We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jose Antonio Puno
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel has large rooms with a great view of the lake and the city of Puno. Our room was spacious with two comfortable beds. The bathroom had heated floor tiles, a really nice touch. It was the only hotel on our trip that did not provide two free bottles of water next to the sink. Water and other drinks were in the small refrigerator at cost.
The decor is stark. What a shame in a country with so many beautiful textiles and crafts! Look out the back windows in the hallway. Maybe you can spot the two chinchillas living on the rocks.
Dinner was tasty and the two free welcome drinks of Pisco sour were really welcome.
On our second day, the hotel had about 150 guests, mainly from tour groups. As a result, the breakfast buffet was totally overwhelmed. The staff struggled to provide cups and glasses, never mind the actual food. Obviously, the breakfast manager had not anticipated the need to feed that many people at the same time. I find this strange in a hotel this size and popular with large tour groups.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingrid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    178
    88
    23
    9
See reviews for
81
181
29
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located approximately 10 km south of town. This means a taxi is required each direction (about 15 soles).
The staff is very helpful, mentioning in particular Ana from the reception who is great help in planning and providing useful advice.
The rooms are big and rather clean, with a huge common terrace facing lake Titicaca.
Since the hotel is far from town, we dined several times at the hotel's restaurant and food was delicious.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank dadepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel is very modern it overlooks lake Titicaca on the outskirts of Puno. The bedrooms are huge with lots of storage space, a large comfortable bed, TV and fridge. The rooms have enormous windows to enjoy the view of the lake and surrounding area although we did find it a bit noisy early in the morning as our room was by the side of the busy main road. The restaurant was inviting with a good choice of food the lasagne was delicious! There was a very good choice of food for breakfast, fruit, eggs, bacon, pancakes, cereals, etc. This hotel is quite isolated outside the main town so you have to have a taxi to go anywhere so we ate in the restaurant both nights we were there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drapmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganville, NJ
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Jose Antonio a couple of nights as part of our Peru vacation with Gate 1 Travel. The hotel satisfied the most important requirements for us; clean, good bathroom, comfortable beds (no bugs). There was plenty of room for two people and they provided bottle water daily. The buffet breakfast was, at least, good. One downer was that there was no english language news on the TV. The best we could find was a Japanese news channel in english which also provided world news reports. Go figure.

The front desk was helpful and gladly broke down our larger sole bills for smaller change.

The view from our window was of the large bay (part of Lake Titicaca) fronting Puno with the hotel directly across the bay from Puno. That makes the trip into Puno comparatively long. You won't walk it. We understood that taxi fare was about 10 to 15 soles depending on your negotiation skills and for that price you can cram as many people in as the vehicle will hold.

However, Puno didn't seem to offer much. There was one vehicle-free street that had a number of restaurants and shops. The town didn't seem to be a "destination". So, other than one lunch in Puno, we ate in the hotel. Luckily, we found the hotel restaurant food to be above average and the wait staff was also friendly and good at their job. The restaurant also fronts the lake and has large windows to enhance the view.

The best reason to stop here for us was access to the Uro people's floating islands on Lake Titicaca. Our other local visit was to the Sillustani Tombs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ANDODI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel is right on the lake and is very nice. There is a restaurant (which was very good!). It is outside of Puno, but maybe a 15 minute drive. The staff was very helpful and spoke good english. They always have coca tea in the lobby to help combat the altitude sickness also! It is quiet, clean, and comfortable with free wifi also.

Room Tip: All the rooms look out over the lake and since you are away from the city, you don't have to wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vtowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

While the hotel is a bit of a trek from the center of Puno, it's beautiful views and in general relaxing mood was a welcomed delight for us after days of high altitude activities. This was the perfect place to winddown and enjoy the scenery (literally). The rooms and hotel facilities were ultra modern (though a flatscreen TV and bigger pillows would've made it even better), and the restaurant was pretty good as well (great views and a photogenic fireplace), which was good since we were super lazy and just ended up eating all our meals there (I enjoyed the lomo saltado a lot; the pastas my friends got didn't look like much though). Decent breakfast spread.

The best thing was definitely that our room opened out onto a huge communal terrace overlooking Puno and the lake, and it looked like the hotel was built so most rooms were lake-facing. Very cool. The lobby was always very quiet, and reception tries hard to be helpful though not all of their reps speak English. We are grateful for the much cheaper car they managed to arrange for us to Juliaca airport - very smooth transaction! Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Quite a few rooms on the third floor open onto a large communal terrace - perfect for seeing the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeteorLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
202 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Beautiful views of the lake from the rooms, especially at sunset. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and quiet. Staff are friendly. Hotel is located very far away from town and you'll definitely need to take a taxi to and from the town if you decided not to eat at the hotel's restaurant. Breakfast has a good spread.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Violetferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
2.2 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
2.8 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
2.6 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
4.3 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
6.6 mi away
Taypikala Lago
Taypikala Lago
#9 of 66 in Puno
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jose Antonio Puno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jose Antonio Puno

Property: Hotel Jose Antonio Puno
Address: Carretera Puno - Desaguadero Km 6.5, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Jose Antonio Puno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jose Antonio Puno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing