We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is a wonderful place to spend time near the jungle but still have comfort. All the staff was friendly and helpful. The tours were also very fun. I recommend going to Lake Sandoval, it is a bit of a trek but worth it!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Fitchmallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel has wonderful staff, very helpful and courteous. Upon arrival you are given a booklet with all hotel information. It's all inclusive hotel price - full board and many selection of tours. The guide that my group had, Ivan, is very knowledgeable and wonderful. I have no complaints about the hotel, staff and services. I think when you offer a tour to see animals in the wild, the risk is always there for you not to spot anything at all. So, I can't complain if we didn't see much during the tours.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ipong3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We arrived here on our second day in Peru after spending the night in Cusco at Inkaterra La Casona. We were eagerly awaiting the jungle and we were not disappointed. We chose a private guide and then proceeded to explore all the property had to offer. The wetlands, the medicinal trek, the canopy tour and twice into the jungle at night. I was particularly interested in photographing land snails and tarantulas. Was not disappointed on either account. Probably because we had the most amazing guide - Hugo. I have had many private guides and he was one of the best. He could find almost any creature and his knowledge of the jungle was amazing. This is an excellent introduction to the Amazon and Hugo is world-class!

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband, 10 year old daughter and I recently stayed at the Inkaterra. The staff were waiting for us when we arrived at the airport and took us to the Butterfly house which was literally round the corner which gave our daughter something to do while formalities of checking passports etc were completed. We then took a 10min ride to where we boarded the boat and then a 45min ride down the river to the camp. We were only one of three families checking in so the process was very quick. Once at camp we were given a refreshing drink and had lunch before we were shown to our cabin. Cabins are close together and only have screens so noise could be an issue however it did not bother us. Rooms are large with comfy beds and mosquito nets although we did not have any issues with Mosquitos (maybe after living in Texas we are immune!) and a deck with hammocks which is nice for relaxing. We had booked the suite which came with a plunge pool and outdoor shower which was very nice. We realized this is an Eco lodge and the pool was outdoors but it was dirty but did not stop us from using it. We were then introduced to our guide for the trip Gusto who told us about the different excursions, we chose to go caiman watching at night which was great, we saw plenty of caiman, a family of Capybura and lots of information about the area and wildlife. We also chose to go Piranha fishing, although this is an additional cost it was an unbelievable experience, 10 hours through rivers, creeks and lakes seeing macaws, sloth, birds and then fishing for piranhas. We caught white, yellow and red
Piranhas which the chef prepared and served us for lunch along with a buffet, wines, beer and sodas. The whole day was amazing and the guide Luis was very knowledgeable and great with children. My daughter really wanted to do the canopy walk but we were leaving the next day, Gusto got up extra early to allow us to do this and took us out very early. Although the weather was raining which meant we did not get to see monkeys we did see a Toucan and the experience of being 300ft off the ground was well worth the early morning hike. The food is a set menu with a few choices for each meal, but considering everything has to be brought in my boat there was ample to eat and drink and food always tasted good. One thing to mention, United lost our bags and told us they had no way of getting our bags to our hotel as it was out of their region, we told Inkaterra upon arrival and they delivered our bags directly to the room, which United claimed they could not do. The airport is part of the jungle experience it is very basic and traditional but my daughter loved the whole adventure. Overall this was a great adventure, different, eye opening albeit a little expensive

Room Tip: Suites have plunge pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank brittexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wow! For me, this was the highlight of our trip to Peru. I can't tell you how much I enjoyed our stay here. Logistically, the hotel has it totally sorted and well organised from the moment you walk out of the Airport at Puerto Maldonado. We arrived at the hotel after our 45 min trip down the river and were taken straight to the dining room for a late lunch. By the time we got to our cabana, our bags had been safely delivered. We had time to relax before heading back to the central area, where we met our guide, Leon, who was awesome! Planned our activities with him for the next three days and, boy, did he deliver. So much knowledge, passion and enthusiasm for the jungle, it's flora and fauna. We were bowled over by the amount of different wildlife we saw with him. Cabanas were simply furnished, but very comfortable. Loved the porch area where we could chill out in the hammocks with the gas lamp on, just soaking up the atmosphere of the jungle. We were lucky to have a cabana right at the riverside. Can't tell you how relaxing it was dozing off to the sound of the jungle and river in bed each night! Staff at the Lodge were fabulous. Food was excellent. I'm glad we opted for the three night package, which meant we could take it all at a slightly more relaxed pace. The whole experience totally surpassed my expectations and was really special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us and for your kind comments for our facilities and service.

Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

So we stayed in the main lodge in rooms 1&2. Head read some negative reviews about noise level...but really its a great location if you like to get up early and drink coffee. Rooms were super! Included meals- breakfast was good; lunch was very good (both buffet); dinner was a'la carte, was good but a bit rushed...service overall was very good. Tour guides- I think we lucked out with Angel- he took his time; explained animals, plants, bugs etc to the kids. Really patient. Saw some other groups rushing through their jungle tours. Night boat ride for alligators was awesome. Canopy walk- frightening- but outstanding; Amazon jungle hike was great! All transport and checkin was seamless! Well done great place!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank TONI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Most of the people stay here as part of the two day (three night)itinerary and that is what we did as well. Wish we stayed a day or two longer. Nevertheless in the time we had we did get a great introduction in Amazon and much of it is due to the meticulous organization of every aspect of the stay by the Inkaterra stuff.
As we arrived from Lima there was a bus waiting for us to take us to the boat. The boat takes another hour to get to the lodge. Rapid sunset enhanced the feeling of the isolation you get as the boat takes you down the river with nothing to see but the forest. The baggage found its way to our rooms unnoticed.
Although the rooms do have electric light, kerosene lamps are used through the complex at night. Looks very nice and it reduces light pollution witch gave us an incredible view of the Milky Way, something my boys never saw like this before.
The food was very good and the three course dinner always offered a dish option which was inspired by the local food. Since the tours start early breakfast are early too. If I could suggest one thing it would be the espresso machine. Cappuccino in the jungle, now that would be decadent.
As I said the tours start early and since the animals are early birds (and not just the birds)there is no way around it. However that is why we were there. You get your own assigned guide who will try to plan an itinerary with you as soon as you arrive. I know that some people companied that this was a bit rushed but I looked up the available tours online and knew what we wanted to see weeks in advance. We did the Lake Sandoval (a lots of fun even though it entailed hiking through the heavy mud - that kind of made it more fun), the canopy tour (it is not likely you will see many animals since they do their best to hide, but try to enjoy the whole ecosystem, after all it is mostly made of plants anyway), the night tour and the apex of the whole vacations(for my boys at least) the piranha fishing trip at Lake Valencia. Our guide, Jesus, was truly someone who was palpably enjoying his work.
Due to the uncommon cold wave (Hawaii cold!) we have seen more giant tarantulas than mosquitoes. Nevertheless the cabins are fully netted and provided with the citronella extract to use as the natural repellant.
Great vacation made possible by very professional and friendly stuff. Great job.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank kpandza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
9.6 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
245 reviews
4.9 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
375 reviews
33.4 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#5 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
180 reviews
24.6 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
895 reviews
10.2 mi away
Green House Tambopata
Green House Tambopata
#4 of 63 in Puerto Maldonado
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica

Address: Rio Madre De Dios Km15, Puerto Maldonado, Peru
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: £278 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote and pristine, yet easily accessible; a welcoming haven of 494 acres, Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica offers a range of land and river excursions that introduce guests to the magic of the rainforest, including the spectacular 1,129-ft. long and 100-ft. high Canopy Walkway, which allows an incredible experience from over the tree tops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica Hotel Puerto Maldonado
Reserva Amazonica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing