We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One-on-one with nature!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chaparri Ecolodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiclayo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chaparri Ecolodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One-on-one with nature!”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Amazing experience at Chaparri, a natural reserve in the middle of the dry forest. We stayed for one night and were the only visitors in the reserve. Our guide was extremely amiable and knowledgeable, specially about birds. The kitchen staff was great and the food was better than many restaurants in Chiclayo. We ate out in the open dining room where foxes and hogs roamed around, and while watching birds. It was such a great experience!
The rooms were simple but extremely comfortable. Slept better than in the city. The washrooms are rudimentary but always had running water, and hot water for showers (solar-powered).

Room Tip: Standard rooms and superior rooms are not that different, the location is the only difference (stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
171 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The reserve is worth the effort and expense for lovers of nature, animals and birds. I was in one of the original lodge rooms, which are perfectly fine. I liked the rustic architecture and especially the shower stall. It was a little difficult to book independently, so allow a few weeks if possible for communication. However I was able to manage it a few days ahead of time.

The transportation is expensive if traveling alone (it is per vehicle, not per person). But I thought the room rates (about $100/night) were reasonable considering I had a full time guide (to myself) and meals included. Also I was the only overnight guest at the time (between birding tours) so had a very personal experience. My guide was Juhan, and enjoyed his enthusiasm and pleasant demeanor. We were quite successful in spotting the target species such as Tumbes Tyrant, I think it was nearly 50 species in just the first 24 hours. Of course the guans are all over the place, probably will see them sleeping on the room of your cottage. The weather was a bit overcast (good for walking) although not so much for the hummingbirds at the pool although saw several unusual ones along the main road.

The food was freshly prepared and good homestyle cooking (like lomo saltado and aji gallina).

The second night the owner's son was there and they were nice enough to invite me to join them in lunch before I left and to watch the release of some rehabilited Sechuan fox pups...who didn't really want to leave their safe enclosure, it seemed. There are a few foxes that hang around the kitchen, one we saw run off with a bag of bread!

Also both mornings we walked up to the bear enclosure and watched Pierre eat some sweet potatoes that Juhan tosses up into the mango tree.

There are lots of collared peccaries around and one (Panchita) is tame, with her three babies she comes to visit the kitchen. We also saw a large deer the last morning (near the fox cage). At the deer hide there was a tarantula! And a boa at the river that Juhan found. At the condor/king vulture enclosure, one bird of each is in residence. There is also a small herpetarium including a new (unnamed) species of snake.

Definitely bring the mosquito repellent, there is a reason that so many of the birds are flycatchers!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This reserve provides peace and tranquility in the middle of nowhere. It sits in a very large area at the foot of the Chaparri hills. Very comfortable lodges providing all the mod cons you need. The catering is also first class. Its well worth the 2-3 hour drive from Chiclayo. The local guides only speak Spanish so you may well need an English speaking guide to get the most out of your time here. They do have captive animals such as spectacled bears who they try to rehabilitate before setting them free again. Besides that there are bird species in abundance so it's a paradise for bird lovers. So much more but its not a zoo so you cant be sure what delights you will get to see. We suggest an absolute minimum of two nights stay especially if your bird lovers. Dont forget the mosquito repellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyUrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I came here with my family looking to escape the big city and this place was perfect. From the Chiclayo airport is a few hours by car until you get into this natural reserve with an amazing view of the Chaparri hill.
While we were there we had a chance to see peccari, spectacled bears, foxes, birds and to enjoy being far away from everything.
The accomodation is spartan in adobe houses but for me that was a plus and it adds to the charm of being in a place like that.
I took my two children and they loved it. There are hikes you can do of varying degrees of difficulty but they were all ok for the kids.
Food is included it was ok nothing fancy but fresh home made food. All in all a great place do not expect luxury but enjoy the nature and the rustic accomodation.

Room Tip: We had the colobri suite and it was perfect it even had a big bathtub for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonzalo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We didn't really know what to expect before arriving at Chaparri. It was a long drive to get there (we came from Trujillo), but as soon as we were greeted at the reserve entrance by Antero, our designated guide, we realised that we had arrived somewhere very special.

The setting, in dry woodland in the foothills of the Andes, is beautiful and the bungalows are delightful, with their Moche style murals and natural design.

We stayed two nights and saw lots of wierd and wonderful birdlife and even got very close to some wild spectacled bears. Antero was a wealth of information, not just about the fauna, but also about the different plants and the local history, culture and legends.

During our stay a team from National Geographic arrived to start making a documentary about the bears. We all sat together at meal times and it was fascinating to hear their stories. Dr. Rob Williams, who oversees research at Chaparri, was also there and explained all about how the reserve came into being and how the project was progressing.

I really can't recommend Chaparri highly enough - the whole feel of the place was exceptional. The food was excellent, the staff extremely friendly and professional. Even the solar showers in the bungalows were fantastic.

It's definitely off the beaten track, but that only makes it more special . What a pleasure it was to watch humming birds bathing at dawn in the river, 20m away from where we had breakfast....

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stretchmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiclayo hotels
34.0 mi away
Hosteria San Roque
Hosteria San Roque
#12 of 39 in Chiclayo
25 reviews
33.9 mi away
Casa Andina Select Chiclayo
33.4 mi away
WinMeier Hotel y Casino
WinMeier Hotel y Casino
#2 of 39 in Chiclayo
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.2 mi away
LP Los Portales Hotel Chiclayo
33.4 mi away
Wyndham Costa del Sol Chiclayo
33.4 mi away
Hotel Mochiks
Hotel Mochiks
#6 of 39 in Chiclayo
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaparri Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaparri Ecolodge

Property: Chaparri Ecolodge
Address: | nr Tinajones Reservoir, Chiclayo, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Lambayeque Region > Chiclayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Chiclayo
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaparri Ecolodge is located in the dryforests of northern Peru. The lodge provides a tranquil escape in a spectacular landscape of the foothills of the Andes with excellent wildlife viewing opportunities, and is located close to the principal archeological sites and museums of Lambayeque. Access Chaparri Ecolodge is 75 kilometres from the city and airport of Chiclayo, to which there are four flights daily from Lima. Travel times from Chaparri Ecolodge Chiclayo Airport 1 hour 15 mins Tumbas Reales Museum Lambayeque 1 hour 30 mins Tucume 1 hour 45 mins Huaca Rajada (Sipan) 1 hour Bosque de Pomac 1 hour 20 mins Sican Museum (Ferreñafe) 1 hour 13 mins Pimentel / Monsefu / Eten 1 hour 40 mins Trujillo 3 hours 20 mins ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing