We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the place to stay in Puno”
Review of Hotel Kuntur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kuntur Inn
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“the place to stay in Puno”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

You want to enjoy Puno, the titicaca lake and the beauty of the city as well as keeping a homy feeling, this hotel is perfect for you. When you arrive it feels like you arrive at some friends place. Not only that the welcome is good but the rooms are so cosy, so nicely decorated that you feel like home.
On top of that try the cake of Livia in the morning for breakfast it is amazing.
Staying in this hotel is enjoying everything at once, the friendliness, the perfect location, the nice view on the lake and the great breakfast. Go there you won't go wrong

Room Tip: choose on the street, it is quiet and you will have the view on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olivia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    39
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
77
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucyhendo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at this hotel. Really nice owners, clean rooms, hot showers and great breakfast. The owners were really helpful in planning my onward journeys to Copacabana and Arequipa and in organising a last minute tour out to Uros Island.

Big breakfast included, 3 blocks from main square and a free transfer from the bus station on arrival. Really good value. A backpackers dream and a leisure travellers idea of clean, cosy and comfortable! Would happily stay again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucyhendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

A free transfer is included which you should definitely take. I'm usually a fan of walking to a hotel if it's < 2km away, but Puno is HIGH (~4000m above sea level - read: exhausted after climbing 4 steps) and the hotel is up a hill, so you do not want to be walking there.

The hotel itself is really nice, and the owners (at least I think they're the owners) are lovely, talkative people. Liv checked us in and gave us some tips about the city and what to see. The room was great -- adequate size with clean beds, and it's located just about a 10 minute walk to the main square.

For breakfast, you get eggs made to order, but coffee connoisseurs beware! Only instant coffee is served here.

I would give 5 stars, but the owners have a draconian policy of 'no food in the rooms' which was enforced upon me when I brought a pizza into the hotel. Now obviously, the owners have had issues with previous guests making a mess of things I suppose (there's also a silly sign in the room about 'house rules' which basically tell me that they often have people who behave like children staying here), but the hotel only had maybe 2 other rooms occupied, and the two of us were > 30 years old and if I want to eat a pizza in my room, I should be able to! And since they already have a sign on the room doors saying 'any damage to the room will be charged' they should simply allow me to eat my pizza in peace and charge me should I have a moment of insanity and smear pizza sauce all over the walls. :P

I digress. I wouldn't let this one black mark prevent me from staying here again if the price was right. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seputus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is a very clean hotel with extremely friendly and helpful family running it. Antonio will advise you of the best spots to eat in Puno and arrange local tours to Lake Ttitcaca or Sillistani if required.
The hotel was the cleanest we stayed in while travelling in Peru. Breakfast is included and is adequate to start the day. Antonio very kindly offered to pick us up and drop us off at the bus station upon arrival/departure.

I must urge a note of caution however. When we told Antonio we were en route to La Paz he arranged a tour with a company called Confort Tours run by a friend of his called Giovanni Villaneuva for us. We were overcharged by $60 each, had a tour guide with no English (overpriced ticket included English guide) for tour of Uyuni, he subcontracted us to a different company once we arrived in Uyuni and upon our arrival back to La Paz we were harassed in our hotel for 2 days with phonecalls from Giovanni to take another tour with his company. Avoid at all cost

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is a great value, friendly, family run hotel in a good location in Puno.

They offered to pick us up at the bus station but unfortunately we didn't have internet access so didn't get the email.

The rooms are clean and fairly spacious. Breakfast is included and is more than enough to start he day. Tea and coffee is available all day in the reception area.

When we arrived we were told about local restaurants, where to walk to the city centre, how much the taxi home should cost, and all sorts of info.

It is a good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LysaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel in the heart of Puno, perfect location and clean, comfortable rooms with good wi-fi connection and hot showers. The staff are incredibly friendly, We were picked up from the train station and as soon as we arrived we were told about the best restaurants to go to, the safest ATM to use and our bus tickets to Bolivia were sorted out for us straight away. We had a great breakfast the next morning with as much to eat as we wanted. I would definitely recommend this hotel - a great little find.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This family run hotel is such a great place we came back again a few days later to break up a trip to La Paz.
Antonio came and collected us from the train station when we arrived the first time, which was a bonus when taxi drivers in Peru can be hit or miss.
The rooms are very clean, comfortable and quiet.
The breakfast is very good, including eggs, freshly squeezed orange juice, cereal, jam and rolls. There is always hot water and tea facilities in reception for guests, which is a nice touch.
Livia and Antonio can book tours, transfers and buses for you, and charge a fee, but it takes the hassle out of the task for you.
Overall a brilliant place to stay in Puno.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are a little quieter, but the place in not noisy. Rooms at the front have views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retired_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.3 mi away
Cantuta Inn
Cantuta Inn
#12 of 66 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Utasa Inn
Hostal Utasa Inn
#25 of 66 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 66 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Totorani Inn
Totorani Inn
#29 of 66 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 66 in Puno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa De Manuelita
La Casa De Manuelita
#40 of 66 in Puno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kuntur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kuntur Inn

Property: Hotel Kuntur Inn
Address: Jr. Ayacucho No 708, Puno, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kuntur Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new hotel, with friendly service, to 2 blocks from the Main Square 45 minutes from Juliaca Airport. Clean and safe. All rooms have private bathroom, with hot water. Many rooms have great view of lake titicaca. Free fruit, coca tea, sweets offered all day in the lobby. Laundry service,taxi service. Ask about our daily tours too uros island,taquile and amantani and sillustani ruins. General tourist information we want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Internent wi-fi, telephone service and TV. in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Kuntur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing