That was a shame in itself as there were several dishes on the menu that I really wanted to try. Not to worry, a BBQ steak would be fine. The steak was unfortunately very tough to the point of being inedible. A second attempt was not much better and well undercooked. I eat steak medium. The situation was handled well by the duty manager and I am sure this is an aberration on otherwise a very fine restaurant.

In summary it’s a great place to stay, most certainly world class. Usually when I travel around PNG provinces I am happy to leave and go back to my very comfortable Port Moresby apartment. I could have stayed a lot longer here. Looking forward to my next trip to Madang now!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MrAustralasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to send your review. Obviously was are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning in the near future - tell your friends!
Regards
Sir Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have stayed here on a few occasions over last 15 years. Hotel has had a major refurbishment and the facilities are quite good. The food at the restaurant was slow in coming and service anywhere tends to be friendly, but slow.

Expensive, but everywhere in PNG tends to be expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Felicity P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to post a review. We take reviews very seriously and take action wherever necessary. We also have the right to respond honestly and whilst our service is sometimes slow, in PNG our patrons in the restaurant rarely book a table in advance and on occasions we have to make a guess on how many people will be dining. This makes it difficult for us to roster staff on both the kitchen and dining room and during July our occupancy has been very high and we have had to deal with patrons arriving in large numbers which places a great strain on the staff to provide good service and I feel that the staff really do their best to meet these peaks. In Australia if large groups appear in a restaurant unannounced it is likely to be would be turned away because the 'unions' stipulate how many patrons can be served - we do not do this, our staff do what they can to do their best.
Having been in the hospitality industry for 50 years, owning and operating 8 hotels, cruise ships you get a feel about how you are satisfying guests and if you wish to investigate our Company and hotels have all been rated as #1 and #2 in Madang, they have received Excellence Awards from Trip Advisor for the past 3 years which indicates we deserve a little better than the 3 stars you have provided.
I hope you return in the near future, I would personally like to ensure that our service to you is improved.
Sir Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our family holiday was a week at the Madang Resort. We took an 8 night package, which included breakfast, a full day village tour & 1/2 day snorkelling & use of the catamarans & sea kayaks. The staff are friendly and Casper & BusyBee were excellent drivers & guides. The young chef, Abraham, is enthusiastic & the meals delicious. Very easy to eat well & healthy with lots of fresh fish & vegetables. The Japanese diving instructor doubles as an okonomiyaki chef & we had a fun night. We had a relaxing time. My only disppointment was prior to our trip when MTS failed to respond to my request so we missed out on a highlands O/N stay. The grounds are beautiful & we had a great deal of enjoyment finding orchids & watching the Kokomo birds jump around. Rooms have fridge & tea & coffee facilities and comfy beds. Fiona Lowe

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your positive response, we are all very pleased you enjoyed your visit to Madang and the Madang Resort and look forward to a return visit in the near future. Sorry about the delay in responding to your first email.
Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

During June 2014, I was one of a team working with archaeologist Professor Glenn Summerhayes and we were accommodated within the complex of the Madang Resort Hotel. We received wonderful assistance from Sir Peter Barter, owner of the hotel and his staff particularly Sibona Mani and the driver who called himself "Busy Bee." The food in the 'haus win' was great as were the views and the pool. An extra trip was taken to Long Island aboard the Kalibobo Spirit which can be hired. Banana boats took us to nearby islands. Madang is warm all year around and the Madang Resort Hotel is a great place to stay. Mary Mennis

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank yu for taking time to write a review. Positive reviews help to dispell the conception that Madang and PNG is dangerous placer to visit. We are also pleased you enjoyed your visit and it was productive and thank you for your effort in assisting Jane at gage Museum.
We look forward to your return visit in the near future.
Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have stayed here several times. It has the most beautiful grounds of all the Madang hotels. The food and drinks are overpriced, but the city is right outside where it is easy to get good food really cheap. Sometimes the front desk staff are a little slow, but as long as you are patient, they come through and are very helpful. The cost of this hotel is comparable with the other big Madang hotels, but it is much nicer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLust577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your review, we are very proud of the grounds including surrounding parks which are all maintained by the madang resort team of gardeners and are assisted by kids of the staff who undertake clean up of plastic bags weekly.
We also hope to have the orchid garden reopened once the former mayor is evicted from the orchid house!
Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Loved it all, diving, sun, food, staff, management, boats,fun. It was just amazing.Go, go,go. I sen crabs and groupers and pufferfish and a whale blowing in the distance, the scenery is wonderful and it is just really a paradise.

Thank you so much from Mexico!!!!!

Room Tip: they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fobabett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thankyou for taking time to write review, it is always pleasing to hear about our guests that enjoyed Madang and the Madang Resort. We take great pride in maintaining this iconic property which is now rated amongst the best in the Pacific, we were also pleased to receive Trip advisor excellence award for 2nd year in a row, again thank you.
Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

great bungalow overlooking the harbour and across to Kranget Island, excellent service at all times from reception and restaurant staff, very friendly people at MRH, very comfortable and clean room and well serviced daily, also prompt laundry service, lots to do in and around Madang. Visits to Hobe Village, Bil Bil village and Sulphur Creek and Cave are highly recommended. Highly recommended place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 064 was excellent, overlooking the harbour and watching lots of activity on the water. Small z...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Madang Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

review like this give our staff a boost in their enthusiasm to go the extra mile. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Madang Resort and look forward to your next visit to beautiful Madand.
Peter Barter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madang
0.1 mi away
Kalibobo Village
Kalibobo Village
#3 of 6 in Madang
27 reviews
1.8 mi away
Madang Lodge Hotel
Madang Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Madang
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crossroads  Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lae
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Morobe
Hotel Morobe
#4 of 6 in Lae
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madang Star International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madang Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madang Resort Hotel

Address: Coastwatchers Ave | P.O. Box 707, Madang 511, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Momase Region > Madang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Price Range: £92 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madang Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madang Resort is PNG's top rated resort and conference centre. 200 rooms, bungalows, townhouses, apartments & cottages set on 20 acres of landscaped gardens facing Dallman passage and Yamilon Lagoon. All rooms offer ensuite, air con, TV, Radio, Coffee/Tea facilities, 4 pools, gift shop, conference rooms, gymnasium, PADI Dive shop, marina, kayaks, catamarans, tennis, golf, game fishing, tour desk & concierge. The new Kalibobo Haus Kibung provides an air conditioned function room overlooking the pool and harbour and rebuilt Haus Win Restaurant are now both open for business. Located near centre of Madang, 200m from markets, 5kms from airport in a safe gated environment. Complimentary breakfast and transfers between airport and resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Madang Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madang Hotel Madang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing