We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Refugio Amazonas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Refugio Amazonas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights. The rooms were very great. Clean. The beds were comfortable and the showers were warm. The food was good for a remote location. Healthy. Wished the food could have been a little warmer at times but understand the location makes it more difficult. Our guide, Erick was the best. He was very professional, knowledgeable, fun, warm & cared for all our needs. He kept us busy and we saw wild life of every kind. What a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    143
    28
    14
    4
See reviews for
198
318
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We spent 4 nights in the Refugio Amazonas. The lodge was very comfortable and the food was nice too. Our guide Julio was very well trained and knowledgeable as a passionate about his job so it was indeed a very pleasant stay, we would have stayed one more week!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatriz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed three nights here Apr 2014. Despite the wet weather, an interesting and worthwhile visit. Lodge itself is very comfortable, although not all rooms are the same (yet). Some do not have lights in the bathroom, or doors, while others do. The lodge is in the midst of standardizing this. Thin walls and high ceilings result in noise transfer issues and if your neighbour snores heavily......... Most tend to be considerate of neighbours however. Food was VG, if somewhat limited in variety. Breakfast could be much better by simply having scrambled eggs avail every am, not just occasionally. Well stocked and reasonably priced bar. The main reason for visiting is to see the rain forest and no disappointment in that area. Guides are all very well trained and knowledgeable and the wildlife cooperate as well as can be expected in the wild. A very enjoyable visit.

Room Tip: No guarantee but ask for fully finished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestExp, Public Relations Manager at Refugio Amazonas, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Visitor,

Thank you for reviewing our lodge, this helps us improve our on site services. We now offer two types of rooms: standard and superior (the ones with doors and electricity in the room). It is important to select which type of room you want at the booking.
We are also working on improving the food variety.

Hope to see you again in Tambopata soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Wow what an experience! I had no idea what to expect. Such a wonderful place and we had a fabulous time. No tents in sight and amazing food. Wasn't carried away by bitey things either. Who knew trudging through the jungle mud in gum boots was so much fun!!! There were early starts and some treks were strenuous but invigorating and who wants to stay in bed when there's a whole jungle out there waiting for you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Thanks to my brilliant travel advisor I spent the last week of my wonderful retirement trip here. Defintely one of the best parts of the holiday. Loved the immersion in jungle atmosphere and the enthusiasm of all concerned. There are two grades of room - one lot with and one without electricity. I was lucky enough to try both: the ones with electricity also have a hammock, which is blissful for quiet jungle-watching; the ones without electricity (kerosene lamps and candles supplied) are quieter - something about reduced lighting encouraging reduced wakefulness? Both have only 3 (8' high) walls, very high roof and the 4th side open to the jungle - thanks to really good mozzie nets insects are not a big problem at night, though the aguti and the macaws can be noisy. Be prepared for early starts, afternoon rests and nighttime trips - and stay as long as you can.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

this place was amazing. our boat ride let us see the beauty of the Amazon from the river. ate an yummy lunch on the boat ride. beyond what we were expecting. our guide was so knowledgable about the animals and the rainforest. the fruit farm was delicious. the night walk was a must do!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lenemachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The experience we had at Refugio Amazonas was indescribable. It was so nice to be in the middle of nowhere and disconnect from the world. While the property did have WIFI, it wasnt a great connection so you had a lot of time to rest and connect with the people you traveled with. The accomodations were great. We had a room that had electricity so that was convenient. The food on the trip was great and accomodated our vegetarian traveler well. Even though we had to wake up early, the daily tours were great! Naun was a great host as well!! I definitely recommend this place, and I hope to go back one day!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
31.6 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
33.4 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#2 of 54 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
9.1 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 22 in Tambopata National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 22 in Tambopata National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
38.5 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 54 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
23.5 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#3 of 54 in Puerto Maldonado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Amazonas

Property: Refugio Amazonas
Address: Av Aeropuerto | La Joya km 6, Puerto Maldonado 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Refugio Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refugio Amazonas is the latest addition to Rainforest Expeditions Tambopata portfolio. As a charming 32 bedroom lodge, it is well placed immediately adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Its location is ideal for stand alone three night experiences and for breaking the expeditions to and from Tambopata Research Center. Refugio Amazonas is built on a 200 hectare private reserve on the buffer zone of the Tambopata National Reserve. It is becoming integrated to the communities of Brazil nut extractors that surround it, attempting to extend the benefits of ecotourism to the families committed to sustainable forest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Refugio Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refugio Amazonas Hotel Puerto Maldonado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing