We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Andina Select Chiclayo
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Chiclayo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were booked for two nights at the Gran Hotel in Chiclayo, but ended up leaving after one. Having read the reviews online, we somewhat were prepared for what we encountered, but since out travel agency booked our rooms, there was nothing we could do to change things. What, for me, saves this hotel from a "poor"rating is the staff. They must be in an extremely difficult position having to deal with angry guests who take their anger out on the staff when it is not their fault. Every person we dealt with at this hotel, and we dealt with many as we had to change rooms, was extremely helpful, friendly and polite. With such a top-rate staff, once the changes to the structure are made, this place will live up to its name. It is a shame that not many people travel to this part of Peru, as the Sipan museum is incredible!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stangwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Dear guest,

We are very thankful for the time you took to write and share your impressions regarding your stay at Gran Hotel Chiclayo by Casa Andina.

As you may know, Casa Andina is now managing this hotel and, for this reason, we are still making refurbishing works to adapt it to our standards. We are sorry to know about the inconveniences presented during your stay and please, accept our apologies for it.

Rest assured that we are taking into consideration your comments as we are always open to evaluate different alternatives for improvement.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

Casa Andina took over the management in March 2011, so 1 year ago. The objective is to make a "Casa Andina Select" of it.
Well, the service is really nice, as it is in most of the Casa Andina place. The breakfast buffet is also really great. But for the rest, they are still far from what a select should be. The infrastucture is old (they said il will take until end 2012 for the restauration), we get 2 times in 3 days stuck in the unique slow and old elevator (but the boxes of the new one, to be installed in March, are already in the backyard) and the old fashioned windows are not isolated at all, so you have a lot of street noises in your room.
On the other hand, it's difficult to blame the management, since the hotel in undergoing huge renovating works, but you never heard any machine, nor see dust. So it is qusi invisible for the guests.
I give them a 3 today, but it will certainly reach a "excellent" as soon as the works are done, in 2013.
Anyway, it is still the best in the city.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kstor_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate for sharing your honest opinion with us and many other travelers on Trip Advisor.

As you mentioned on your review, since 2011 Casa Andina is managing Gran Hotel Chiclayo and we are still in a process of restoration and refurbishment. Also, we would like to mention that several improvements have been made since your stay; we now count with two new elevators operating in perfect conditions.

We are very sorry for not being able to meet your expectations at that occasion and please, rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration as they help us to point out some matters that might need more attention from us.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Was right in the center of chiclayo, which was very convenient. I stay in a lot of hotels while traveling and I rarely find staff so friendly and helpful even in their second language. The services were nice, especially the buffet breakfast. I would also recommend trying the evening dinner at the hotel at least once as it was surprisingly good. Although the rooms weren't brand new they were in excellent condition and the staff were very responsive to any requests I asked of them. Overall a very good hotel and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattk241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Looks like a communist building of the former Soviet Union. Big spaces without a soul. The elevators didn't work so one had to use the service elevator. The service was zero. The rooms worn out with very bad lighting. Bad design and no taste. Poor breakfatbuffet. Apparently the hotel had been taken over by the Casa Andina chain in April 2011 and some modernization was on its way but after almost a year we didn't see anything of it. Overall bad experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelG860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_GR, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. It saddens us to know we were not able to exceed your expectations and that you left our hotel without living the real Casa Andina experience. As you mentioned, Gran Hotel Chiclayo is under Casa Andina’s administration since last year. And since then we have made a plan for a mid-range project to redesign the public spaces and hotel rooms, floor by floor. We have recently installed a new elevator, which was our main concern.
Take into consideration that you can find other Casa Andina hotels in Arequipa, Colca Canyon, Chachapoyas, Chincha, Cusco, Suasi Island , Lima, Nasca, Puno and Sacred Valley. We will always be pleased to serve you.
Kind regards,
The Casa Andina Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Casa Andina have just bought this property recently and have some great plans for it - renovations have not started. However this will take some time and it is now quite tired and I would not consider a 4 star hotel. it is 3 star with the facilities of a 3.5 star hotel, pool, restaurant and cafe are all excellent. Rooms are tired. I work for an agency and taxes are always included in our discounted rates for our clients. The hotel is still one of the best options for Chiclayo and a great location and a decent sleep. The rooms are the most tired things however a decent sleep was had for 2 nights.

Room Tip: ask for a back room, less noise with traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hero360travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_GR, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your valuable comments on trip advisor´s website. Certainly, Casa Andina has just bought this property. We have started with certain adjustments of the internal service processes, but we also have several infraestructure and maintenance improvements scheduled for this and the next year. We sincerely hope to have you with us in a not too distant future to offer you the real Casa Andina experience.
Cordially yours,
The team Casa Andina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I stayed with my family for a day as a walk-in, the hotel is located in a safe location, but not for touristing the area, there is only a simply park, thanks god they have a safe garage inside.
We received a nice welcome, service is good, also the food at the restaurant is acceptable but the rate don't make sense for an old building, despite everything the new company who owns the property, "Casa Andina" is actually making changes to refurbish the atmosphere ( rooms, public areas, etc.) ! but until they finish completely they have to decrease the rate., too expensive for what you get. Hope they finish soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mdager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_GR, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Dear guest,
We very much regret the poor impression you got from our hotel. However, we appreciate the time you set aside to share your comments with us.
Certainly, Casa Andina owns de hotel and remodeling works have already started. We have several changes programmed for this and next year. We sincerely hope you have the opportunity to visit our hotel again in a not too distant future.
Cordially yours,
The team Casa Andina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I think this is the best available in Chiclayo and it was undergoing renovations when we were there. The rooms were ok and we slept fine. The elevators seemed in need of servicing and the main restaurant was not open but dinner in the cafe was fine. We enjoyed coffee on the front patio and there is an atm right in front of the hotel which seemed safe and was convenient. The breakfast buffet was basic but adequate for our needs. We had a balcony and it was fun to watch the birds in the early morning and at dusk. Chiclaya was an interesting place to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NepeanCanteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiclayo hotels
0.7 mi away
WinMeier Hotel y Casino
WinMeier Hotel y Casino
#2 of 39 in Chiclayo
306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Costa del Sol Chiclayo
0.8 mi away
LP Los Portales Hotel Chiclayo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Sipan
Hotel Gran Sipan
#12 of 39 in Chiclayo
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Solec
Hotel Solec
#9 of 39 in Chiclayo
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunec Hotel
Sunec Hotel
#6 of 39 in Chiclayo
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Select Chiclayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Select Chiclayo

Address: Av. Federico Villarreal 115 | Chiclayo, Chiclayo 14000, Peru
Region: Peru > Lambayeque Region > Chiclayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiclayo
#1 Business Hotel in Chiclayo
Price Range: £47 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Select Chiclayo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Andina Select Chiclayo is an iconic structure of the city that offers its visitors an excellent location, just minutes from downtown and the airport. Casa Andina Select Chiclayo offers visitors a modern and functional hotel, with spacious common areas, terrace, pool and event areas.The hotel offers its visitors a modern and functional , designed for the business traveler. It features 130 rooms, 100% non-smokers, distributed in 7 floors, plus meeting rooms and a terrace. Internet center, WiFi internet service, ATM, parking and valet parking are just some of the services that we offer our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Andina Select Chiclayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiclayo Gran Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing