We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cayman Lodge Amazonia
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cabana Quinta(Puerto Maldonado)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Torre Valsai(Puerto Maldonado)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Puerto Amazonico(Puerto Maldonado)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
D"Milez Hotel(Puerto Maldonado)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
La Torre Inn(Puerto Maldonado)
US$77
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Centenario(Puerto Maldonado)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Sandoval Lake Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (121)
    Filter reviews
    121 results
    Traveller rating
    72
    34
    8
    6
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    72
    34
    8
    6
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscold waterriceboat tripno electricityintrepid tourthe riverspoke excellent englishperuvian foodgreat experiencehammock areafood was fantastictoilet and showerwild pigsthe main dining areajungle hikewalking bootsstayed here for nights
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    44 - 49 of 121 reviews
    Reviewed 29 June 2013

    Stayed here for 4 days. Brilliant place to be. If you want peace and quiet away from it all then this is the place to be. Our guide (Klaus) was great, boat man (Marlon the caymon wrestler, & Wullie the barman were fantastic. Played football in the jungle against the collage about 1/2 mile up the river. Fantastic trecks through the jungle and even managed to catch a Pirhana. Would highly recomend this place to anyone. Cheers for looking after us.

    Room Tip: All rooms are bang on.
    • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Chrisdowell69
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 June 2013

    Stayed at this lodge in February, the rainy season, and yes it did, but it stopped the sun and blue skies emerged. Had the place to ourselves, only one other guest on our first night, on our second a small family party.
    Positive points:
    Felt safe as a party of two women friends in an all male environment.
    Guides who were both professional, personable and friendly.
    Lovely boat man.
    Liked the emphasis on eco tourism, what was brought into the reserve must be brought out.
    I liked that this lodge had affiliations with local people, and local knowledge, it says support for the ethos of Tambopata.
    Saw plenty of wildlife on the boat trip up river once the rain stopped, macaws, monkeys, capy bara and cayman. The rainy season apparently is not the best time for seeing wildlife.
    Good clear discussion about our options for excursions, given a time table by our guide Klaus who was very reassuring and knowledgeable.
    Great excursions; night walk, loved the night sounds funny how the smallest of creatures make the most noise.
    Our shared room had twin beds and was clean and comfortable.
    As we had the place to ourselves we were not bothered by human noise, though I could imagine this might be difficult if the block is full, so yes earplugs.
    We kept our door shut and very importantly had an insect free room.
    Enjoyed candlelight and night sounds.
    A cool shower was a refreshing delight after treks into Amazonie.
    As a vegetarian the food was great.
    Had a fabulous tour into the forest up river, went spotting caiman, not a one to be seen, but plenty of other birds, bats, parrots, macaws, and hoatzin amongst others. Great introduction to flora of the amazon the iron and fig trees are amazing.....
    Again out on a night excursion spotting caiman couldn't be better. Yes we did see some.
    Some great lazing around in the hammocks over looking the river, very relaxing sitting on the porch looking over the grounds with the sounds of Amazonie not very far away.
    I enjoyed all the options Cayman Lodge had on offer and felt coming to this special place in the rainy season was a gift, as was meeting the people who have the privilege to live and work here.
    I would return.

    • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Chaitrna
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 May 2013

    I was very disappointed upon arrival at the lodge to find my room very dirty. The sink had dried toothpaste, dirt and hair in it. The toilet seat was a grimy colour and the bed cover looked like it hadn't been washed in ages. There are 4 rooms in a block, all sharing the same roof, which means you can hear everything going on in any of the other 3 rooms - very little privacy at all! Food was nice though there was no choice, it was eat what you are given or nothing. There's no power so rooms are lit by candles. No hot water.
    On the plus side Annie, the French owner was very welcoming and obviously loves her lodge. Our local guide was very knowledgeable and we saw lots of wildlife. Be prepared for very long hikes in wellies and many insect bites! Head torch, insect repellant and long trousers/long sleeved top essential.

    • Stayed: May 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank superwrong
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 December 2012

    We chose Cayman Lodge after pretty extensive research as we wanted a real jungle experience: so we knew to expect no electricity etc. We took torches but thought afterwards the miner's head torches would have been great, allowing freedom of both hands for case searching and for night trips.

    The lodges have window mosquito nets and are absolutely fine, but, as others have said, the unaccustomed night noises and neighbours' noises can keep you awake, so ear plugs should be considered (to minimise snoring, bathroom sounds etc).

    We spent little time in the lodge as we had a full programme of trips with the fantastic Frank, whose jungle knowledge is inexhaustible and whose eyesight is superhuman. He really made our trip such an amazing experience and, at the end, gave us a trip around Puerto Maldonado market before dropping us off at the airport. We also took advantage of the sun shelters with hammocks, some of which have spectacular views over the river.

    We stayed here early on in our trip so had (almost) enough energy to enjoy everything on offer, and it is really exhausting. So: try not to arrive drained as you will miss so much. It is a good idea to bring with you cereal fruit bars for an energy boost.

    Unusually for the time of our visit, we had a significant thunder and lightning storm which affected our jungle trips, so my advice would be to prioritise important trips on your first day, if possible.

    Also, it seems obvious, but remember that it is a jungle environment with high humidity and clothes do not dry, so plan accordingly.

    In all, an excellent lodge where we were so very well looked after.

    • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank x2_travel_bug
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 December 2012

    Accommodation is really great and keeps the beasties at bay while you sleep. View of the Amazon river is amazing and there are cool hammocks to relax in.
    Staff are extremely welcoming, friendly and I thought the food was really nice.
    We had Frank as our guide - he is ADORABLE, knowledgable and fun and did his best to show us as much as he could in the very short time we were there.
    Please consider that the guides cannot possibly guarantee that you'll see all sorts, it's the jungle afterall not a zoo.
    The nature of the trip can be tiring as you're trekking through the jungle so be prepared for this and take plenty of water.
    Couldn't fault my time at the Cayman Lodge, I wanted to stay longer!

    • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Lindsay1983
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews