We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”
Review of Yakari Eco Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Maldonado
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yakari Eco Lodge
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

+:
>clean bungalows
>food: tasty& no stomach problems after 3 days
>activities: canopy adventure, kayak, monkey island (we saw a lot of monkeys), fishing,..
>guides & staff

To improve:
>communication about activities (we somethimes didn't know what activities would follow)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dimitri_de_Belgica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Ending up staying here because we arrived in Puerto Maldonado homeless with absolutely no plans.

The Lodge:

1. Privacy: very little. The huts are screened rooms all the way around from the waist up (I’m 5’4”) and there are no curtains. Two huts are connected together via the bathroom (the only part of the hut without screens except for the small window). If you’re over 6 ft tall, you can easily look over shower wall into you’re neighbors bathroom. There is no separation above the shower wall either, you can hand your neighbor a bar of soap. If bathroom privacy is a concern to you then don’t stay here.
2. In room electricity: about 1 to 2 hours worth every night.
3. Food: The food was not bad but it became repetitive eating the same dish the majority of the time.
4. Staff: Mostly fun and pleasant. I did enjoy speaking with them and they were very helpful when we wanted to change our plans and go back to Cusco a day earlier than originally planned. They called into town and Rose refunded a nights stay and changed our plane reservations for us. My only complaint is our activities coordinator was a little too friendly with the ladies. For example, he tried to give a couple of girls shoulder massages, without warning he stroked my face with is finger with the extract of a fruit that is used in makeup, he followed one girl around like a puppy. At times it became awkward. I’m not there to feel uncomfortable. And there was no escaping him, your coordinator (guide) takes you on all your activities and eats all meals with you.

Activities:

1. The “rainforest cloud walk”: well we were in a rainforest, but not in the clouds and not that high up so the presentation was misleading.
2. Zip lines: there were only two zip lines and they were almost horizontal so nothing special or thrilling there.
3. Fishing: the few who caught anything had to throw them back as they were too small to keep.
4. Monkey Island: We never went because our guide told us there were no more monkey's left on the island... what???
5. Night time jungle walk: Others may enjoy this but I guess it just wasn’t my thing. If I’ve seen one creepy crawly I’ve seen them all.
6. Night time caiman search/sky watching: This was awesome. I’ve been to one other jungle lodge in Belize before this and looked up at the night sky but this was the most amazing view of the Milky Way that I’ve ever seen. It was also the first time I’ve ever seen the bottom half of the moon lit up (verses the left or right side). Oh and we also spotted two small caimans.
7. Local tribe visit: This was disappointing. While the family was nice, we were led to believe we would be visiting a native family that truly lives the way their ancestors did. When we got there and sat down to listen the head of the family, several of us noticed a lighter behind some of the animal skulls. I wanted to grab it and light the fire for them when I got bored after waiting 15+ minutes for them to try to start a fire with two sticks; clearly they aren’t lighting fires that way anymore. We also noticed the tan line of a watch on the man’s wrist and a stove was somewhere on the property. Clearly this family had modern conveniences, which is fine, but then they shouldn’t sell us on this being a genuine native family visit.
8. Animal Sanctuary & Sandoval lake: A storm rolled in the night before and the day was still pretty wet and cold so I didn’t take part in these. I heard the sanctuary was nothing that special but Sandoval lake and the area birds were really nice to see so I’m kind of bummed I missed that.
9. Farm visit: I think we just walked in a small circle and a few fruit bearing trees were pointed out.

If you go to the Amazon via Puerto Maldonado you may want to check out other places. You’re not missing anything by not staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MotorCityAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had the best time in the Yakari lodge, the place is very pleasant, the lodge are cabana mounted on piloti and are very well build and clean. The guides and all the staff are very knowledgeable about their environnement and great personnality and activity were great fun, few exemple are pyrannas fishing, adventure in the forest or caimen tour...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SulawanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones al pie del camino que introduce a la selva son muy excelentes para descansar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Everest8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Maldonado hotels
0.6 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
244 reviews
9.9 mi away
Monte Amazonico Lodge
Monte Amazonico Lodge
#10 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sotupa Eco House
Sotupa Eco House
#1 of 23 in Puerto Maldonado
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge
Wasai Maldonado Eco Lodge
#12 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
211 reviews
28.2 mi away
Chuncho Lodge
Chuncho Lodge
#7 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
83 reviews
24.2 mi away
Refugio Amazonas
Refugio Amazonas
#2 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yakari Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yakari Eco Lodge

Address: KM 10 Rio Madre de Dios, Puerto Maldonado 5182, Peru
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing