We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Refugio Amazonas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Refugio Amazonas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is different to most places I have visited. The actual building is amazing, all made of wood, and the rooms... Well, what surprised me most was that they had no outer walls!! So you are in direct contact with the forest and all its sounds, amazing! The bathroom is another surprise... The guides were good, and the walks very pleasant, if you like nature and wildlife. Have a look at the pictures to get an idea.
Make sure the wellington boots you use don't have a crack like mine did!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    143
    28
    14
    4
See reviews for
198
318
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

An amazing experience, we were well looked after from pick up at the airport for the duration of the stay. Our guide was brilliant and the lodge very comfortable with friendly staff. I wasn't up to doing all the trips but enjoyed watching the wildlife around the lodge and a relaxing massage! There was plenty to eat, though the food was a little repetitive, but for a remote location that was fine. The wellie boots provided were definitely needed for the outings. Re Jonathan C's comment - make it a torch and a headlight, very convenient to be hands free to sort things after the oil lamps are turned out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Supergranbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

If you are worried about "roughing it" in the jungle, then this is the lodge for you. The lodge has a nice mix of feeling like you are in the middle of nowhere, but are also comfortable and have everything you need. All meals and activities are included which is nice too. The meals were buffet style and were satisfying and filling. The drinks at the bar were also great too especially to cool off after a hot day. The rooms have 3 walls and the last is open to the outside which gives you a nice feeling of being in the wild. The mosquito nets over the bed were definitely necessary though!

Our guide, Jaime, was great and very knowledgeable. He took us on many tours including a night boat ride to see the crocodiles, a canopy tower climb, hikes to nearby clay licks, and we even got to swim in the river (although it made me nervous). The hammocks at the lodge were relaxing as well, and with all the activities plus the heat, it was perfect for an afternoon siesta :)

While the experience was great, it was also tiring so don't be afraid to skip an activity to enjoy the lodge if you are feeling tired. I wish I had had another day as the trip went by so fast.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristina423x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millicen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

The sustainability focus left us with some doubts. Lodge built from drift wood and dead timber is a little unbelievable

Having said that the facility is beautiful. The open plan rooms are great experience and the nets over the beds are most appreciated. There I'd

Unfortunately the day trips did not live up to expectations the activities are a little tired and could do with some revamping. Furthermore, the farm visit was another let down. It lacked authenticity and appeared to be contrived.

All meals were good

Wifi is limited and lacks strength to open online banking

Most staff were excellent, the manager Miguel was a fine host

Room Tip: All rooms the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestExp, Public Relations Manager at Refugio Amazonas, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing our lodge. As for sustainability it is important to mention that all the three lodges (including Refugio Amazonas) of Rainforest Expeditions are verified by Rainforest Alliance.
This certification is a tool to encourage progress towards the responsible use of natural resources and promote a healthy market system that values sustainable production, sourcing and consumption and equitable trade.
The Rainforest Alliance Verified mark proves that we are buying products and services from businesses that care about their impact on the planet and local communities and have taken measurable steps to reduce that impact.
In 2009 Rainforest Expeditions embarked on a tough course of action: verification by Rainforest Alliance. It took us two years, but we made it! Tourism businesses that have signed a verification agreement, achieve a score of at least 50% on their verification performance evaluation. Our 3 lodges reached more than 75% of what is required for verification. This verification was the first in the entire region of Madre de Dios, Peru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip as part of our tour of Peru and it was unbelievable. Right from the start it was exciting - a small local snack on the way to the river port. Then a wonderful trip up river to the camp. They provided food and drink on the boat. The lodge is amazing, really relaxed and all staff were great. We were welcomed with cold drinks and damp towels - ultra humid.
Our guide, who stays with you during the entire visit from breakfast to dinner that night was excellent. Fantastic English and great local knowledge, not to mention a super human ability to spot tiny creatures for us to look at.
All activities were great and the food was good, catering for our vegetarian needs. In addition, they made a birthday cake (unprompted) for my girlfriend! Wonderful touch.
The rooms won't be to everyone's taste, however I enjoyed feeling like I was part of the jungle. You do hear other people snoring through the walls but that's fine. We were so active and up so early that we were exhausted and could sleep through anything.
Bathroom was more than adequate considering where we were - just remember a torch.
Would love to go back again

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed in the Refugio Amazonas from 10/8/13-10/11/13. This place is amazing. I am so ticked off by some of the reviews on TripAdvisor - didn’t see enough wildlife, luke warm food, not enough selection, unreliable hot water??? Seriously, what do people expect in the middle of a jungle???
Once we landed in Puerto Maldonado, we, along with few other tourists were met by our tour guide Jaime and taken to the office about 5 minutes away to store our bigger pieces of luggage. Only a backpack is highly recommended for your trip to the lodge. If you haven’t done so already you’ll get about 15 minutes to re-pack your stuff. After that, you take a 45 minute bus ride to the little village of Infierno (Helll) where you get on a boat. The boat trip is up stream and takes about 3 hours with a brief stop at a check point. You sign your name and passport number into a log book; this is how they keep track of people entering the Tambopata National Reserve. This is where they used to stamp your passport with a cool jaguar stamp but that is no longer being done.
Once we arrived at our final destination, it is about a 10 minute walk to the lodge. Bigger pieces of luggage are carried to the lodge by porters. Once at the lodge, we were greeted by the staff and the lodge manager Miguel aka. Michael. After a brief orientation about the lodge rules we were shown to our rooms.
The rooms have beds with mosquito nets, table, a couple of chairs, hammock and a separate bathroom with a shower, and of course one side is open out to the jungle. Very nicely decorated and clean. The electricity in the lodge is powered by a generator and on only from 12pm – 1pm and 5:30 pm to 9:30pm (sometimes 10pm). Majority of the rooms only have candles and kerosene lamps. Rooms number 1-8 are considered deluxe and have electricity during the designated hours.
The food was plentiful, tasty and served buffet style. They even accommodated vegetarian and gluten-free diets. You are assigned a table with your guide, and your group. Our group had a total of 8 people, and the only thing I would recommend is making the groups a bit smaller for better wildlife viewing.
We saw macaws and many other birds, capuchin monkeys, turtles, capybaras, agouti, tarantulas, beetles, frogs and butterflies. Quite a few reviews complain about not seeing enough wildlife, the animals don’t sit around and pose for tourists so if you are expecting wildlife at every corner, I would recommend going to the zoo instead.
Our guide Jaime was great and very knowledgeable but so are most of the guides in Refugio Amazonas. They see things that we typical tourists would never pick up on.
The day is packed with activities such as nature walks, clay licks, visit to a fruit farm etc. it was all so exciting we couldn’t get enough. It was a wonderful experience and I would do it again in a heartbeat.
Thank you to Miguel who does a superb job running this lodge, Jaime our guide who was simply awesome and answered all my non-stop questions, Cristian with whom my husband went on a jungle bike ride, and all the wonderfully friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Well designed lodge but getting there was not smooth. Having flown to Puerto Maldonado and being met by the Lodge, we were taken to their office and kept for 2 1/2 hours waiting for the arrival of other passengers. Then it was a four hour trip up river so we got to the lodge after dark, missing half day of activities and scrambling in the dark to unpack. Room was great as were the other facilities at the lodge. Disappointed that we did see much wildlife after all the effort of getting there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shyamala84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestExp, Public Relations Manager at Refugio Amazonas, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your review. There are 5 flights in different schedules flying to Puerto Maldonado daily and sometimes we need to wait for other guests to fill in our boats’ capacity. Unfortunately in your case the flight of the other passengers delayed and that’s why you arrived late to the lodge. We are sorry for your inconvenient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
33.4 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 54 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
9.1 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 22 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
22.4 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 22 in Tambopata National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.5 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 54 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
23.5 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#2 of 54 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
31.9 mi away
Monte Amazonico Lodge
Monte Amazonico Lodge
#12 of 54 in Puerto Maldonado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Amazonas

Property: Refugio Amazonas
Address: Av Aeropuerto | La Joya km 6, Puerto Maldonado 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Refugio Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refugio Amazonas is the latest addition to Rainforest Expeditions Tambopata portfolio. As a charming 32 bedroom lodge, it is well placed immediately adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Its location is ideal for stand alone three night experiences and for breaking the expeditions to and from Tambopata Research Center. Refugio Amazonas is built on a 200 hectare private reserve on the buffer zone of the Tambopata National Reserve. It is becoming integrated to the communities of Brazil nut extractors that surround it, attempting to extend the benefits of ecotourism to the families committed to sustainable forest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Refugio Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refugio Amazonas Hotel Puerto Maldonado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing