We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Shame about the Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Libertador Lake Titicaca
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 23 April 2011

The hotel is perfectly positioned to give views over the lake from all rooms. It has a very impressive entrance hall and large seating area and bar with lake views. A broad stairway leads from the reception area and two smart lifts take you in a feeling of luxury. As with many modern hotels the rooms are accessed from a long featureless corridor on each floor. and like many inner city hotels the rooms are fine for sleeping but have little room for anything else. If it wasn't for the view from the window the room could have been in any commercial hotel in a city in any part of the world. The rooms are fine for sleeping but had no space to relax. The toilet and shower were cheaply finished as were the items left for guests. To give an example the shower cap provided was so small and thin it disintegrated when trying to tuck the hair under it.
In the restaurant the tourist menu was 4 fixed combinations which didn't change while we were there. The food was plainly presented but of excellent quality. The buffet breakfast was one of the best we had in Peru

Room Tip: To see sunrise have a room at the bacl.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank st8sman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2011

This hotel offers the very best view of Lake Titicaca. We were fortunate to get a lake view and the sunrises are totally awesome as are the sunsets which can be seen from the west facing windows in the lounge. Rating this hotel as five star is a stretch if had been located anywhere else without the view. However feel it was the best in the Puno area. If going there request in advance a lake view room as you will look with great admiration at your photos on your screen saver of the fantastic sunrises for years to come.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbums00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EVELYNAQP, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2011

Thank you very much for your comments.

Daniel Molero
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I stayed at this hotel during my January Globus "Legacy of the Incas" tour. I found this hotel to be fantastic. The thing that most impressed me with it were the breathtaking views of Lake Titicaca. I could look out my hotel room and look over the lake for miles. It was seriously awesome. The views from the hotel restaurant were equally good. Food wise, I was very pleased with their breakfast buffet as well as the farewell dinner our group had there. Service was excellent. My room itself was immaculate and nicely furnished. Also, the hotel has a convenient jetty that our group was able to use for our boat trips to the man-made islands the Uros indians live on and Taquile Island.

My only complaint with this hotel and the reason I give them 4 vice a 5 rating is their highly erratic WiFi. Sometimes, it took me as long as 30 minutes to get a connection. It was really annoying.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOTRfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

First up, "best hotel in Puno" or not, this is NOT a five star hotel, by any standards either worldwide or in Peru. We stayed in a range of Peruvian five star properties this trip and they all deserved their rating - not, sadly, the Libertador. It is NOT a bad hotel, an OK 4 star or very good three.

What is wrong? Well bearing in mind we are reviewing a 5 star Hotel:

The building is an 70s concrete “lump”, visible for miles on Lake Titicaca. Public rooms are very nice with fantastic views over the lake. It does not however seem to have had a bedroom refurbish in it's time, and although all "the bits" are in the room, they only kind of work - (except nice flat screen TV and iPod dock). Rooms are tiny, about as big as a sitting area in any other 5 star hotel Air-Con, is an ugly mobile unit. Beds are good, with nice linen, but furniture is "old". Shower is “in bath” with plastic curtain – yuck! Anti-theft coat hangers (redolent of back packer hostels) complete the ambience.

Service is casual - not too many staff around in low season is my suspicion. (only about 20 guests in a large hotel) Still, if a tourist vehicle draws up then a bellboy should appear (5 Star) a receptionist should be available to check you in (5 star) and the porter should not sigh as he carries your luggage - I'll give you a tip OK?

Dining was again OK but..... Breakfast buffet was fine but unimaginative (Monasterio Cusco does pastries to die for!). Dinner was quite good. Then, twice, they tried to charge me VAT (at 19%), which tourists don't pay in Peru. Had a further slight altercation when they tried to charge for wine I had not ordered. Not anything more than errors, I'm sure – but......

You get the theme? A 3 star 5 star.

Odd thing is, the hotel asked us to write a review on Trip Advisor - lol

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

the most wonderful location, great experience in the altitude, will never forget the taste of alpaca steak with quinoa, awsome views from the huge glazed panes. Highly recommended and appears to be the best in Puno.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revandyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We had a suite with a stunning lake view (instead of city view). Sunsets and sunrises were spectacular.

The hotel staff is very helpful. The restaurant is world-class--excellent food and service!

If you're considering adding Lake Titicaca to your Peru itin, we highly recommend doing so and if you can score a lake view, this would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtb_stl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

This is a gorgeous hotel, out on its own away from the centre of Puno. You can either have a lake view room or a city view room but both views are fabulous. The latter gets the sunrise and the former the sunset.

The room itself was a little disappointing for us in that it was very small and, when I used the loo, I could hear almost every breath taken by the person relaxing in their bath next door - somewhat disconcerting - but everything was clean and functional, and there was also the great big window with the fabulous view! Just beautiful

The restaurant was good for the buffet breakfast but less so for dinner where the service was up to standard but the food was only so-so.

The taxi ride into the main part of town is reasonably priced (about USD6 one-way). There are 2 small main squares with a shopping strip in between where you can get yet more woven bags, "maybe" alpaca sweaters, tapestries and other assorted souvenirs. There is also an inordinate amount of pizzerias but other more authentically local food is available. If you are unlucky enough to be there on a public holiday you may find your choice restricted to the local greasy fried chicken place or the fruit and veg market.

The hotel allows you to help yourself to something I decided was green tea in the lobby/lounge area to help keep altitude sickness at bay but I'd recommend also taking prescribed pills.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK-OZ-SGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
2.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
43.3 mi away
Isla Suasi Hotel
Isla Suasi Hotel
#13 of 64 in Puno
516 reviews
2.4 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libertador Lake Titicaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libertador Lake Titicaca

Address: Isla Esteves s/n | Lago Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puno
#1 Green Hotel in Puno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puno
#10 Family Hotel in Puno
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puno
Price Range: £81 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Libertador Lake Titicaca 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Libertador Lake Titicaca is the only 5-star hotel in the area and sitsatop private Esteves Island. From anywhere in the hotel, guestswill marvel at outstanding sun rises and sun sets since each roomcommands a spectacular view of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Libertador Lake Titicaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertador Lake Titicaca Hotel Puno
Libertador Lago Titicaca Hotel Puno
Puno Libertador Lago Titicaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing