We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly staff, free tea, warm showers, everything you need”
Review of Bothy Puno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bothy Puno
Ranked #25 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Puno
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very friendly staff, free tea, warm showers, everything you need”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I liked this hostel a lot. the family that runs the hostel is really friendly and helps with everything. breakfast is included in the price and is nice. Showers are warm and the wifi is surprisingly fast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene-Schrijver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    34
    18
    11
    12
See reviews for
Families
0
24
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed two nights here and would recommend this place to anyone looking for value for money. The staff were really friendly and they even emailed me prior to arrival to advise some things to note in Puno, which was a pleasant suprise compared to other hostels in Peru.

The showers were hot and the breakfast consisted of sliced meat, cheese, bread, butter, jam, coffee, cocoa tea and other teas. There is a kitchen which they encourage guests to use and after a trip to the local produce markets this facilitated a delicious and cost effective meal.

Towels are priced at 1 SOL which was a welcomed price compared to the 4+ SOL I paid at other hostels in Peru. The internet access was excellent and could be used at all three levels of the hostel, including the rooms; something not often encountered.

There was some construction going on within the hostel during my stay but this didn't affect the sleep quality very much as I didn't sleep in past 7AM anyways; no doubt this will be completed soon though.

The staff assisted with a very cheap (35 SOL) bus ride to Arequipa from Puno and it was nice not having to leave the hostel to arrange this. I stayed in the 6 bed mixed dorm and the beds were quite comfortable; there were ample extra blankets available also as Puno was particularly cold when I visited (June 24th 2014).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucidite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Still kind of seem to be getting all the finer details flattened out but it is cheap and has all the basics you need and the breakfast is good with eggs, ham, cheese, juice, coffee n tea! It's a 5-10min walk from the Main Street. The ladies that work there are lovely and really helpful! It isn't like bothy in Arequipa.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwismiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Breakfast included, two working computers, staff friendly, clean, warm water, central enough to walk at any timefrom the center, a very worthwhile and economictour to Lake Titikaka can be booked directly from there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Similar to the one in Arequipa, Bothy is an affordable hostel, with friendly staff, wifi, 2 computers for free use, and breakfast included. The rooms are clean and the showers are hot. The staff are very helpful in organising tours, and you get picked up from the hostel.
The hostel is close to the centre of town, with many cheap touristy shops and restaurants.
I would certainly recommend this hostel as a cheap and decent place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

It looks sketchy from the outside but looks can be deceiving. It is a good price with good rooms. We stayed in the dorm style and it was great. Comes with a small breakfast every morning: bread, cheese, slices of meat, orange juice, coffee & coca tea. The tea really helped me adjust to the altitude. Also it is not too far from the bar street. It is very close to the path to get to the top of the highest hill/mountain that overlooks the city. Great views up there if you can make the hike. Enjoyed my stay there; I would stay there again if I go back to Puno.

Room Tip: I stayed in the dorm style room with 3 other friends. It was perfect for our group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treyhaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I travelled from La Paz,Bolivia to Puno via a local bus on Sunday 22nd December 2013. After a very short cheap taxi ride ( S6 ) I arrived at the Bothy Backpackers hostel. I did not have any small change so was relieved that the lady on the reception kindly paid the patient taxi driver. I would point out at this moment that the location leaves a lot to the imagination in a "shady" looking backstreet area BUT was perfectly safe and within a short 5 minute stroll to the town centre.The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful and the facilities were excellent. After being traveling for a week I took the opportunity to have my dirty washing done and was astonished by the speedy service and the cheapness. I received my 2 kg of washing back pristinely cleaned and ironed that same afternoon which was very impressive. I was lucky to have sole use of a 6 bed mixed dorm for my 2 night stay and felt immediately at home. The staff even re-stocked the fridge with beer after I mentioned my thirst after a long 6 hour bus journey. I would recommend this lovely friendly hostel to any traveller and PLEASE do not be put off by your immediate impression of the location as you arrive in
the taxi. A true find !!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YummyJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.4 mi away
Cozy Hostel
Cozy Hostel
#1 of 96 in Puno
125 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Manzano Lodge
El Manzano Lodge
#12 of 71 in Puno
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 65 in Puno
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
2.5 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
20.4 mi away
Titilaka
Titilaka
#1 of 65 in Puno
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bothy Puno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bothy Puno

Property: Bothy Puno
Address: Jiron Iquitos 136, Puno, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Friends if you come to Bothy Hostel Puno: when taking a taxi driver at the bus station is better to tell the driver that you already have reserved with us. In our hostel we will always have a space for you. They will try to tell you that we are full when we are not! See You at Bothy Hostels Arequipa Puno Peru. Don't pay more than 4 soles from bus station, not more than 80 soles from the airport. We also offer a pick up service for a fair price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bothy Puno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing