We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Nearby Hotels
La Torre Valsai(Puerto Maldonado)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
D"Milez Hotel(Puerto Maldonado)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Centenario(Puerto Maldonado)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Sandoval Lake Lodge(Puerto Maldonado)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Hotel Cabana Quinta(Puerto Maldonado)
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel Puerto Amazonico(Puerto Maldonado)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    La Torre Inn(Puerto Maldonado)
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (815)
    Filter reviews
    815 results
    Traveller rating
    562
    174
    60
    15
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    562
    174
    60
    15
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewslake valenciacanopy walklake sandovalpiranha fishingplunge poollunch menuadditional costbutterfly houseminute boat ridethree nightslaundry servicecanopy tourriver viewnight walkamazon experienceceiling fanmosquito netting
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    325 - 330 of 815 reviews
    Reviewed 16 August 2014

    We stayed 4 nights and had plenty of time to enjoy all the adventures. The other reviewers really catch the essence of all there is to offer at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, but I'd also like to give a shout out to the calm and relaxation that the resort provides. Parakeets inhabited a tree near my cabana, and one afternoon I was able to watch three monkeys playing in the tree right behind it. Our guide Luis was so intuitive to our interests and he went out of his way to make each excursion personalized. I can't praise him enough! The trip to Lake Sandoval was incredible, and Luis was determined that we would all see the glorious Giant Otters before we left. Of the ten nights we were in Peru, these were my favorite and that's saying a lot because I'm not an outdoors person. Stay here, turn off your phone, and enjoy life. This place is magical!

    Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here. Some people say that staying by the river is wonderful, but we were by the jungle and I saw more wildlife than I could count. No bad rooms!
    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    2  Thank Dawn R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

    Dear guest,

    We would like to thank you for sharing these positive comments about your stay that encourage us to keep providing our guests with authentic nature experiences.

    We hope to welcome you again at this or other Inkaterra property.

    Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 August 2014

    We stayed here for 2 nights in July 2014 - the rooms are beautiful with hammocks to laze about in on an enclosed balcony, seperate shower and toilet. On arrival we had lunch which had a great choice of delicius food, that evening we took the twilight trip to view caymans, day 2 we went Piranah fishing - we really enjoyed this, and our Guide Jesus made the day even better, we saw sloths, monkey's, punk chickens, caymans and a number of different bird types, butterflies. The trips are excellent with this resort and they will go out of their way to ensure you ge the best out of them. The food was good very tasty and loads of it. I would recommend to bring warm clothing with you esp for the early morning trips as it can be quite cold. We were delighted to get back from our dinner to find hot water bottles in the beds - such a treat. Sammy their resident tapir is lovely and friendly and the kids loved her. I would love to go back and stay here longer, its a lovely peaceful placeand not having tv, wifi etc gives you time to switch off & completly relax.

    Room Tip: We were in room 38 which was quiet - you can hear people getting called for their tours in the morning and having showers, but not talking in the night like other people had complained of!
    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    2  Thank CorHIreland
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

    Dear guest,

    We are glad you had a great experience at Inkaterra and that you keep great memories about your stay. Your kind comments encourage us to keep working on providing our guests with authentic nature experiences.

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 August 2014

    Although they have been around since the 1970s, the premises are up-to-date jungle chic. The staff all speak good English and the restaurant? Superb! Fish steamed in a bamboo pole and exuded to your dish at the table with a flourish! Every candlelight dinner was a culinary adventure. As for sleeping accommodations, we wished we could take our cabana back! It was backwoods style luxury- hammocks, recycled rubber tyre slippers and all. We were hit by a cold spell when we visited in winter and we were thrilled to find hot water bottles in our beds at night. No wifi and electricity only twice a day but we didn't miss it. The jungle treks and boat excursions kept us busy all day and we fell into a restful sleep soon after sunset. The jungle guides were a treasure with their encyclopaedic jungle knowledge and gentle humour. The highlight for us was the pirahna fishing. It was an optional extra but worth every cent. Do not miss it! Paul our guide made sure we got to a spot where everyone on board (even the novice fisherman) caught at least 5 pirahnas each! A resort chef accompanied us on the boat, prepared our bait (yes, luxury style fishing) and cooked our catch at a nearby village stop while we swam in the lake. Never knew that pirahna could taste so good! There are other lodges along the Madre de Dios but Inkaterra is clearly the most established and the best. These guys know what they are doing!

    Room Tip: All the cabanas are wonderful but don't choose one next to the river. The Madre de dios is receding and some cabanas have collapsed into the river during the flooding season. Not a good idea to pick the treehouse. Very cramped and not like what is advertised in the brochures. The cabanas are way more comfortable and safe.
    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank ShirleyGoh55
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ecommerce_manager, Ecommerce at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

    Dear guest,

    Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Inkaterra.

    We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you keep great memories of the hotel facilities, food, service and excursions.

    Thank you for staying at Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica during your visit to the Amazon rainforest!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 August 2014

    We stayed here for 3 days, as part of a 2 weeks family holiday in Peru. The reserve is easily reached from Puerto Maldonado by riverboat (we were picked up at the airport by their staff). The location is beautiful, on the Madre de Dios river. The rooms are spacious and well furnished. There is no television, no wi-fi or phone signal (while my wife and I were delighted with this, my daughter was not!). There is no electricity after 11pm but that did not bother us - you have to accept that you are in the middle of the jungle. The public areas and the general layout are lovely. We loved the food. The staff are all incredibly friendly. We saw loads of wildlife (we did a half-day hike and boat ride to Lake Sandoval, a sunset boat ride on the river, a rainforest canopy walk, and a walk around the reserve itself for a couple of hours). We could have done more if we wished - there are piranha fishing and bird watching trips that other guests enjoyed - but we also wanted to take things a bit easy. We saw lots of caymans, capybaras, agoutis, tapirs (Sammy the friendly resident tapir!), river otters, sloths, howler and tamarin monkeys, and lots and lots of birds. The guides on these trips were very friendly and knowledgeable (we went with Ruber and Paul). It was winter, in the middle of a cold spell, and we were not troubled by mosquitoes or bugs.

    Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the river
    • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank SB2007
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 August 2014

    Our guide was great, paddled the lake under the torrid sun all the way for us to see otters, wonderful birds, wood peckers, macaws, he spotted them miles away and would do his best to take us to them. Even gave us an extra trip to go watch the parrots come to feed in the morning, without him it would still have been an amazing stay, all staff were helpful, food very good, cabanas elegant.

    • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Jjendub
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews