We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with a great location”
Review of Sotupa Eco House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sotupa Eco House
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at Sotupa in octobre, taking the 4d/3n programme. We were picked up at the airport by our friendly guide Ifra. Our stay at Sotupa was great. The staff was very nice (especially Raoul) and rooms were clean. Although the lodge in itself was rather basic (they are still improving the infrastructure), we had everything we needed. The location is fantastic, with a beautiful view over the river and a nice hang-out place.However, the food could have been better in a sense that it could be more varied. Breakfast, for example was very simple, and everyday the same. We also missed a dessert or a piece of fruit after lunch or dinner. Another detail was that we couldn't lock our door or didn't have a safe place to leave our valuables.

The programme was very good, though the first 2 days were a bit less interesting and felt like we had to do something to just fill our time. However, the other days were great and we saw and did lots of cool things.

We can definitely recommend Sotupa if you are looking for a nice place in the middle of the jungle and want good value for your money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wesdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelBentin, Gerente at Sotupa Eco House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

We are glad that you had a good experience with us. Thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

Sotupa introduces you to a magic environment inside the Peruvian selva through hiking tours, mountain bike, kajak and more! It was amazing to discover the animals and plants of the selva with awesome guides and then, back to Sotupa, find a welcoming atmosphere of Mayte and Jeanpierre and their kind staff. Definitely we're going back for more adventure and relax!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelBentin, Owner at Sotupa Eco House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

We are glad that you had a good experience with us. Thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Even before we'd arrived I felt like everything had been arranged. I wanted to enjoy my vacation and not have to plan each and every day in a region I was not familiar with. Sotupa organized everything from airport pickup, to meals, and even snacks while out on excursions. Each day included hikes, boat trips, kayaking, or canoeing with a local, knowledgeable guides giving us a real insider experience. The accommodations at Sotupa were better than I expected. The lodge wehre we stayed was spacious and immaculate with all the conveniences you'd expect -- even a refrigerator in room. And did I mention the views? The guest lodge has panoramic views of the Rio Tambopata, screens to keep bugs out but window hatches that allow nice, cool breezes to flow through the cabin. The property is gorgeous and well-designed, built right into the landscape giving you a feeling that you are nestled in nature, without disrupting its harmony. The property has hammocks, sun decks with gorgeous views, picnic tables and access to great hikes just a few steps from the property. The staff was more than hospitable. They provided us with impeccable service and attention, handling all of our needs from arranging for us a ride when we wanted to go out on Friday night in the city to even setting up an Ayahuasca journey with an experienced and reputable native shaman. We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at Sotupa, the warmth and friendliness (not to mention attentiveness) of the staff, and the beauty and comfort of our surroundings. I hope to return again to this magical place. We really felt our trip was executed perfectly and professionally by a team of people who were very much concerned with providing us the best experience possible! Cheers Sotup Eco House! Well done.

Sincerely,
Tristan Montoya

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tristan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelBentin, Owner at Sotupa Eco House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Sotupa Eco House is located in the middle of the peruvian nature. It has beautiful bungalows with view on the river. We enjoyed the location and familiar service of this eco house managed by a young couple. The guide was excellent and we were able to see many animals and medical plants.

We can only recommend this experience!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelBentin, Owner at Sotupa Eco House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you for your lovely comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schokomuffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Francisco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank louisleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Maldonado hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#3 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cabana Quinta
Hotel Cabana Quinta
#1 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
197 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge
#11 of 62 in Puerto Maldonado
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Monte Amazonico Lodge
Monte Amazonico Lodge
#10 of 62 in Puerto Maldonado
123 reviews
24.3 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 62 in Puerto Maldonado
848 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ecoaldea Kapievi
Ecoaldea Kapievi
#2 of 22 in Puerto Maldonado
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sotupa Eco House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotupa Eco House

Address: Carretera Tambopata | Km. 11,5, Puerto Maldonado 17001, Peru
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: £75 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sotupa Eco House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sotupa Eco House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing