We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Jungle Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Maldonado
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cayman Lodge Amazonia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Geckos tour. Our room was large enough, neat and tidy, with a mozzie net over each bed. Each accommodation building has a high thatched roof, under which each room is timber walled with a mesh ceiling and window, so beware you will hear everyone around you! Bathrooms are neat and clean, but there is no hot water for showering. There is no electricity in the rooms, you have only candles for lighting and can charge electronics at power points in the communal area between 5 and 10pm. The kitchen building has a large communal dining, bar and seating area. The provided food was simple but tasty enough and filling. We went on both a night-time and day-time trek through the jungle, a short boat trip around a lake and a night-time boat trip along the river for caiman spotting. Our guide Ronnie spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meagsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Minimal accommodations, minimal attractions.
The online photos looked amazing. The actual place was pretty run down. When we arrived, we went into the office to pay. They refused any US dollars that weren't perfectly new, which they didn't mention ahead of time.
Be sure to bring your own form of entertainment because there's a lot of down time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights/4 days and it was an incredible experience. The first hike was very intense (nearly 10 miles), but the sights, sounds, and info provided by our guide (Rony) made it an experience we will never forget. I have read complaints about no hot water for the showers.. Trust me, the last thing in the world you want after being in the rainforest all day is hot shower. The cold water is a HUGE relief. We were treated like family, and it was a great experience.

Room Tip: You hear everything due to being in the rainforest. If you have trouble with noise at night (both fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bvaldez182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here for the 3 night/4 day package, organised via Exodus as the 'Amazon Extension'. We enjoyed the location, next to the river, with Jungle all around - amazing bird life and dawn chorus. We did the night walk, boat trip to the Macaw clay lick, caiman spotting at night, and walk to the Lake. Lovely guide, Ronnie.

Be prepared for the basic nature of the accommodation - which works perfectly considering the location - this is not a criticism. The rooms are clean and functional - firm beds with mosquito nets, tiled bathrooms, cold water showers (which felt amazing after one of the hottest, sweatiest walks of my life!) candles for lighting and thatched roofs. We had a block to ourselves so we were not affected by noise from adjoining rooms.

The food was good - lots of rice, potatoes and salad. Plentiful fruit juices. We also managed to stay awake long enough on 2 evenings to sample the cocktails - lovely! Also thanks to Annie, the owner - my husband was unwell one day and didn't feel up to one of the meals - a fresh & simple noodle soup was made especially for him, and was much appreciated.

The days were quite busy (including a 3am alarm call for the boat trip, in the dark, to the clay lick!) so relaxation time was welcome, in the hammocks by the river.

Bring plenty of insect repellent, refillable water containers, waterproofs, spare camera batteries, binoculars, and a book to read for down times. Wellies/gumboots for walking in the thick gloopy mud are provided.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ticobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The lodges were very cute, as was the whole property. There were lounge chairs and hammocks to relax in. Ferns galore around. Birds chirping. The stars at night are amazing. And yes, as others said, there is no hot water. And yes, you really do feel that sting the first time you have a cold shower. The cold water can feel refreshing, though, if you shower midday. We found that the water pressure differed between different times of day and across the 2 rooms my party had- sometimes strong, and other times just a trickle. Also, do note, that there is no electricity in the room. They give you several candles. Definitely bring a flashlight, though, for indoors and for outside, too. And test it out before you go. I got a brand new one, but found out when I turned it on, it was no more than a pinprick of light. Make sure yours is more powerful. Also, the walls are thin, which could be a problem if either you or the group next door is getting up at 2 am in the morning to go see the birds.

The food was Peruvian and very good, though the options may be limited if you have a more limited diet. I don't eat red meat, but found myself doing so, because I would be hungry otherwise.


We had a good program. We went out on a night hike to see some insects, a day hike to see some forest plants, an excursion on the river at moonlight to spot caymans, a boat trip up to see macaws, a canoe ride around a lake to spot anacondas (we had to cross some neat jungle bridges to get there), and tried fishing for piranhas. The cooks will prepare them for you if you happen to catch any. We saw a toucan, monkey, tarantula, macaws, anacondas, pig-like things, a turkey-like thing, lots of butterflies, different bugs, and even got to hold a baby cayman. The last day, though, I felt like there wasn't much to do. We had gotten up early and had an activity to around midday, but after that there wasn't anything scheduled, so I felt like the last part of our 3rd day was not put to as good as use as it could be. I would have liked to see another activity there.

We had a guide for just our small group of 4, which was great. He, and the other guides we interacted with, were very knowledgeable, and answered the many questions we posed. Some of the guys at the lodge could be a little forward though. I also found that to be true after we left, on other parts of my trip, so maybe it is a Peruvian thing? I don't know.

Overall, I had a good time, and got the jungle experience I was looking for.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank ese1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here for three nights (on the Sachavacayoc/Colpa Chuncho tour) and really enjoyed ourselves. We had a great guide (Klaus), for two of us, who was extremely knowledge and enthusiastic about the wildlife and we saw lots of animals including an anaconda! It is a good mix as you had guided tours but you also get plenty of free time to laze around in the hammocks and watch the wildlife around the lodge.

The lodge is basic but clean and comfortable. A warning that only the dining room has electricity at night and there is no hot water. The food was good but make sure you bring your own snacks and money for drinks. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

The downside was that the rooms are in a block of four and the ceiling is netting, so you can hear everything in the other rooms (so there not a lot of privacy). On the last day, we were made to leave the Lodge early to get back to Puerto Maldondo and ended up waiting at the airport for 5 hours (and there is NOTHING to do at the airport) as we were on the last flight out. We had been told that we needed to leave early (as we asked to stay longer at the Lodge) as some people were on the early flight, which was untrue as everyone was on the same flight as us. It was a disappointing end to an otherwise awesome trip. I would recommend that you get an early flight out of Puerto Maldondo.

It is a good Lodge to stay at to experience the Amazon if you don't mind 'rustic accommodation.'

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophialindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed here for 4 days. Brilliant place to be. If you want peace and quiet away from it all then this is the place to be. Our guide (Klaus) was great, boat man (Marlon the caymon wrestler, & Wullie the barman were fantastic. Played football in the jungle against the collage about 1/2 mile up the river. Fantastic trecks through the jungle and even managed to catch a Pirhana. Would highly recomend this place to anyone. Cheers for looking after us.

Room Tip: All rooms are bang on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisdowell69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Maldonado hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#3 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
240 reviews
9.0 mi away
Monte Amazonico Lodge
Monte Amazonico Lodge
#10 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
124 reviews
24.8 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Corto Maltes Amazonia
Corto Maltes Amazonia
#5 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
307 reviews
9.3 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Collpas Tambopata Inn
Collpas Tambopata Inn
#16 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayman Lodge Amazonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Lodge Amazonia

Address: Arequipa 655, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cayman lodge amazonia is a private project created to protect the ecology and environment in harmony and comfort. The natural beauty of this site is crying out to be known and experienced. Everything is recycled to protect nature as much as possible and minimize the effects of our installation in this protected zone. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing