We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel for Puno”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel for Puno”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

It's probably one of the nicest hotels in Puno for this price. It's right nearby the main cathedral and square. The rooms are on the smallish side, but clean and comfortable. We were given a room on the top floor and we had a lovely balcony with views of Lake Titicaca. Breakfast was really good with lots of choices. WiFi unfortunately does not reach the top floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    160
    50
    7
    11
See reviews for
70
167
40
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a very basic hotel and not very clean, although the beds were clean. The carpet though looked like it hadn't been cleaned or vacuumed in a very long while. My biggest complaint was the "free parking." We arrived in our car and were told we could park down the block for a couple of dollars a night. After insisting that they advertised free onsite parking we were finally shown their one and only spot which was inside a tight garage, on a very steep downhill slope, attached to the hotel. Very safe and secure but a bit scary to think about getting back out the next day. At 9:30pm, after we were asleep after a long days' drive they called our room and told us we'd have to move the car to fit another car. I had to get out of bed, go down to reception and argue that the spot barely fit one car, much less two. I even offered to move my car down the block but that was the problem- it was closed. It was an extremely unpleasant exchange. The good thing is the location in the middle of town and the breakfast buffet was pretty good. Still, I sure wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesTravels2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I loved staying at the Conde de Lemos. It is right across the street from the main cathedral and ideally situated for walking to all that Puno has to offer. It is about a 20 minute walk to Lake Titicaca which is wonderful for strolling around the lagoon. I stayed on the 6th floor and had a large l-shaped terrace with beautiful views all around. Great place to enjoy a glass of wine at sunset. The breakfasts are amazing... a huge buffet with everything you could want. The dining room is also a good place to eat in the evenings. The staff are very friendly and helpful and will make arrangements for you to take the all-day boat tour to Uros and Taquile Island. The price I paid was less than what others paid who booked with other companies. There are 2 hotel computers which you can use with great WIFI connections. I am so glad that I picked Conde de Lemos.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra cost to stay in the 6th floor room with the large, l-shaped terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nada J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We enjoyed our short stay at this hotel across from the Cathedral in Puno. It is a small hotel and we felt like we had the place (and the staff) to ourselves. The service was great, including breakfast, laundry, airport shuttle (to Juliaca) plus consistently friendly greetings and help with baggage.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Cathedral and Lake Titicaca, while others overlook the slum-liker area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOL044, Gerente at Hotel Conde de Lemos, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Señor.
Estamos muy felices por vuestra linda estadia en nuestro Hotel Conde de Lemos ; compartiremos con nuestro staff para motivarlos y seguir mejorando nuestro servicio, nos fascina recibirlos y hacer de su estadia , momentos memorables.
Cordialmente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived late on a miserable bus from Arequipa and were very happy with the taxi service and this moderate accommodation. No complaints at all. It was very clean, quite large and had a decent view. Breakfast was quite nice and early, which is important if you are taking a tour of the lake. I doubt that we will visit Puno and Lake Titicaca again but if we do this hotel would not be a bad choice for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowland45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during a motorcycle trip through Peru. My roommate got sick and the hotel was very helpful in bringing chicken soup to the room. The room was largish compared to other Peru hotels we stayed at and the bathroom very ok - not a given in Peru as we learned. Would stay there again. Location is excellent right on the main square. Bring ear plugs to sleep through the barking dogs everywhere.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Malte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, FL
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were a group of four on a self made tour of Machu Picchu - Cusco - Puno and booked through Booking.com. A couple of days before our Puno arrival one of our members came down with a parasite and required hospitalization in Cusco. We had to shorten our Puno visit to give our sick member one day to recover in Cusco before traveling to Puno. Our hotel in Cusco called Condo de Lemos 48 hours before our arrival to inform them. We were told that because of the policies of Booking.com that the change to our reservations was impossible and we had to pay for the full three nights instead of the two nights we actually stayed. So it was. At least they took credit card.

The staff at the hotel were most cordial and helpful. The facilities had good bones but was long in the tooth. We arrived late and used their restaurant. They appeared to have one cook and one server. The server appeared to be untrained and was very slow. We were the only customers and they would not turn on the heater. Items on the menu were not available. The food was okay but the check took 25 minutes to arrive at the table. The server made out the check at the bar and was busy working on it the entire time. We looked at each other and wondered what she would do if more she had more than one table of customers. They took credit card which was a big deal since 60 percent of our USD money was rejected due to micro tears.

Other reviews were spot on regarding facilities including photos. The beds had the most covers I have ever experienced. Heat was provided by an electrical radiator ... no central air in Peru. But my CPAP machine and the heater could not fit on the outlet at once. So I had to choose breathing or heating. The shower did heat up fairly fast but the tub accumulated about 7 inches of water as it was a slow drainer.

If you want to stay at Hotel Conde de Lemos I would recommend going through the hotel directly and staying away from booking sites like Booking.com. I might stay here again because of location and nice staff but might look elsewhere first. I would not choose to eat here again except breakfast. Overall the hotel was a weak okay. It still irritates me that we had to pay for two rooms for a night which we did not stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaKayker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 65 in Puno
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
2.0 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
2.2 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#9 of 65 in Puno
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Conde de Lemos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conde de Lemos

Property: Hotel Conde de Lemos
Address: Jr Puno 681, Puno 21001, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puno
#5 Family Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Conde de Lemos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Conde de Lemos Hotel enjoys a privileged location in the monumental area a few steps from the main square alongside the cathedral, offers rooms with balcony and terrace with an excellent view of the city and part of the lake. It is one of the few hotels near the main square which has its own garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Conde de Lemos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conde De Lemos Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing