We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience and adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Madang Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Tranquil resort set amongst beautiful gardens on the edge of Madang Harbour. Snorkeling (the best I've seen), fishing, fascinating tours and activities to witness. A culture ablaze with colour and interesting traditions. White sand and crystal clear waters, pretty villages with gentle people. Something that should be experienced once in your life time. I felt very safe.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank symondsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

I have travelled quite a bit and have to say Madang resort is reasonably priced for the excellent service and awesome views that are worth a million dollars. The scuba diving done by the resort is affordable and a very good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whiteman_in_PNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

From the moment we arrived at Madang airport to the day we departed, we found the resort staff to be very courteous, friendly, helpful,co-operative, efficient and honest. Of the many choices in trips available, we chose day trips to local villages and former outposts up the coast. A half day criuse in the harbour included adequate time for a cool dip and coral viewing by snorkel. Our guides were well informed on geographical, historical and topical information. Our room was by the water's edge with a beautiful view over Dallman passage. Meals were eaten in the Haus Win where ships passing through the passage seemed close enough to touch. Banana boats ferried passengers to and from the islands. The lights of canoes fishing at night in the harbour and passage left a lasting impression. The grounds and gardens were always immaculate and colourful. The foyer was adorned with beautiful carvings which were for sale at reasonable prices. The resort has a modern luxury motor vessel available for extended trips and diving charters. All land travel was done by air conditioned buses or 4WD's. Our advice - This place is not a Phuket, Bali or Denarau Is. It's much more. Go with the right attitude to appreciate its natural beautyand the friendliness of the villagers and you will be well rewarded. The Madang Resort is well geared for conventions or just a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garamutmessage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

The Madang Resort Hotel is in a superb location on the Madang Harbour. We stayed in a gorgeous bungalow on the waterfront with a fabulous harbour view. Five days was not enough to explore Madang from this beautiful location. The staff went out of their way to plan interesting activities. We visited local villages, went searching for birds of paradise, went snorkelling, explored a cave, swam in a local waterhole, wandered around the market, and learned a lot about the local culture and history. In the evenings we swam in the pool, explored the beautiful gardens and relaxed in the gorgeous ‘Haus Win’ – a bush material outdoor restaurant by the sea. There is something for everyone in Madang – our group included my mother and sister, and my children (aged 19 and 22). My son could not believe how friendly the local people are. If you are interested in exploring Melanesian traditional lifestyle and cultures with relatively little western influence, you will love PNG. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happytraveller117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, but the service is pretty average, and the food is quite bad and really expensive. We waited ages at every meal, and mains would come out 15 minutes apart, some never came. We booked tours which were also quite expensive and felt a bit ripped off - a 3 hour harbour tour turned into a 20 minute boat trip past a tuna cannery, then 1 hour on a nearby island where the snorkelling was terrible while the tour operator took a nap. All these things WOULD be O.K - it is PNG after all, but for the price we paid, I expected more.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pidg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I was recently in Madang for the first time and stayed here at a local friends suggestion. My friend and I found this hotel to be one of the nicest hotels we had ever stayed in anywhere in the world. The property is beautiful and it is very secure even though surrounding Madang is not a scary place like Moresby. The people of Madang are very friendly in true Melenesian style. The restaurants in the hotel have great food at very fair prices. I expected the food to be much more expensive than it was and wow was it delicious. Take a room down on the water and you will not be disappointed with the view or the amenities. The staff in this hotel are extremely helpful,courteous and very honest. I will be going back to Madang just to stay in this hotel and swim in their pool. It's enormous and lends a perfect view of hundreds of flying foxes (gigantic bats to an American) taking off at night to feed. They fly around day and night at this hotel and it quite a spectacle. If you are going to Madang you should stay here. Trust a world traveller...

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kava-kauboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Comfortable, clean room. Great, friendly service. Unbeatable location. Good food. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madang
0.1 mi away
Kalibobo Village
Kalibobo Village
#3 of 6 in Madang
27 reviews
1.8 mi away
Madang Lodge Hotel
Madang Lodge Hotel
#2 of 6 in Madang
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crossroads  Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lae
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Morobe
Hotel Morobe
#4 of 6 in Lae
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madang Star International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madang Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madang Resort Hotel

Address: Coastwatchers Ave | P.O. Box 707, Madang 511, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Region: Papua New Guinea > Momase Region > Madang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Madang
Price Range: £91 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madang Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madang Resort is PNG's top rated resort and conference centre. 200 rooms, bungalows, townhouses, apartments & cottages set on 20 acres of landscaped gardens facing Dallman passage and Yamilon Lagoon. All rooms offer ensuite, air con, TV, Radio, Coffee/Tea facilities, 4 pools, gift shop, conference rooms, gymnasium, PADI Dive shop, marina, kayaks, catamarans, tennis, golf, game fishing, tour desk & concierge. The new Kalibobo Haus Kibung provides an air conditioned function room overlooking the pool and harbour and rebuilt Haus Win Restaurant are now both open for business. Located near centre of Madang, 200m from markets, 5kms from airport in a safe gated environment. Complimentary breakfast and transfers between airport and resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Madang Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madang Hotel Madang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing