We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After 5 days in the Manu Reserve area with minimal electricity, anything would be good! LOL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tarantula Eco Hostel
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The bed was fine. The shower was hot. Breakfast was good. The Wifi worked. Abdel was nice enough to pack the bow and arrow set that I'd purchased from the Matsiguenka Tribe inside a pvc pipe so I could bring it home on the airplane as packed luggage.
Playing with the neighbor's monkey, Lula (and several of her chums) was worth staying here just for that.
Our experience was very good!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCaptSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a great time at Tarantula Hostel. The room was clean, the bathroom ok. The pool was really nice and the owner, Abdel really nice with us! The breakfast was actually really nice, compared to some more fancy hostel in bigger city, We took a tour with the hostel, 2d/1n in the jungle, it was awesome! We had great times on Sandoval lake and in the forest.
The hostel is a bit far from town though, don't pay more than 8 soles to go in taxi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here for one night and it wasn't enjoyable. The rooms weren't great and there were loads of bugs coming in from somewhere. At one point a tarantula was actually in the room - we had to get the owner to come and deal with it. When my husband went to the bathroom in the night he found three frogs in there and there were giant ants at the bottom of my bed. I took a taxi into town (which isn't close) to have a look around and was told by the hostel owner that the driver spoke English but he didn't at all.

To be honest, I couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My friend Sarah and I wanted a true adventure in the jungle, and were wary of so many online or even in travel guides that seemed lame. Well, we had a great adventure at the tarantula lodge. The hostel was totally fine. It was clean, the food was great, there is wifi. But we were able to book a tour through the hostel to lake sandoval. it was amazing - we had to hike through the jungle to get to our lodging, we canoed around the lake, we saw monkeys and giant river otters, huge fish, caiman, dozens of birds -- all in the wild, not in a conservatory. It was epic. Great place and not overrun with tourists! It was also an amazing price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Tarantula hostel is a friendly and nice place. Not the cheapest in town, but the prices are agreeable. The location is very good for travelers. Five minutes by taxi from the busstation and ten from the centre of Puerto Maldonado. Far enough to be away from the honking cars and close enough to grab a bite in town. It is not in the middle of the jungle, but the place is surrounded by weaverbirds. We even spotted some monkeys and other animals.

The owner is very friendly. Two examples:

After a busride of ten hours we arrived at the hostel at 21.00, feeling tired and hungry. 'No problem', said the owner. His wife went to the kitchen at once. Half an hour later dinner was served. The meal was simple and tasty, just what we needed.

Example two: After a jungle trip of five days we went back to Puerto Maldonado. We booked the nightbus back to Cusco. It was still in the morning. That would be eight hours of waiting for us. Although we left the Tarantula lodge five days ago, we decided to go down there and ask if it was possible to wait there. 'no problem,' said the owner again. 'You can use the WiFi, the bathroom... My house is your house.'

That is Peruvian hospitality. While I am writing this, we are still waiting. Before we leave we can eat here aswell. Probably his wife will be cooking again. I am already looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogierNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

It's wonderful place with the nature, and the animals; parrot, tarantula, monkeys, dogs, butterflies... we have spent there 5 amazing days. the hostel stuff are so pretty we spend too many times with these nice people. I can recommend everybody for this place. by the way it is so cheap for Maldonado..

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pasa13131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

There aren't many options for cheap lodging in Puerto Maldonado, but this is definitely one of the best. I switched to the Tarantula Hostel after experiencing a night in the Tambopata Hostel and was so happy I made the change - the Tarantula Hostel has beautiful surroundings and is located outside the city center, so you don't have to worry about noise. However, this means you'll have to take a mototaxi for a few soles to get to the Plaza de Armas.

A friend and I were staying in a room with 3 beds, but they only charged us for 2 people. The windows all had screens over them which meant we didn't need mosquito nets and could still get some nice airflow in the room. The breakfast was delicious and was different every morning - rolls with butter and jam, pancakes, or toast with fruit, and a different fruit juice every day. The hostel has a scarlet macaw and a red-and-green macaw that live out on the porch, and there are monkeys that like to stop by - a fantastic sight to enjoy during breakfast! The owner spoke both Spanish and English and he was very nice - he helped me look for the tarantulas that the hostel is named for! The only downside was that the floor of the shared bathroom we were using got dirty very quickly and there wasn't always toilet paper, but after asking we were promptly provided with some. I would definitely recommend this hostel for anyone spending a few nights in Puerto!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephl301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Maldonado hotels
1.9 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
244 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pirwa Maldonado Hostel
Pirwa Maldonado Hostel
#29 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
19 reviews
23.3 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
797 reviews
0.0 mi away
D"Milez Hotel
D"Milez Hotel
#6 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
8 reviews
8.9 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarantula Eco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarantula Eco Hostel

Address: Av. Aeropuerto Km. 1 S/N | Av. Faucett, Puerto Maldonado 51, Peru
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: £14 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tarantula Eco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house made entirely of concrete. and large green areas with swimming pool and hammocks, who make this place the best of Puerto Maldonado, where to find the Tranquil you are looking for your vacation and is ideal for meeting other travelers. As our guest you have access to all areas of the hostel as our pool, hammocks, TV Room., Dining room, Bar and all our green area of ​​2 hectares for a walk around, and observe different species of monkeys, insects, birds, among others, that we have in our area of ​​conservation of flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Tarantula Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing