We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Refugio Amazonas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Refugio Amazonas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We are a family of 4, with 9 and 11 year olds. It was a lovely hotel in the middle of the jungle. The food was varied and very good. They were kind enough to make something just for my son when he didn't like what was on the menu.

The staff was wonderful. Your guide sits with you at all meals which we enjoyed. He was extremely knowledgable and would educate us before going on our outings. The rooms were kept very clean. The bartender made great drinks.

The rooms are beautiful with one side being open and facing the jungle. The large downside is you hear everything your neighbors say. We had the joy of listening to some teenage girls singing loudly and off-key with their headphones on. Make sure to get a room at the end where you will only have one neighbor.

We were disappointed with the amount of wildlife we saw, especially at the clay licks. We sat for 2 hours by a clay lick where you are supposed to see macaws. We saw 4, a mile away, and they did not go to the lick. We did get to see some river otters while we waited which was nice. At the mammal clay lick we didn't see anything. I expected to see more monkeys and birds in the jungle. We did happen upon a Peruvian Rainbow Boa.

While the wildlife may have been a bit disappointing, the jungle was amazing. Everything is huge - the plants, ants, trees. Our guide had a wide range of knowledge and made our hikes fun as well as educational.

My son is very well traveled and this is the only place he asked how long it would take to save his allowance so he can come back again.

No one can guarantee wildlife sightings so the only thing of control over is where to stay. I would definitely stay here again. It was a wonderful way to start a 3 week trip in Peru.

Room Tip: Be on the end!!! The rooms have no ceilings and three bamboo walls. You can hear EVERYTHING in the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lizzie942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
There are newer reviews for Refugio Amazonas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were not sure what to expect but the lodge was excellent - very clean food good even a fully stocked bar - the boat trip up to the lodge was very quick and interesting - we did night cruises to find Caymen and then nature walks in the morning - our guide Yohan was amasing - he knew all the animals and flora - thank you

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mparr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Refugio is a nice lodge with excellent service. The guides were extremely knowledgable and could explain and highlight many interesting thinghs about the location. The transfers were well organised and seamless.

However, for us there didn't seem to be the wildlife that we expected either mammal or otherwise.

One day we spent several hours visiting the lake and the only real thing of interest we saw were some bats on a tree. Another day we spent several hours visiting a mammal clay lick and the only thing we saw was one wild turkey. We climbed the canpoy tower another morning and although it was a nice view, we didn't see anything bar a few butterflies. When we visited the McCaw clay lick we did at least see some McCaws but they were at a considerable distance and never came down to the lick.

Things we did see:
We did see the Caimans at night, big water rats on the transfer in, a brief glimpse of a couple of Tamarind monkeys, a tree frog, tarantulas and cicada (grasshopper).

If you temper your expectations of the wildlife you might expect to see and enjoy more of the narrative provided by the excellent guides then you might really enjoy the experience. However, if you expect to see more you may be somewhat disappointed as we were.

We spent several hours in transfers, took Malaria tablets and had a yellow fever vaccinations as well as spending extra on binoculars clothing etc. In retrospect if I had the time again I would have extended my trip to visist Colca Canyon or somewhere instead as the extra effort and cost did not warrant our expections of the experience.

Many reviews have lauded the quality of the food but we were not particularly impressed with this.
We found it was often luke warm, that there was a very limited choice and that it quickly ran out if you were not quick in the queue. My wife also got sick here.

I recommend bringing your own shampoo. When we were there it was extremely hot and humid and you will certainly want to shower often. We ran out of shampoo by the second morning and despite asking never received any more.

In summary it's a nice place with excellent guides and service from the staff; however make sure weigh up the cost and effort involved in getting here with your expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrayNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestExp, Owner at Refugio Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thanks for your review. We are really sorry that the rainforest trip didnt meet your expectation.
The Amazon is not a consistent wildlife destination. Some weeks are great, others not so much. We do try to temper wildlife expectations with this chart http://www.perunature.com/rainforest-expeditions-wildlife-sightings.html based on last years wildlife sightings. Please let me know if you think that does the job, or what we can do to improve it.

Regarding the food, again, despite being 20 years in the business, we still mess this up on occasion, and we apologize. We try to temper expectations for food choice by offering a fairly complete list of our menu here: http://www.perunature.com/peruvian-recipes.html. Because Peru is such a great food destination, we literally describe our meals as "self serve 3 course meals" and stay away from words such as gourmet.

Finally running out of food, is an issue of logistics, more than an issue of budget. Were trying to solve this with an automatic purchase order generator and are testing and fining it. It would be of great help it if we could get in touch with you personally so we can understand what date you were there and we can fine tune the problem and also try to figure out why you got sick. My email is kurthollef at gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Coming back from an early morning jungle adventure, lying on the bed, listening to the sounds of jungle life, half asleep, half adream. That's what I think of when life seems difficult back at home. The lodge fits perfectly into the environment, the staff are friendly and attentive, food is fine, and drinks are cold. it's not easy to get to, but that's all part of the adventure - arriving by river in the dark wasn't the plan but it all added to the excitement. We captured (on camera) tarantula, piranha, bullet ants: but probably just as well our son didn't see whatever animal came into his room and nibbled away at the apple carelessly left out overnight. The jungle and hotel was still his highlight of the whole Peru trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GRB238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our trip to Refugio Amazonas kick started our three week visit to Peru. It is a brilliantly organised lodge and Miguel and his staff keep it ticking over like clockwork. The food was excellent and plenty of it, the accommodation was very good (albeit a bit unreliable with hot water) and the general layout and amenities really helped the social side of what time we had to spare. Everything seems to have been thought of and the guides (Erick and Enzo for our group) were excellent. It was a shame to leave after only three nights but we had to move on. The Refugio Amazonas can be recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PompeyDave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestExp, Manager at Refugio Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thanks for your review of Refugio Amazonas. We are sorry that your room had some problems with the hot water service, we are improving the hot water service in our lodge. In hot days a cold water shower can be also quite refreshing :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is the most beautiful relaxing resort! The staff is incredibly kind and helpful. Throughout the stay you are taken on fun adventures including bird watching, hiking, canoe rides, educational trail walks. Upon returning you are always greeted with a smile, snacks and a drink. The buildings themselves are beautiful with one wall removed so the relaxing sounds of nature are always present. The staff is top notch. Very kind, helpful and knowledgeable. Willing to help in any way needed. Always excited to help us learn the local culture. Worst part about the resort is that i had to leave. Was far beyond expectations. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have a hammock. Ask staff to put you in a room with one. :)
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Would recommend this place to anyone. We had a fantastic time, our guide was excellent with probably the best excursion being the Macaws. The service was great and all round a very enjoyable experience in the jungle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
9.0 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 20 in Tambopata National Reserve
875 reviews
22.5 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 20 in Tambopata National Reserve
531 reviews
33.4 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
353 reviews
38.5 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
173 reviews
32.3 mi away
Monte Amazonico Lodge
Monte Amazonico Lodge
#10 of 61 in Puerto Maldonado
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Amazonas

Address: Av Aeropuerto | La Joya km 6, Puerto Maldonado 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: £407 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Refugio Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refugio Amazonas is the latest addition to Rainforest Expeditions Tambopata portfolio. As a charming 32 bedroom lodge, it is well placed immediately adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Its location is ideal for stand alone three night experiences and for breaking the expeditions to and from Tambopata Research Center. Refugio Amazonas is built on a 200 hectare private reserve on the buffer zone of the Tambopata National Reserve. It is becoming integrated to the communities of Brazil nut extractors that surround it, attempting to extend the benefits of ecotourism to the families committed to sustainable forest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Refugio Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refugio Amazonas Hotel Puerto Maldonado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing