We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bargain for a great value”
Review of Hostal Duque Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Duque Inn
Ranked #12 of 95 Speciality Lodging in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good bargain for a great value”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

It's a good hotel for a very reasonable price. The owner is very friendly and helpful but speaks only Spanish. Although he tries his best to explain things you are interested in. We stayed there 2 nights and paid 40 soles for a double room with a shared shower and breakfast. You share one shower in a floor which is for 4 rooms. We didn't have no problems like waiting in a queue but in case there's a queue you can use another shower in another floor. There was hot water all the time. Breakfast were simple as in most cheaper hotels - 2 breads, jam, butter, instant coffee, banana, orange juice. Rooms were warm during the night though I think they don't have electric heaters. And the views of Puno and Titicaca are fascinating! It's only 7-10 minutes walk from the main plaza and walking street but you have to prepare yourself for a veeery steep and breath catching hill! All in all, I can recommend this hotel without a doubt!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndreBra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    55
    14
    9
    12
See reviews for
8
63
31
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We got a reply when we emailed them and the family were attentive; good room and reasonable views. During our stay the showers did not work properly and had to go to a different floor. The hostel is basic and they arranged our Island trip on Lake Titicaca.

As a place to stay for 1 day is perfect it does the job as there is no much to do in Puno.

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd or 4th floor for the views from the 2nd floor you see people's roofs and terraces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Since the owner, Ricardo, replied our room request mail we knew we hit a jackpot, as he already gave us lots of info and advice in his confirmation reply.

When we arrived to the hotel we were amazed by the room and the views: you can see all puno from the window, no need to go to any lookout place (ask for room 40, the biggest one with the best views). And having breakfast in the rooftop restaurant seeing all the town and the Titicaca lake is breathtaking.

Ricardo also helped us getting our bus tickets to Bolivia and was there to reply any question and to give loads of info, really friendly person.

Honestly, you can´t get more for only 30 soles, it´s a super bargain. And the photo i took from the window at sunrise, with the Titicaca lake shrouded in orange tones, it´s one of the best memories I treasure from Peru.

Room Tip: Get room 40, the biggest and the one with best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aoifeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Duque Inn. I would have given it an "average" rating, but the friendliness of our service, the cleanliness, and lovely roof-top area made me bump it up a little.

This Inn could use a renovation, it's a little rough around the edges. The carpets, walls, and windows are old and tatty. BUT!!! The beds and sheets are very clean and comfortable. And that's what matters! They cleaned the bathrooms multiple times a day, so we felt that overall the cleanliness of the inn was very good.

Our room, though it lacked personality, was very quiet and we slept very well.

The people that run it are very friendly. Lots of smiles, good recommendations for local eateries, and a willingness to jump at the chance to help us out whenever possible.

Breakfast is average for Peru-but saying that, quite sufficient. Instant coffee/tea, bread, jam and marmalade. I don't think it's normally included, you may want to ask. What's great is that you eat on the roof and the view over Puno and the Lake is awesome. It's lovely and sunny and warm up there. After breakfast when everyone was gone I did Yoga up there. Nice!!!

The wifi is best in the hallway next to the router, and worked fine for skype calls.

The Inn is about a 10 minute walk from town. It involves a bit of a hill, but it's good for getting the heart-rate up! And we felt very safe doing the walk, even after dark in the early evening.

The sunsets from the rooftop with a beer in hand are awesome!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thriftydrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levis, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Duque Inn, Ricardo the owner is very sympatique. He booked the tour on Lago Titicaca and it was very nice. He kept our luggage during the trip on the lake. When we had a question, he always said a reponse with information. The price for a water bottle is the correct price like in a convenient store, not a hostel price. The room we got was very clean and the bathroom too.

Room Tip: Take the room on the roof. Very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renez123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterville, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This hostel was inexpensive. My fiancé and I shared a private room with a bathroom inside. I think it was meant for a family of four because it was so huge! The breakfast was nothing special, just some bread, bananas and tea or instant coffee. We usually brought our own breakfast to eat on the terrace. The owner was really nice and helped us to organize tours and a bus to Chivay. Definitely worth it if you are looking for a good place for your money in Puno!

Room Tip: The downstairs room is huge for just two people, and gets pretty cold at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter2440947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Average hostel as far as of interiors. Clean room and common shower, very good price. Close to everywhere. The selling edge is the view from the roof top. One of the best I have ever seen. Terrace (closed and open area) overlooks the entire Puno and Lake Titicaca. You can enjoy your breakfast and late dinner there since kitchen is located on the same level. Unforgettable sunsets and sunrises. I would come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patcracow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 66 in Puno
536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#9 of 66 in Puno
490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 66 in Puno
387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pacha Hostel
Pacha Hostel
#7 of 95 in Puno
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Duque Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Duque Inn

Property: Hostal Duque Inn
Address: Jr. Ayaviri 152, Barrio Orkapata, Puno, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 95 Speciality Lodging in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Duque Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Duque Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing