We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but definitely not cheerful”

Hospedaje San Lucas
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiclayo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hospedaje San Lucas
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I stayed here for two nights as it was one of the cheapest places in Chiclayo (S20 per night for a single room) but I definitely got what I paid for. The lady that worked there was nice enough but that (along with it being inexpensive) were the only positives.
The room was dark and the wall separating mine and the next room was so thin that we may as well have stayed together and halved the cost. The bathroom was beyond poor and had an opening at the top of the wall to the next rooms bathroom. Despite following the instructions it was impossible to get any hot water whatsoever and the water which did escape from the shower remained on the floor as there was nowhere for it to go. The toilet was dirty and the bathroom wasn't cleared during the two days. The mattress sagged and I ditched the pillow as it was like trying to sleep with a sack of potatoes supporting my head.
As a bonus extra the lock on the front door tends to refuse to work leaving you stood outside frustrated until somebody finally comes down to let you in.
If it hadn't have been so cheap I would have scored it a one. There must be better places to stay in Chiclayo for a similar price and if not then it's definitely worth paying a bit more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

Sadly this place was a repulsive dog toilet - I read an earlier review about how bad it was, vowed never to stay there, stupidly forgot all of this and happily booked in like a massive idiot about four days ago. I stayed for two nights with my friend and then we got the hell out of there. The place is rundown and is an example of what happens to hostels when they Go To Die. The staff seem to not give two hoots about it and it is smelly and dirty.Firstly I noticed how they cleaned the floors with bleach and thought how nice that was. The next morning I realised that the reason they do this is because their three dogs literally use the place as a toilet. They defecate and urinate wherever it pleases them, inbetween barking at you (and anyone else who enters)very aggressively every time they see you. The linen smelt like it had not been washed properly and the bathroom of our room was leaking water from an unknown origin and smelt like a mans urinal. On check out day we asked if we could leave our bags in the room and they said no but we could leave them in a communal room. Given the state of the hotel I asked to see said bag room and it was basically the dog living area - complete with urine on the floor and the smell of what can only be described as the armpit of a tramp.

Ps there were cockroaches in the kitchen. It's a shame as you can see how this might have been nice once but now it can only be heralded as perhaps the worst hostel I have ever had the misfortune - and stupidity - to stay in.

DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Er, don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hayleyredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed only 1 night in this "backpacker hostel" and did not like it.
The best thing is the price; 40 soles for a double room. But you get what you pay (even if it is too expensive for what you get)
When we arrived, we were welcomed by 1 woman and 2 dogs yelling at us. 2 minutes later a dog was peeing in the stairs. I had to remind it later to the owner to wash it.
I found various dogs hairs on my blanket.
Each time we were entering the hotel dogs were yelling at us and not stopping. Like a huge welcome...
Shower is dangerous. It is electrical. When we intended to take a shower some electricity got out of the shower (where the water is going out). Electricity cables are strangely connected and too close from the water.
We asked to change room because of this electicity problem and dog hairs but in the second one you could have an electric shock when touching the tap. Very dangerous!!!
Beds are not confortable and room is ugly.
I do not recomend this "backpacker" hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimimundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank T-Mon_Ser_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ne pas prendre les chambres du 2e étage au fond, car pas de wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InWe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiclayo hotels
1.6 mi away
Villa Santa
Villa Santa
#9 of 39 in Chiclayo
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hospedaje Oasis
Hospedaje Oasis
#11 of 49 in Chiclayo
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
WinMeier Hotel y Casino
WinMeier Hotel y Casino
#2 of 39 in Chiclayo
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Select Chiclayo
0.1 mi away
Hostal Amigos
Hostal Amigos
#1 of 49 in Chiclayo
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Costa del Sol Chiclayo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje San Lucas

Address: Elias Aguirre 412, Chiclayo, Peru
Region: Peru > Lambayeque Region > Chiclayo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Chiclayo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing