We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the jungle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Luxury in the jungle”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel consist on comfortable and very romantic private cabanas (some of them closer to the jungle forest, and some others with great views over the river). No TV, internet, or hair-drier in the room: you are in the middle of the jungle! And a common area, where is ubicated the dining room, where all the meals are served (included in the price).
The hotel also offers about 8-10 excursions, with different duration, difficulty, and popularity. We had a bit of everything: we joined the very popular night excursion (Twilight River) to watch caimans (that could have been a very nice excursion, but it was a little stressful because of the amount of people that were going together in the boat, most of them talking loudly, and therefore frightening the caimans). But we also had the Canopy Walkway, with only the guide, the two of us, and a family with their kids, a more reasonable number of people, allowing us to learn and enjoy. And the wonderful Gamitana Creek excursion, this was a private excursion for us, and it was simply wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elga-tromso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    159
    52
    14
    3
See reviews for
184
351
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here in April 2014 for 3 nights. We had a cabin overlooking the river but set far enough back not to worry about being washed into the river as there were signs of extreme erosion from previous floods. The cabins were extremely comfortable with large beds with mosquito nets over, proper bathrooms and hammocks in the outer flyscreened area. The staff are very friendly and everything is well organised. Each day there were excursions which were included in our package but there were other options for additional cost. We didn't bother with extras as we had a pretty full itinerary anyway. This camp is not deep in the rainforest so we did not see loads of animals but we did manage to see two types of monkeys and were very lucky to see river otters. The food was good and the Pisco Sours were amazing. A good way to get a rainforest experience without roughing it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at our property and appreciate your kind comments.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I expected my stay here to consist of adventurous excursions, deep in the jungle, during the day and luxury accommodation at night. Neither of these expectations came true.

You're given a pamphlet with all of the excursions when you first arrive. After lunch you are taken aside by the guides in individual groups and given detailed explanations of the selected excursions available during your stay. Note, not all of the excursions in the pamphlet will be available during your stay. Each excursion is given a difficulty ranking of I-III and in some exceptional cases (e.g. poor weather conditions) a IV. My boyfriend and I are both young and adventurous and were hoping to truly see the Amazon during this trip. We did a level IV excursion, and it really wasn't hard at all. There were two 60 year olds on the excursion with us... So if you are looking for a truly immersive experience in the jungle, this is not the place for you.

We thought, even if we weren't getting the adventure we hoped for, surely we would get the luxury we were promised. Disappointed again. The cabanas were unairconditioned (the resort is an eco-lodge), but they had fans. The fans were weak at best and you will spend your nights sweating. The cabanas are open (no glass windows, only screens), so there is limited privacy. They shut off the electricity for certain hours of the day, during which hot water will not work in the shower. Given that this is the Amazon and that the cabanas are nearly outdoors there will be bugs. Big bugs. So be prepared. Apparently this is as luxury as it gets in the Amazon. But if you are used to true luxury, then go into this with an open mind.

The food was mediocre. Lunch has a preset menu that is the same everyday (10 options). Dinner changes everyday with only has 2-3 options. The dinners were terrific. They were authentic and truly Amazonian. The lunches were not. They all seemed defrosted and inauthentic. I would have preferred a dinner-type menu at lunch time.

Finally, I felt the guides were good, but could be better. Often they would only share information when probed with questions first. They seemed overly focused on animals and insects. I would have liked detailed information about the flora as well. There are so many different types of moss, trees and such in the Amazon. I would have liked to learn about some of these.

The lodge guests are almost only American.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getatmeindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Well, our two night experience was a mix of the good and the okay. To begin with, the service at this place is absolutely top-notch. They cater to all your needs and wants to make your trip as pleasurable as possible. However, there are a few inherent changes they could make to make the experience much better. Firstly, they need to do more the combat the heat - especially in the cabanas. There are fans in the 'suites' but they work at a very slow speed which does not do enough for the heat and humidity. Secondly, the food in the restaurant could me more authentic to the Amazon. It was rather generic and I felt I could be eating this in any part of the world. I was expecting some food which was more Amazonian. On the positive side, they do feed you quite a bit and the drinks are also quite delicious. Thirdly, I think they have a few more excursion options to chose from which are more different from each other. Additionally, they could also talk about the plants which the excursions take you around - a lot of them are focussed on the animals and seem to forget the amazing vegetation which makes the Amazon.

All in all, I think my experience was very good but could have been made much more enjoyable if the conditions in the rooms could be improved.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sid13Ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay and appreciate your feedback that will help us to keep improving our service.

We would also like to thank you for your kind comments for our staff that is always willing to assist our guests in anything they may need.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This place is spectacular. The staff go above and beyond to make sure that your time in the rainforest is wonderous and eyeopening. The cabanas are built by local contractors, and are designed to be authentic Peruvian houses. From the moment we arrived on the property, we were made to feel welcome and we quickly formed our little group for the activites over the next three days. This is was a highlight of our stay--to meet folks from different parts of the planet, and to become a group. Our guide, Leon, taught us so much, and I would love to be his student for a month of excursions into the beautiful landscape. Cocktail hour and long, lingering conversations over rustic tables with dim lighting were another highlight!

Room Tip: try for a "river front" cabana. nothing better than complete silence, broken by the flow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senior_Roberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijas
Level Contributor
241 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I realise that this hotel is on the edge of the Peruvian jungle, so it is going to be difficult to run as a first class hotel. But there were some basics that I think could be better addressed. At present the electricity goes off at 15:00 to 18:00 in order to conserve fuel for the generator. But this is exactly the time when people are returning from their trips and want to shower, but there is no hot water. Why not cut off the generator at 10:00 to 12:00 and again at 14:00 to 16:00, thereby gaining an hour over the present downtime but avoiding inconvenience to guests? There is nowhere in each cabin to keep your clothes dry from the humidity that is omnipresent. So after a couple of days every item of clothing you take with you is thoroughly damp. It took us 2 days to get our clothes dry after we left this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
138 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It is am amazing experience to visit the Amazon Basin, and I think the Inkaterra Reserve is an excellent place to have the experience. The rooms are rustic and appropriate for the area. There are mosquitos that do attack, but deet can help minimize this. Guides on different excursions we took were all excellent.
Unfortunately I am suffering from Turista which I am sure is from the bacon I had this morning. We also couldn't eat the fish we ordered both nights because it was overly chewy and had a very pungent taste. Everything else was fine.
The setting is beautiful and I am not sorry I stayed there (once I get over the Turista).

Room Tip: All the cottages are good. The location on the premises doesn't really matter. Be sure to put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RugglesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We would like to assure you that Inkaterra works with the highest standards for handling and manipulating food, we train our staff so we can give our guests the best experience during their stay. We will review our process to guarantee our quality.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments for our accommodation (cabañas) and for our guides who love to share their knowledge to our guests.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
9.6 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#3 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
33.4 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 56 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
5.0 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#2 of 56 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 56 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
24.6 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
2.0 mi away
Monte Amazonico Lodge
Monte Amazonico Lodge
#13 of 56 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Property: Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Address: Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and pristine, yet easily accessible; a welcoming haven of 494 acres, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica offers a range of land and river excursions that introduce guests to the magic of the rainforest, including the spectacular 1,129-ft. long and 100-ft. high Canopy Walkway, which allows an incredible experience from over the tree tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica Hotel Puerto Maldonado
Reserva Amazonica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing