We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Relaxing, Perfect”
Review of Hospedaje Samary

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puno
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hospedaje Samary
Ranked #16 of 66 Puno B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Relaxing, Perfect”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We will never forget the Christmas we spent with Felix and his beautiful family! We relaxed on the beach of Lago Titikaka, took a hike to a beautiful view point, and took a boat ride out to the Uros. This is the place to relax, get away, bring a book and enjoy delicious meals Felix's wife, Magna prepares.
Felix and Magna are so welcoming, Felix's warm smile will light up your stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    9
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have stayed with Felix and family this August and enjoyed it so much. Are you looking for your peaceful little house in the middle of the Titicaca lake? Are you looking for a chance to sleep, eat and live as a Titicaca dweller ? Hospedaje Samary is the best you could look for !!
Felix is so kind, hospitable and smiling and the landscape around is breath taking !
You are going to remember their breakfast for the rest of your life !
It's not a choice for the Grand Hotel people, but it's definitively the best way to experience the real peruvian life !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

"The best way to visit Lake Titicaca"

Our visit to Lake Titicaca at Hospedaje Samary was one of the best parts of our trip. This hotel in the tiny town of Llachon is run by Felix Turpo and his family, and is perched on the side of the Capachica Peninsula, jutting out into Lake Titicaca. The view is simply spectacular in every direction, at all times of day.

The facilities are a little bit basic, but very comfortable (especially for being so far out on the peninsula). The bedrooms are fairly large, the beds were queens or fulls, and the blankets were perfect for keeping out the cold night (the hot water bottles to warm the sheets that Felixs gave us at night helped too!). The bathrooms have running water and a warm shower, and there is electricity in all the rooms.

The real treat, though, is the service. Felix told us when we arrived that we would be like family, and that's really how it felt. He gave us great travel advice, showed us around the peninsula and pointed out good viewpoints, and arranged for transportation (boats, colectivos, taxis, whenever we needed) to local sights at very favorable prices. Playing soccer with his adorable sons and niece was a treat. Even the family dog got in on the act, keeping us company all the way up to one of the lookouts and all the way down to the marina.

The price also includes all meals, which means that Felix's wife (Macha?) prepares delicious freshly made 3 course Peruvian meals (often a soup, a bread, and a main course). It was some of the best food we on our trip, and it was plentiful.

The only real downside of this place was getting there, which wasn't entirely simple; on the other hand, its remoteness was part of the charm, and it ensures that you won't be lumped in with all the other tourists. To get to Llachon from Juliaca, you can take a taxi (~60min, S80) from the airport to Capachica, and then either continue onwards in the same cab or catch another one to Llachon (35min, ~S40-60). You can definitely do this trip via colectivo for much cheaper, although probably a little more time.

The other minor complication is that while Felix does speak a little bit of English, he isn't fluent. His Spanish is great (which isn't always the case in this part of Peru), but you'll want to have someone with at least basic conversational Spanish.

You can also get to Felix's house from Puno via boat, although I don't know how much that would cost or how long it would take. I'm sure he would be able to book it for you if you ask via e-mail (hospedajesamary at hotmail.com)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danibren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My husband and I decided to do a homestay on Lake Titicaca and found Felix in the Lonely Planet. His place is based in Llachon on the penisular of Capachica.
Felix and his family were very lovely and welcomed us into their home and cooked all our meals for us, despite having a power cut!
If your kind of stay is 5star hotels, free newspapers and wifi, this is not for you!
If you are after natural beauty, getting away from the trodden tourist trail and beautiful local people, call Felix now! Rooms are basic but very clean and there are plenty of blankets if it gets cold!

Room Tip: Choose the room with the views of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
6.3 mi away
Amantica Lodge
Amantica Lodge
#22 of 66 in Puno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
16.4 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
16.5 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
17.0 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
12.3 mi away
Titilaka
Titilaka
#2 of 66 in Puno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Samary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Samary

Property: Hospedaje Samary
Address: Teodoro Valcarcel N0 164, Puno, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing