We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
La Torre Inn(Puerto Maldonado)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cabana Quinta(Puerto Maldonado)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Torre Valsai(Puerto Maldonado)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Puerto Amazonico(Puerto Maldonado)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
D"Milez Hotel(Puerto Maldonado)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Centenario(Puerto Maldonado)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Sandoval Lake Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (815)
    Filter reviews
    815 results
    Traveller rating
    562
    174
    60
    15
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    562
    174
    60
    15
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewslake valenciacanopy walklake sandovalpiranha fishingplunge poollunch menuadditional costbutterfly houseminute boat ridethree nightslaundry servicecanopy tourriver viewnight walkamazon experienceceiling fanmosquito netting
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    554 - 559 of 815 reviews
    Reviewed 10 August 2011

    We stayed here for 3 nights following a week's hiking in the Andes with Mountain Lodges of Peru. We booked this hotel through Meike at Imagine Latin America and were consistently impressed with the fabulous recommendations she made and with how smoothly the whole trip went. The main public components of this hotel are an eco-lodge, where lectures take place and the excursions begin, a large lodge for the dining room and bar, including a mezzanine area for relaxing and dozens of cabins, built in the same stilted thatched hut style. The hotel's ambiance is wonderfully in keeping with the jungle surroundings, such that the luxury experience did not detract at all from still feeling "in the heart of the Amazon jungle". The cabin was very atmospheric, with 2 hammocks, oil lamps, and a huge mosquito net over the bed. We were kept wonderfully cool at night by a large ceiling fan (which was as efficient as a/c). The hotel food was excellent - fresh, tasty and inventive, with different choices at each meal.

    The excursions were varied and it was great to be able to fit in 3 different trips each day. My only criticism is that we would have liked one or two more challenging outings with a lot more active hiking in the rainforest. Guests are grouped for the excursions. We began in a group of 10, which was too many for effective guidance through the flora and fauna. Other groups comprised only 4 or 5 guests. We were moved into a smaller group when we asked, and this was far better.

    • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Lis-Clara
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 August 2011

    Rooms as comfortable as you can get in the middle of the jungle. Excellent service from very attentive staff and the restaurant somehow manages to serve amazing food. Informative and experienced guides make for interesting excursions. Only downside is that excursions are quite similar and not very active.

    • Stayed: July 2011
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank bikiniamber
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 August 2011

    Individual cabanas equipped with excellent beds, well protected against bugs, plenty of hot water and surrounded by the natural beauty and sounds of the rainforest. Perfect setting for a great short vacation in Tambopata Reserve. Service was excellent, food unexpectedly good and amenities diverse, allowing free time to rest. Guides´ work was more than satisfactory. Highly recommendable if planning to visit Peru´s jungle.

    • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank ndealmenara
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 August 2011

    We a family of four, spent 3 nights at this wonderful serene place within the rain forest.

    I must say, this has been an extremely memorable experience. You stay in the rain forest, surrounded by the sounds of birds and insects. You will feel like a pampered guest in animal territory. The trails organized by the management are wonderful experiences to understand and experience the ecological diversity, the birds and nature itself.

    The staff are very friendly, knowledgeable and they pamper you so much that you feel bad leaving.

    The boat excursion to the Sandoval lake was very adveturous, beautiful and we captured the sights of animals, creatures and beautiful birds.

    Even the food served is high standards. Some of us were vegetarians and they were flexible enough to provide us some very good options

    • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank dileepsri
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 July 2011

    Just get yourself to Puerto Maldonado, and everything else is taken care of for you. A van picks you up at the airport and brings you to check-in at an eco-building with a butterfly sanctuary, where you are given passion fruit juice and towels to freshen up, and then the van takes you to a boat that will bring you to the lodge (about a 40 minute boat ride).

    The central lodge building is a magnificent wood structure with a thatched roof, and wood pathways lead to the multiple cabanas on the property. There are different levels of cabana luxury...we opted for the riverfront cabanas and were very happy with our choice. Each cabana has a separate screened-in area with hammocks, chairs and a small table.

    Upon arrival you are assigned a guide who gives you detailed info about each excursion so you can plan your stay appropriately. Each guide has several clients that they are working with, and most likely you will end up making friends with other the guests who choose the same excursions as you, as well as your guide. We never had more than 6 people on an excursion. None of the tours were what I would consider to be difficult.

    All meals are served in the main lodge, and the food was wonderfully refined and sophisticated. The hours of service were also very reasonable so we never had to miss a meal.

    We opted to stay one night in the canopy tree-house. This was done at a considerable upcharge but it was a very interesting experience. The canopy tree house is a tiny "house" built in a treetop 10 stories above the ground. The only way to get there is via a narrow suspension bridge so if you are afraid of heights this will not be your thing. The system of suspension bridges are anchored at two platform "towers", and you have to take a boat to get to the towers from the main lodge area. The canopy treehouse stay came with happy hour (freshly made pisco sours, what else?) and dinner. Dinner is atop one of the towers that is connected to the treehouse via the suspension bridge. The meal is prepared in the main lodge and brought over by boat so it was quite a feat to have such a delicious meal served to you so high up in the trees. The food was wonderful and is served to you by a private waiter in a white coat. The waiter, along with your guide, spends the night in a small lodge at the base of the tower, and you are given a walkie-talkie so if you have any problems you can call them for help. We had no issues at all during our stay.

    Overall, Reserva Amazonica was a wonderful experience!

    Room Tip: Opt for the canopy tree house for 1 night
    • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank ElevenBus
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews