We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hospitality & Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kuntur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kuntur Inn
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic hospitality & Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a total of 3 nights. Antonio and Livia could not do enough for me. They even went out of their way to help me buy a jacket from their local market when mine got stolen from a bus. Antonio booked all my tours and took me in a taxi and dropped me to the bus station for my trip Puno-Cusco. At a price I would have paid to a travel agent.
The hotel was exceptionally clean and located a few minutes to the main square & Lima St.
P Price.

Room Tip: I was offered a room with a TV, but facing the street. There are quieter rooms with no view and no T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    39
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
76
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at Kuntur Inn for 2 nights. There were some pros of this hotel, but overall our stay was very average, and I'd recommend looking into staying at some other places at a similar price range.

Pros:
- Good location, just 5-10 minutes from the plaza de armas and the main street with many restaurants
- Friendly staff. The owner Antonio was friendly and was willing to help us book our visit to Lake Titicaca.
- The room and bathroom was relatively clean.
- We had hot water, for the most part.

Cons:
- It was very cold when we visited, and so we asked for a room heater. We were told it would be $10 extra to rent that.
- It isn't run like a regular hotel: there is no sign anywhere outside that says Kuntur Inn, the lobby lights and door are shut after about 10 or 11pm so if you need anything after that, you have to go find the owner in his room.
- The staff added extra money on for booking our tour to Titicaca (which we didn't mind cause they need to take a commission, but we negotiated a bit).
- Breakfast was limited, but tasty.
- The carpet in our room was pretty old and musty.

Overall, it was a decent hotel and stay, but it seemed like there were some others in town that looked a little better.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ashwini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

My sister and I stayed for two nights (December 28 and 29, 2011), and had only the best experiences. The B&B is located 2 blocks form Plaza de Armas, up the hill, 5-10min walk from the main tourist street. The location is quiet. Rooms are basic, but very clean, with spacious bathrooms, which had hot water, towels and soap. Unlike other places we stayed at in Peru, we had an unlimited supply of bananas, and different teas in the reception area. I cannot comment on heaters as other guests (since we did not need one), but the owner Antonio was the most helpful of all hosts we met in Peru. He added me to a tour to Sillustani on a short notice, and even paid a taxi to take me to the place where the bus was waiting. When I had problems with Peruvian Ministry of Culture about paying for tickets to Machupicchu, he connected us to his friend late at night, who bought us tickets next morning, and they waited for us in Cusco! While we had to pay to his friend an additional $10 per person, without this help we would have missed on the main part of our trip. I was aware Antonio included his fee in trips he booked for us, but I was ready to pay a few dollars for the convenience of not having to plan in advance and spend my time on searching for deals. On the other hand, Antonio saved us money by suggesting cheap van transportation from the airport instead of taxi. Again, one of the best accommodations in Peru.

Room Tip: Out room (Sillustani) was quieter, but the room across the corridor has a view of whole town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mirkovn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Friendly staff, but over-priced and money-oriented. For example:
1. It was cold so we requested for a heater in the room. The male owner promised on 1st night to provide one, but no actual arrangement had been made. Until 2nd evening the owner asked for 5USD for heating service! So we declined the request, and slept in a cold room.
2. We paid S/65 per person for a guided tour with lunch to Uros & Taquile Islands. Then we met a friend, who stayed in another hotel, in the same tour and found out that she actually paid S/45 with lunch too.
3. The bus ticket to Arequipa with Cruz del Sur cost S/56 (it was written on the ticket) but the owner told us that it cost S/65 per person and charged us S/65 each!

The facilities were generally okay. However, when we woke up the next day after a whole-night heavy raining, the window-side was full of water.

One more minor issue, we always had double fried eggs and coffee in the mornings with other hotels along our journey in Peru; in this hotel they "generously" gave us a single fried egg instead and without coffee.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KKLeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Although Kuntur Inn has about 10 rooms it isnt really run like a hotel. The lights are turned off at about 11pm and there is no one you can talk to you you needed something. I also got the feeling that the owner, who is also the hotel manager was constantly trying to cut corners or charge us more. Some examples: the day we checked in we were one of the only guests in the hotel, so there was no hot water. When we requested for a room heater (it was damp and cold) he wanted to charge us an extra $10 a night. A place like this can never really become a hotel.

The rooms were clean although the carpeting was old, faded and dirty. The bathrooms we reasonably clean too, but were not provided with towels or soap (another instance of cutting corners).

If you are looking for a worry-free trip to Lake Titicaca that you want to enjoy and not be troubled with your hotel room - do not stay here. For a few more dollars, you can get much better hotels around the lake or the Plaza de Armas.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Krishnan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

This hotel well and truely lives up to it's reviews, the staff are so friendly and the rooms are clean. It is located close to the central restrant street aswell.

highly reccomend, great value for money

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one at the back, although the school starts at 7:30 if you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maxpower651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and were happy with out choice. The hotel is located five mins walk from the main square and feels very safe. The hotel staff were lovely and friendly - they even took us to the bus station on our way out of Puno. The breakfast was very good, including fresly cooked eggs. We left our bags here when we went overnight to Amantani without any issues. Hotel rooms are simple but comfy, warm and have hot water. A good budget choice.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SophieAms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.3 mi away
Cantuta Inn
Cantuta Inn
#11 of 67 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Utasa Inn
Hostal Utasa Inn
#26 of 67 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 67 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Totorani Inn
Totorani Inn
#28 of 67 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#16 of 67 in Puno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa De Manuelita
La Casa De Manuelita
#40 of 67 in Puno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kuntur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kuntur Inn

Property: Hotel Kuntur Inn
Address: Jr. Ayacucho No 708, Puno, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kuntur Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new hotel, with friendly service, to 2 blocks from the Main Square 45 minutes from Juliaca Airport. Clean and safe. All rooms have private bathroom, with hot water. Many rooms have great view of lake titicaca. Free fruit, coca tea, sweets offered all day in the lobby. Laundry service,taxi service. Ask about our daily tours too uros island,taquile and amantani and sillustani ruins. General tourist information we want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Internent wi-fi, telephone service and TV. in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kuntur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing