We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Rainforest Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Puerto Maldonado
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Amazing Rainforest Experience”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Ok, to all those other reviewers complaining of mud and bugs: DO YOU EVER LEAVE YOUR OWN HOUSE??? For everyone else - you must go here! Yes, it's remote, but that's why it's such a cool place.

My wife and I did the 3D/2N trip here through InkaNatura. It was the last part of our vacation in Peru, and probably the highlight for both of us - yes, even more so than Machu Picchu! Getting to the Lodge is an experience in itself, but not really difficult or long. Just bring plenty of bug spray and lightweight clothes and you'll be fine.

The lodge itself is actually pretty incredible. No luxury status or Michelin stars here, but considering the location it's actually a really nice place to stay. Upon arriving, you quickly feel the slow pace of life in the jungle. Nature walks are at your own speed, and the canoe trips around the lake practically define serene. The amount of wildlife and the incredible variety within astounded me. You really feel like you're in some sort of documentary - which makes sense when you are told the BBC has filmed here. We saw otters, caimans, leaf-cutter ants, walking palms, macaws, spider monkeys, Brazil nut tree, termites, lizards, agutis...need I go on? I seriously doubt I can every enjoy a zoo again. Being on Sandoval Lake was so very cool!

I should also add that our guide, Cesar (provided through InkaNatura), was absolutely amazing. He was very patient with us, and seemed to thoroughly enjoy his job. However, the best part was his voluminous knowledge of the jungle life. You'd only have to walk a few feet with him before he was pointing out some unusual plant or animal that you'd only every seen on TV (if you'd ever seen it at all).

We never had any problems with the staff, the lodging, or the food. Our room was comfortable, and the turn-down service was a pleasant touch. Hot water was available, but not always long-lasting. The intermittent periods of electricity were never an issue (this is the jungle, folks - electricity is a luxury, not a necessity). The food was very tasty, and always just the right amount.

While I heartily recommend Sandoval Lake Lodge for a taste of the jungle, it has whet my appetite for viewing wildlife and next time I might dedicate a whole week and go somewhere even more remote. But for 1-3 day excursions, you really can't beat this place!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank crusadercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    42
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
54
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

After reading some reviews I had some trepidation when our party of eight went to stay for 4 nights. The boat was fine, the walk was an unusual experience and the canoe amazing. When we arrived we ceratinly needed the refreshing lemon drink served. We had an amazing time and our guide xavier could not have been more helpful. the rooms were adequate, we did get hot water after running it for a long time. The food was terrific, well cooked and unusual dishes and extremely well presented considering the facilities of the kitchen. We had 3 days of excursions which could not be topped. The beds were comfortable and rooms adequate as we were hardly in them. the lights out did not matter as we were tired anyway.
We are all well travelled and as part of our Peru 3 week trip this was a highlight we all thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: All rooms the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teatimetreats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

It is a nearly three hour trip from Puerto Maldonado to reach the Sandoval Lake lodge. First is a bus ride to the river jetty then a nearly one hour motorboat ride to the entry point to the lake lodge followed by a 3 km + trek through the Amazon jungle whereing gum boots. There is a path which is quite navigatable if there has been no rain seeing the same made us happy that the weather was dry. This takes you to the entry point on the lake from where you take a row boat across the lake to reach the lodge.

There is a small passage covered with jungle through which the boat threads to reach the lake. Once you are on the lake you cannot but look in awe on the sight. We reached near evening and were treated by Mother nature to a spectacular sun set which threw up a perfect rainbow where you could see all seven colours one of the best rainbow sightings we have seen.

The lodge itself is very rustic it can certainly do with improvements. There is limited timings for electricity then too very low lighting, rooms with very thin wooden walls so that you hear your neighbour snoring, coughing even tossing and turning.

The biggest disappointment was the food which comes pre-platted with what to speak of no seconds, not even a request for extra sauce is frowned upon and turned down. Breakfast is bread slices one per head and asking for more gets the reply it is over. My personal opinion one should not be cheated on the quantity of food. I am not talking on the quality, preparations or choice which too can do with much improvement but on what is served whichis asingle mainwithout choice how can a second helping be refused when the rooms are with food and not limited food.

Then consider if you do not like the single mail which is served you will sleep on a grumbling stomach with no lights meaning no fan either after 10 pm

The guides and some of the staff are very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Suggest look at other lodges and come hereto see the lake which is the high point of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyKochhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Well our experience at lake Sandoval was truly something I will never forget. I guess I didn't really fully understand what it was. Let me explain...

Lake Sandoval was the only resort located in the actual rainforest reserve area. All the others are on the outskirts and do day trips inside. Really people, you do not need to be sleeping inside the actual forest. There is a reason people don't live in there. I am a pretty adventurous person but this was definitely beyond my comfort level.

To arrive a lake sandoval you have to take a boat for an hour down the Madre de dios river. Then hike two miles into the rainforest. Then take a canoe across the lake to get to the lodge. All this, I was excited for. I like this kind of thing. But our flight was delayed so it started to get dark as we were hiking. Imagine being in the rainforest, where just about everything is poisonous, in the pitch dark! It was crazy. If you ever wanted to leave this place or, God forbid, you are injured during your stay, you have a very hard time getting out.

That night when we finally arrived, we were met by the manager who told us that there were only a few periods during the day of electricity and after 11 lights out. We were not aware of this and the flashlights we brought were certainly too small and inadaquate. Then there is the water situation. The manager said it would take a few moments for the hot water to start coming out so to just leave it running for a little while. We never had hot water while we were there. Not even Luke warm. It was cold.

Then we got to our room. At first glance it looked ok but then we looked up. There are no ceilings to the rooms. There is only one main roof covering the whole lodge meaning that whatever bugs or critters were running around that place would have full access to your room and stuff. And that is exactly what happened to us. The bathroom was infested with cockroaches. They were all over the walls, the shower and God knows where around the toilet. Just try and feel comfortable doing your business in a place like that. Also, don't even let your mind wander to imagine what the kitchen of the lodge looks like. cockroaches are attracted to water.

Then, that nigh while we were trying to sleep, an animal was walking on the wall that enclosed our room right above our heads. It was positively terrifying!! We could hear it breathing, smacking its mouth and all we had was a thin mosquitoe net between us!! Needless to say we didn't get much sleep while we were there.

Anyway that was our intro to the Sandoval lodge and it pretty much set the tone for our stay there.

You do see a lot of wildlife. After all, you are living amongst it. There was even a tarantula's nest right outside our room door in the garden and this thing was the size of a rabbit. Actually we saw many tarantulas in the garden, as well as poisonous snakes and killer ants of different variety. On the dock in front of the lodge, don't even think about dangling your legs in. There are pirañas and a very large cayman that lives under there. We noticed him one day which kind of freaked us out but our guide just nonchalantly told us " oh ya, his name is coco. He's always under there." It would have been nice to know. If you want to see wildlife, you have come to the right place just be ready to live with it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Magellansmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed at the Sandoval Lake Lodge for 3 nights in January. For us. We did not find the hike in to be too bad, but rather, it added to the adventure. You have to consider where you are and what you are doing. It's definitely not the Four Seasons. But for a lodge in the middle of the wilderness, we felt that it was very well appointed and took care of all of our needs. Be aware that the walls do not go all the way to the ceiling, so privacy can be limited. It didn't really bother us all that much as we were exhausted and falling into bed each night! This lodge felt very authentic to us and we both loved spending the hot afternoons sleeping in the hammocks in the common area. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for an authentic adventure in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sarahbean108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Two nights at Sandoval Lodge were included in a recent group tour I and two friends were on. If a traveller is fairly fit, it is the most gorgeous spot. We were met at the Maldonado Airport, taken to the lodge's office in Puerto Maldonado where we could store luggage not needed and also were outfitted with rubber boots. This tour of South America was for the retired so our ages ranged from mid 60's to 70's. Once we got to the lodge, the rooms, the meals, the day and evening tours were just great, especially considering that all supplies have to be brought in by paddled canoe. Just some of the wildlife seen were tarantulas, the lake otters, two types of monkeys, toucans, caymans,and too many to count gorgeous butterflies. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Filtered water was provided and tea and coffee available at all times. I would have two cautions. Even tho' we only used filtered water for drinking and brushing teeth and we avoided salads, fresh fruit, and also used hand sanitizer liberally, a few of us got sick, one with giardia requiring medical care. I wonder if it may have been that untreated water was used for washing dishes, where parasites like giardia can still survive. When we looked into the kitchen, dish washing and food handling were not optimal. My other caution was the physical ability needed to actually get to the lodge. The 2 boat trips were fabulous and so picturesque. But the stairs, formed into the earth, at Puerto Maldonado were quite slippery; other stairs involved were at odd angles or quite steep. There is then the trek involved between two of the boat trips--we were told it was an easy 3 km. It was not. It was muddy and slippery; and all the twists I'm sure meant that it was way longer than 3 km. We are all good walkers but, in the muddy, hot, humid conditions, this walk, wearing the rubber boots we were told we had to wear, took us 1.5 hours in. On our early morning cool walk out the walk took an hour.

Room Tip: All rooms open onto the balcony so all locations basically the same. Noise carries easily between th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aussieNY62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I will start by acknowledging that this place is a little pricier than some alternatives, but it is well worth the extra cost. We booked with the Green Tambopata agency in Puerto Maldonado the day before we left for the jungle, and between the tour guide we booked through them and the accomodation here, our stay could not have been better.

The location of the lodge makes it a clear winner... Just getting to it is a fun experience!! It's about an hour by boat from Peurto Maldonado down the Rio de Madre, then a 3km walk through a trail in the jungle and then by a paddle boat through the mangroves and across Sandoval Lake. Once you arrive everything is on your doorstep.

The lodge itself had nice but basic rooms, and the electricity was more than enough for us to charge everything. Having said that we took two adapters between us to use as we knew the electricity was limited. As other reviewers have pointed out, this is the jungle and about as exciting as it gets. Don't get hung up thinking about the occasional bug you might find in your room... they cannot touch you once you are under the mosquito net over the bed! The lodge has done everything they can to keep most of them out so you shouldn't have a problem anyway.

Our guide, Paul (booked through the Green Tambopata agency) was both friendly and extremely knowledgeable. He made our experience there perfect! We saw too many birds to mention, went caimen spotting in the dark, saw river otters playing about and feeding, we fished and then ate our catch of yellow piranha and lizard fish for lunch, we then went swimming in the lake (despite it being full of piranha, caimen and having the occasional anaconda and stingray it is apparently safe enough - and we're living testimony!!) we saw (and climbed) massive trees, we did a nocturnal walk and saw all the jungle's creepy crawlies and then on our last day we went to another lodge to zip-wire through the tree top canopy and kayak to Monkey Island.

The food is served at set times, so if you are used to grazing through the day you might want to take a small amount of supplies. Fresh drinking water is freely available so bottles can be re-used. The food served is of a high standard and we had some of our best meals in Peru here!
The only slight negative is that my husband and I wanted to stay up one night to have a couple of beers, but the staff member with the key to the bar had decided to go to bed early at 8:30pm despite it supposedly being open until 10pm. My husband politely pressed the matter though and the key was fetched without any trouble.

Activities generally start very early in the morning til 1pm, and then start again at 4pm as it is very hot. Much to my husbands delight the staff all play football in a small clearing in the jungle shortly after lunch. Guests are invited to play as well. It is quite something to be able to say that you played football with local jungle natives whilst monkeys in the trees above looked down curiously!!! This was as good as it could get for my husband!

On our early check-out from the lodge we stupidly left an Ipod and mobile in the bedside drawer and didn't realise until we arrived back in Peurto Maldonado early evening. With help from the tour agency we arranged for someone from the lodge to bring them all the way to the Port in Peurto Maldonado the following morning and Paul, our guide, collected them for us and tried to bring them to us at the airport before our flight left at midday. However our airline decided to leave early so we missed the drop-off. To cut a long story short though, both the lodge and Tambopata were instrumental in us being able to retrieve these items from Lima airport before we left Peru. For this reason alone, we cannot fault the customer service at Sandoval Lake Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cabana Quinta
Hotel Cabana Quinta
#1 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heath River Wildlife Center
Heath River Wildlife Center
#7 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
65 reviews
24.8 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Monte Amazonico Lodge
Monte Amazonico Lodge
#10 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
110 reviews
16.5 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
856 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge
#11 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandoval Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandoval Lake Lodge

Property: Sandoval Lake Lodge
Address: Puerto Maldonado Peru, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandoval Lake Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandoval Lake Lodge: Located deep in Peru's Tambopata National Reserve, our Sandoval Lake lodge overlooks sparkling, palm-rimmed Sandoval Lake, the most beautiful and wildlife-rich of all lakes in Tambopata-Madidi. This privileged location gives you exclusive access to the lake in the early morning and late afternoon, the choice hours for wildlife viewing and photography. No other lodge in Tambopata-Madidi is on the banks of a protected oxbow lake. Our short Sandoval Lake Lodge program includes two nights of fully-screened accommodation in 25 double-occupancy rooms complete with en suite facilities with hot-water showers, electricity (*), fans, meals, airport transfers in Puerto Maldonado, naturalist guides, lake excursions by day in search of Giant Otters, monkeys, and macaws, forest excursions, night excursions in search of caimans, and evening slide shows. Our lodge specializes in small groups and individualized attention in our overriding quest to conserve the lake and surrounding rainforest. Sandoval Lake Lodge is built out of ecologically-correct driftwood mahogany and is owned jointly by a nonprofit conservation group and five families of indigenous Brazil nut collectors. (*) Three times per day: from 5:00 to 6:00 am, from noon to 4:00 pm and from 17:30 to 22:30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sandoval Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandoval Lake Hotel Puerto Maldonado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing