We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent adventure!”
Review of Refugio Amazonas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Refugio Amazonas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Out jungle experience in Peru was everything we hoped for and beyond what we had imagined! The staff is passionate about their environment and very enthusiastic to show us the large and small creatures of the river and jungle. While it took a night of adjustment to fully appreciate our three-walled room, we loved the exposure to the wilds of the near by jungle. Yes, critters did make a few visits but that was just fine. The meals were good and it was a pleasure to sit with our guide and our group of six hikers. We rose early every day in order to be on the trail by six to take full advantage of the morning appearances of the wildlife. In the dense jungle it is imperative to have a knowledgable guide as the camouflage of the birds and monkeys makes them difficult to see. But once spotted, they were amazing! Of our thirty days in Peru, Refugio Amazonas was a absolute highlight.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 850 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Spent 4 days/3 nights in April with my family and two kids (10 & 8). Read their website thoroughly and you will have no surprises. No electricity in room, candles and lantern only. Take a flashlight. The excursions were amazing. We went to the Macaw Clay lick and saw literally 60 macaws in e trees, then in flight. Just amazing. The night tour is great to see the other animals. Highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Choose an end unit for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ocdolphingrayneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It's a surprise, a paradise in the middle of the jungle. Love factor #1, the entire lodge is built with natural materials, amboo, logs, etc. Love factor#2, it's a super green place. electricity is available at certain hours only. But hot water in the bathroom is available 24/7. Love factor #3, romantic atmosphere in the night, carosine and candle light are the only source during the night, in the walkways and sleep room. Love factor #4, no windows, no doors, You sleep in moisquito net in the sleep room. Like camping, breathe fresh air. Love factor #5, healthy food selection. Had fresh tropical fruits every day. Love factor #6, super freiendly staff! LOVE them!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if sound has an impact on your sleep. No insulation between rooms. You can hear all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Crystal808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Refugio was an amazing experience. The owners have managed to develop this place within the Rain Forest without damaging it. The experience felt so real - no formal structure on the walks except for the Canopy Tower, so when it rained the steps and pathways seemed enveloped back to nature. Sally was our guide - she had such specialist knowledge of flora and fauna. We saw a harpie chick, the macaws at the parrot clay lick and the impressive leaf-cutting ant. From the smallest to the largest it was awesome. Thanks to Don Manuel for sharing his farm - please make sure his nephew and nieces care for it with his passion. I feel so privileged to have shared this moment in time. Thank you. Accommodation and food brilliant - and all the staff very welcoming and kind.

Room Tip: With one wall open to the Rain Forest it is far from quiet - but sleep quickly before you here littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJuneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed hear at the end of April 2014.

Yes it takes some time to get there, but the boat ride is a relaxing one.

The property is surrounded by the sights and sounds of the rainforest. The main lobby restaurant area is very good and easy to navigate.

I found the rooms amazing. It was like 5 star camping. Very earthy and in touch with nature. I love the fact that rather than a window it was completely open. Felt closer to nature. Also all the rainforest sounds did not prevent me from sleeping.

Highly recommend this nature getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainforestExp, Public Relations Manager at Refugio Amazonas, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thanks for your review. We glad you enjoyed your stay in Refugio Amazonas and the wildlife surrounding this place. We hope to see you again in Refugio or in one of our other Amazon lodges.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Refugio was fantastic from start to finish. Our guide, Jackson, was brilliant. He knew everything about the flora and fauna, was so informative and was able to spot some amazing things. I will never forget the harpie eagle and chick we watched. We had fabulous excursions in the jungle and on the river by day and night, spotting among other things, caiman, monkeys, macaws, toucans and a tarantula! The lodge itself is beautiful. I loved our open room with its hammock. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was great. As a vegetarian, they catered for me very well and my meat-loving partner was most satisfied with his fare too. it was my birthday while I was there, which I mentioned casually during the day and in the evening a huge cake with candles appeared! Be prepared for this trip: strong insect repellent, cover up clothing etc. The rooms are very comfortable with hot showers etc. Lighting in the bedrooms at night is low (kerosene lamps and candles) which is sensible as it doesn't attract so many insects, as one side of the room is open to the elements. I would love to go back one day and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our stay at Refugio Amazonia was everything we expected. Our guide, Eric, was knowledgeable and enjoyable. He showed us many things we would have missed without him. The hikes through the jungle were the best, and the food was great, too.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mifoodtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Maldonado
24.8 mi away
Sandoval Lake Lodge
Sandoval Lake Lodge
#1 of 10 in Puerto Maldonado
244 reviews
28.9 mi away
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
Inkaterra Hacienda Concepcion
#1 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
366 reviews
33.4 mi away
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
Inkaterra Reserva Amazonica
#3 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Tambopata Research Center
Tambopata Research Center
#1 of 20 in Tambopata National Reserve
545 reviews
9.0 mi away
Posada Amazonas
Posada Amazonas
#2 of 20 in Tambopata National Reserve
889 reviews
38.5 mi away
Amazon Planet
Amazon Planet
#4 of 64 in Puerto Maldonado
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Amazonas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Amazonas

Address: Av Aeropuerto | La Joya km 6, Puerto Maldonado 084, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Puerto Maldonado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Maldonado
Price Range: £423 - £536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Refugio Amazonas 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refugio Amazonas is the latest addition to Rainforest Expeditions Tambopata portfolio. As a charming 32 bedroom lodge, it is well placed immediately adjacent to the Tambopata National Reserve. Its location is ideal for stand alone three night experiences and for breaking the expeditions to and from Tambopata Research Center. Refugio Amazonas is built on a 200 hectare private reserve on the buffer zone of the Tambopata National Reserve. It is becoming integrated to the communities of Brazil nut extractors that surround it, attempting to extend the benefits of ecotourism to the families committed to sustainable forest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Refugio Amazonas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refugio Amazonas Hotel Puerto Maldonado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing