We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ready for prime time yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Andina Select Chiclayo
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Chiclayo
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not ready for prime time yet”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Huge room, huge bathroom, good location - still being renovated. Quiet tho. No p;roblem with access to elevator reported by others, tho only 1 elevator was available. Cafe had very limited menu - nothing simple.

Room Tip: We had room 420 facing the back and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olderfemaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you took to share your impressions about your experience at our hotel.

As you know, Gran Hotel Chiclayo is under a full renovation of all public areas and rooms, doing it floor by floor. This is done since Casa Andina took the administration of the hotel last year and we are refurbishing it according to our standards.

We would also like to mention that we have two brand new elevators operating, allowing that the access to the rest of our hotel areas be easier.

Please, accept our apologies if there was any inconvenience while you were with us. Be assured that these changes will be greatly appreciated when they are completed.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    228
    87
    24
    7
See reviews for
134
161
40
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed two nights at the Casa Andina / Gran Hotel as part of our tour. The lobby is nice and as previous reviewers have stated, all the people we met went out of their way to help us. We stayed in two rooms (room 612 the first night and room 604 the second night). The reason we switched rooms is because we complained that the room we had the first night was noisy and smelled moldy. They accommodated us and upgraded us to a suite the second night. The suite was quieter as it partially overlooked the pool but there was still lots of traffic noise; the room was bigger and even included a jacuzzi tub but we didn't use it. The room however still smelled of mildew. Based on those two rooms, I'm guessing that all the rooms are noisy and have a mildew problem. The air-conditioning units are either on or off - there is no thermostat setting so we were constantly turning it on and off to maintain a comfortable temperature which was annoying. I tend to be sensitive to mold and mildew and as a result I ended up with asthma.

The restaurant attached to the hotel (Cappuccino Cafe) has a decent selection for breakfast and one night we chose to eat dinner there. It was surprisingly good. We especially enjoyed the Mixed Seafood Ceviche as an appetizer.

As a gauge, for those familiar with the quality of a Hampton Inn in the USA, I typically rate those as very good since I think these hotels offer extremely good value for money and at a minimum I expect a hotel room to be clean and not make me feel ill.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gl0baltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you took to share your impressions about your experience at our hotel.

We would like to mention that Gran Hotel Chiclayo is under Casa Andina’s administration since last year, and since then we have been redesigning and refurbishing all public areas and hotel rooms, doing it floor by floor. Please, accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced while you were with us. Please be sure that these changes will be greatly appreciated.

We sincerely hope to get the opportunity to visit us again and offer you the real Casa Andina experience.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed for a mini-vacation and read about this hotel. Thanks to all for the objective information. Well, here is my report... Arrived on a Monday morning first flight from Lima, unfortunately, check in information is erratic, somewhere in a web page it says noon, however it's more like 2pm, that's what is posted on a wall in the hotel counter.

The service throughout our stay was impecable. Even though we were inconvenienced by a presidential visit, we were moved to another suite (check your jacuzzi, make sure it works), and given some complimentary treats. My special thanks to Christian, Marco, Charlie and the manager on site. Also my thanks to Gisella in reservations who helped me clarify some questions, especially this 18% tax that is charged if just one member of your party is a peruvian national.

I can confirm that the infrastructure is old, but solid. There is much work left. They are only working with one elevator that is very outdated, but it does the job. We had to take the stairs a couple of times due to heightened security, but it was pleasantly roomy. The restaurant in the 2nd floor is not working, and only the first floor restaurant is running. The breakfast buffet is very satisfying, with daily variety. We had dinner there too, and the food was very good a la carte.

The location is great, right in front of a park, and next to a main avenue. You may hear some noise but nothing compared to a stay in Lima, where it's super noisy. All in all I would recommend this location, but mainly for its staff. They were all very helpful at all times.

Chiclayo is not a very big city, and pretty safe to walk around. Otherwise you can get around by taxi, which is not very expensive (3 soles / daytime; 4 soles / night -one dollar is 2.6 soles). There is also a nice mall where you can find anything, including movies, a karaoke bar and a good restaurant set.

I am only giving this hotel 3 stars because the pictures that I saw and lured me onto this location were of a different location. This was confirmed by local staff and my stay. I've noticed that these pictures have been updated since, at least on the Expedia site. I have just entered the Casa Andina site for Chiclayo and cannot see any pictures, so they must be updating the site. Additionally, during my stay I had extremely poor internet connection, in both suites assigned.

Again, this hotel is worth the stay, to experience the care of the staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latinlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for letting us to know your valuable comments regarding your stay at our hotel.

We very much regret the inconveniences presented and if perceived your stay was not to what you expected.

As you may know, Casa Andina started managing Gran Hotel Chiclayo since 2011 that is why we are still in a refurbishing process and adapting it to our standards. We would also like to mention that some improvements have been made since your stay with us; we now count with two new elevators.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to serve you again at any of our hotels in Peru and guarantee the real Casa Andina experience.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were booked for two nights at the Gran Hotel in Chiclayo, but ended up leaving after one. Having read the reviews online, we somewhat were prepared for what we encountered, but since out travel agency booked our rooms, there was nothing we could do to change things. What, for me, saves this hotel from a "poor"rating is the staff. They must be in an extremely difficult position having to deal with angry guests who take their anger out on the staff when it is not their fault. Every person we dealt with at this hotel, and we dealt with many as we had to change rooms, was extremely helpful, friendly and polite. With such a top-rate staff, once the changes to the structure are made, this place will live up to its name. It is a shame that not many people travel to this part of Peru, as the Sipan museum is incredible!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stangwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear guest,

We are very thankful for the time you took to write and share your impressions regarding your stay at Gran Hotel Chiclayo by Casa Andina.

As you may know, Casa Andina is now managing this hotel and, for this reason, we are still making refurbishing works to adapt it to our standards. We are sorry to know about the inconveniences presented during your stay and please, accept our apologies for it.

Rest assured that we are taking into consideration your comments as we are always open to evaluate different alternatives for improvement.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Casa Andina took over the management in March 2011, so 1 year ago. The objective is to make a "Casa Andina Select" of it.
Well, the service is really nice, as it is in most of the Casa Andina place. The breakfast buffet is also really great. But for the rest, they are still far from what a select should be. The infrastucture is old (they said il will take until end 2012 for the restauration), we get 2 times in 3 days stuck in the unique slow and old elevator (but the boxes of the new one, to be installed in March, are already in the backyard) and the old fashioned windows are not isolated at all, so you have a lot of street noises in your room.
On the other hand, it's difficult to blame the management, since the hotel in undergoing huge renovating works, but you never heard any machine, nor see dust. So it is qusi invisible for the guests.
I give them a 3 today, but it will certainly reach a "excellent" as soon as the works are done, in 2013.
Anyway, it is still the best in the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kstor_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate for sharing your honest opinion with us and many other travelers on Trip Advisor.

As you mentioned on your review, since 2011 Casa Andina is managing Gran Hotel Chiclayo and we are still in a process of restoration and refurbishment. Also, we would like to mention that several improvements have been made since your stay; we now count with two new elevators operating in perfect conditions.

We are very sorry for not being able to meet your expectations at that occasion and please, rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration as they help us to point out some matters that might need more attention from us.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Was right in the center of chiclayo, which was very convenient. I stay in a lot of hotels while traveling and I rarely find staff so friendly and helpful even in their second language. The services were nice, especially the buffet breakfast. I would also recommend trying the evening dinner at the hotel at least once as it was surprisingly good. Although the rooms weren't brand new they were in excellent condition and the staff were very responsive to any requests I asked of them. Overall a very good hotel and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattk241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Looks like a communist building of the former Soviet Union. Big spaces without a soul. The elevators didn't work so one had to use the service elevator. The service was zero. The rooms worn out with very bad lighting. Bad design and no taste. Poor breakfatbuffet. Apparently the hotel had been taken over by the Casa Andina chain in April 2011 and some modernization was on its way but after almost a year we didn't see anything of it. Overall bad experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelG860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_GR, Propietario at Casa Andina Select Chiclayo, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. It saddens us to know we were not able to exceed your expectations and that you left our hotel without living the real Casa Andina experience. As you mentioned, Gran Hotel Chiclayo is under Casa Andina’s administration since last year. And since then we have made a plan for a mid-range project to redesign the public spaces and hotel rooms, floor by floor. We have recently installed a new elevator, which was our main concern.
Take into consideration that you can find other Casa Andina hotels in Arequipa, Colca Canyon, Chachapoyas, Chincha, Cusco, Suasi Island , Lima, Nasca, Puno and Sacred Valley. We will always be pleased to serve you.
Kind regards,
The Casa Andina Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiclayo hotels
0.7 mi away
WinMeier Hotel y Casino
WinMeier Hotel y Casino
#2 of 37 in Chiclayo
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wyndham Costa del Sol Chiclayo
0.8 mi away
LP Los Portales Hotel Chiclayo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Intiotel Chiclayo
Intiotel Chiclayo
#3 of 37 in Chiclayo
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Solec
Hotel Solec
#9 of 37 in Chiclayo
24 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunec Hotel
Sunec Hotel
#6 of 37 in Chiclayo
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Select Chiclayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Select Chiclayo

Property: Casa Andina Select Chiclayo
Address: Av. Federico Villarreal 115 | Chiclayo, Chiclayo 14000, Peru
Region: Peru > Lambayeque Region > Chiclayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiclayo
#1 Spa Hotel in Chiclayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Select Chiclayo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Andina Select Chiclayo is an iconic structure of the city that offers its visitors an excellent location, just minutes from downtown and the airport. Casa Andina Select Chiclayo offers visitors a modern and functional hotel, with spacious common areas, terrace, pool and event areas.The hotel offers its visitors a modern and functional , designed for the business traveler. It features 130 rooms, 100% non-smokers, distributed in 7 floors, plus meeting rooms and a terrace. Internet center, WiFi internet service, ATM, parking and valet parking are just some of the services that we offer our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Andina Select Chiclayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiclayo Gran Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing