We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Meh...”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Don't get me wrong this lodge provides an excellent service for the majority of the type of clientele that frequent it; but for us, a reasonably young couple, the Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica felt like a retirement home for people with a vague sense of adventure. None of the excursions are particularly arduous, and my pregnant wife completed most with ease. Most of the excursions are based around the lodge itself. The lodge is not in the national park - I can only say what I experienced (over 4 nights!) but the lack of wildlife was somewhat underwhelming. We were blessed to have a rare encounter with a gorgeous anteater and also caught fleeting glimpses of wild macaws, otters and caymans but that is all. I appreciate that things in a jungle are not guaranteed - but I take it from the guides themselves that wildlife seekers are best off visiting the Tambopata National Park.

My other gripe is the fact that seemingly the best sounding excursions with guaranteed wildlife encounters - Lake Valencia and ornithology - required additional payment. The reserve does not come cheap and at the very least these excursions should be offered to all guests as part of the standard package.

Can't fault the enthusiasm and knowledge of the guides though. Food was OK.

The accommodation was great. The jungle is humid so no surprises about the humidity in the rooms - and the mesh screens augment the jungle experience.

Top tip for wildlife seekers: if you're feeling let down by the lack of things to gawk at there are 2 beautiful macaws with broken wings being cared for on the lodge grounds. This information isn't necessarily offered to you, so ask. You can take photos and no one will ever know it was staged.

Room Tip: Definitely worth asking for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yusuf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    164
    53
    14
    3
See reviews for
194
357
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Taken by boat for a hour upstream from Puerto Maldonado, this place is remote with nothing else nearby. You may see the odd boat going past transporting wood etc but apart from that you're alone in the jungle!

Rooms are large dark wooden cabins, with an open, but netted front porch complete with hammocks. As they are open to the air, I love that you could drift off listening to the sounds and smells of the jungle.

There is no electricity at certain parts of the day and night, which does mean you can get very hot and sticky, but that just adds to the experience (my dad, 70, hated it though). It also means that at twilight you can't see anything until the lights come on, so have no choice but to sit and enjoy the jungle around you. No TVs or anything either, you have to make your own entertainment!

The main lobby/large round tree house where they serve the communal meals is impressive. You can go to a mezzanine level and sit in little cubby holes, sipping on Pisco sours and nibbling on Peruvian nibbles before dinner. The meals in general were pretty good, but as it is remote, there is only the choice of 2-3 dishes a night.

The best part about Inkaterra lodges (I stayed at the one at Machu Picchu too) in my opinion is the organised activities. There were a great number here, mostly of them free, and divided by difficulty and how long they took. We did the canopy walk, which is about 20 minutes' walk through the jungle to high walkways suspended VERY high up in the tree canopies (not for those with vertigo), an excursion to Lake Sandoval to see giant otters, about an hour's walk in the jungle, and my parents did orchid farms etc. My favourite one was one I did by myself, which was a full day trip to the Brazil border to a lake 3 hours upstream where we fished for piranhas. This we had to pay for, but boy was it worth it! One of the best experiences of my whole life.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rastnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Carrollton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our two evening stay in a deluxe casita on the grounds. We had multiple daily options for touring the river or jungle trails. I will always remember our sunset trip w/a boat excursion on a fresh water lake in a jungle reserve. The sunset over the water & the exuberance of the birds in the trees will be memorable.
I was amazed at the warm shower & how comfortable our bed was under the netting. Slept both nights like a log. Got dark on the property early!
Courteous staff was appreciated.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mr. Boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel was more than I expected, the boat ride, to the rooms to the daily excursions, it was a great once in a life time experience. Our guide was informative and senstive to our needs. The "huts" were comfortable and spacious. The main dining room was a structural delight, while the food was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcia0254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We are delighted to know that we exceeded your expectations and appreciate your kind comments.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here for our honeymoon! Great lodge, food was amazing, three courses for lunch and dinner. Only criticism was that it was too much food. The guides were great, very helpful. Catered each tour to the group. We saw lots of wildlife. Make sure you do the Sandoval Lake tour. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKJAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us; we are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you again in a next occasion.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica during your honeymoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel consist on comfortable and very romantic private cabanas (some of them closer to the jungle forest, and some others with great views over the river). No TV, internet, or hair-drier in the room: you are in the middle of the jungle! And a common area, where is ubicated the dining room, where all the meals are served (included in the price).
The hotel also offers about 8-10 excursions, with different duration, difficulty, and popularity. We had a bit of everything: we joined the very popular night excursion (Twilight River) to watch caimans (that could have been a very nice excursion, but it was a little stressful because of the amount of people that were going together in the boat, most of them talking loudly, and therefore frightening the caimans). But we also had the Canopy Walkway, with only the guide, the two of us, and a family with their kids, a more reasonable number of people, allowing us to learn and enjoy. And the wonderful Gamitana Creek excursion, this was a private excursion for us, and it was simply wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elga-tromso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here in April 2014 for 3 nights. We had a cabin overlooking the river but set far enough back not to worry about being washed into the river as there were signs of extreme erosion from previous floods. The cabins were extremely comfortable with large beds with mosquito nets over, proper bathrooms and hammocks in the outer flyscreened area. The staff are very friendly and everything is well organised. Each day there were excursions which were included in our package but there were other options for additional cost. We didn't bother with extras as we had a pretty full itinerary anyway. This camp is not deep in the rainforest so we did not see loads of animals but we did manage to see two types of monkeys and were very lucky to see river otters. The food was good and the Pisco Sours were amazing. A good way to get a rainforest experience without roughing it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at our property and appreciate your kind comments.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
9.6 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#3 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
133 reviews
33.4 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#1 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
818 reviews
5.0 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#2 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
163 reviews
2.0 mi away
Monte Amazonico Lodge
Monte Amazonico Lodge
#10 of 57 in Puerto Maldonado
110 reviews
24.6 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Property: Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Address: Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and pristine, yet easily accessible; a welcoming haven of 494 acres, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica offers a range of land and river excursions that introduce guests to the magic of the rainforest, including the spectacular 1,129-ft. long and 100-ft. high Canopy Walkway, which allows an incredible experience from over the tree tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica Hotel Puerto Maldonado
Reserva Amazonica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing