We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Libertador Lake Titicaca
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 February 2014

First impressions were of the location on an island accessed via a causeway with a manned security boomgate. Then I noticed the dozen or Llama contently grazing on the front lawns of the hotel. Idyllic!

Our superior room was on the fourth floor - smallish compared to our other recent hotel rooms but this was more than compensated for by the absolutely stunning full wall glass window view over Lake Titicacca. We were situated on the front side of the hotel - sunset side. The ground or lobby floor boasts extensive lounges and bar areas. Reception are pleasant and helpful but don't seem to have very good English skills.

Only downside was the weak internet - best signal in the room is in the bathroom and even then pictures would not send.

Buffett breakfasts included a wide variety of both hot and cold foods and very attentive waiters.
Beautifully decorated lobby area. A lot of children were staying at the hotel during our two days and they were not always kept under control by parents - running down halls and screeching in the dining room . Destroyed what could have been a very peaceful time.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel have magnificent views
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear guest.
we appreciate your feedback and we take it as an opportunity for improvement.

thank you very much

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,315)
There are newer reviews for Libertador Lake Titicaca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

I had two beatiful nights in this Hotel, the services are good but not great, have all services that you want from four star hotel, the thing that I never forgotten is the view of the Lake, is spectacular , two mornings listened sing of birds and see the view of the lake. is amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cuffee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We value your opinion, help us to improve our services.

Sincerely.

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We picked this hotel for the location - lake's edge, and high up. Indeed it had an incredible view of the lake, which was glorious to wake up to as the windows are huge enough to see out of while still lying in bed. East facing so room gets flooded with morning sun - if you're not already gone due to being on an early lake tour.

Big modern hotel with beautiful amenities and grounds, but it felt like we were part of the big "tourist machine" with all the busloads coming and going and the foyer being full of suitcases and people waiting for their buses. At such times, there's no point waiting for the elevators - just use the Escher-style stairs and enjoy the journey down.

The bed was comfortable, bathroom worked well enough not to recall any issues. Maybe we could have done with a little more space for our bags.

Don't miss walking out the door by the bar, turning right, and following the lighted pathway up to the top of the rocky outcrop ... for the most gorgeous view of the lake, from Puno over to the right, all the way to the floating islands of the Uros people across to the left. A lot of landscaping work has gone into this feature, so get your coat and head up to enjoy a little solitude and reflection at sunset ... maybe with a drink in hand (if they let you take them outside).

We took the Andean Explorer train down from Cusco to get here, a wonderful day trip full of surprises - not just your average train ride, that's for sure. Owned by the Orient Express, so your money is well spent on this journey. Then we took the "tourist bus" back to Cusco, which stopped at some sights, and good mountain shopping ... and was enjoyable enough - for a long bus ride.

Room Tip: Get lake-facing.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneYost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your valuable opinion.

Sincerely.

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights after catching the train from cusco. Was very happy with the views overlooking the lake and the room was lovely. A great big bed and the toilet was separate to the rest of the bathroom which was nice. Comforts of robes and slippers and nice chocolates for turn down service. Breakfast had a great variety and was fresh. Reception were more than happy to order us a taxi to go into town and it was out the front by the time we caught the lift down from our room.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank kgbsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comment, it is very valuable to our management.

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had the dubious pleasure of staying here on new years eve 2013.
The hotel itself is nice, and during the rest of the year if properly staffed, may well be perfectly nice.
However for the amount we paid for the night, the service was poor (waiting 35 minutes for drinks before going to the bar to fetch them myself)
Hotel rooms were nice enough, looking over the lake. Bed was big and comfy.
There doesn't appear to be many other choices in the area for anyone using the Andean explorer train from Puno to Cusco, but if you choose to stay here don't expect too much

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonOkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear customer, we value your comments we are improving some procedures that allow us to serve you better and have a better stay.

sincerely

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Top location, beautiful breakfast location, but the rooms felt cramped. I was told mine was a mid-range room (I seriously doubt it), but despite having two comfortable, nice beds, there was almost no room for one suitcase per person (two in total) plus our carry-ons (mostly backpacks).

Prices at the bar and restaurant are on the high end, but breakfast was complimentary, and the juices were unadultered.

There is a business center at the lower level, and coca tea was available at all times at the hotel lobby. There was a quirky pool table at the bar which made everybody look drunk (we think it was lopsided, but that made it more fun/challenging).

As group travel coordinators, we were almost overcharged despite having everything in triple and quadruplicate, so as elsewhere in Perú, check that prices are converted accurately, specially if quoted in another currency, and beware of attempts to charge more or provide a worse rate for credit card use.

However, most of the staff was quite nice, and I will consider giving them another chance, hoping for some improvements.

* There was no pool, hot pool, or a weight room, at the time of our visit. We were told some remodeling was going on. Perhaps many of these issues will have been resolved if you decide to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank corozalwien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

your comment is valuable to us, we are working and improving service areas that allow for a more comfortable stay.

thank you very much

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Views are good but not as spectacular as you might expect. There is a hot tub (not really working when we were there) - I think the pool has gone. They have oxygen on tap for those suffering with altitude.

The real problem is that everyone leaves at the same time in the morning to do the Lake Titicaca trip and the hotel can't really cope. Queues for breakfast aren't really acceptable in a first class hotel.

Don't get me wrong, this is a good hotel. It just isn't exceptional. There isn't really an option if you want a good hotel; that is part of the problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gcluer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you very much for your comments, we are working in a review and improve our service to allow your best stay.
Sincerely.

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
2.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
43.3 mi away
Isla Suasi Hotel
Isla Suasi Hotel
#9 of 64 in Puno
513 reviews
2.4 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libertador Lake Titicaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libertador Lake Titicaca

Address: Isla Esteves s/n | Lago Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puno
#1 Business Hotel in Puno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puno
#10 Family Hotel in Puno
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puno
Price Range: £84 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Libertador Lake Titicaca 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Libertador Lake Titicaca is the only 5-star hotel in the area and sitsatop private Esteves Island. From anywhere in the hotel, guestswill marvel at outstanding sun rises and sun sets since each roomcommands a spectacular view of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Libertador Lake Titicaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertador Lake Titicaca Hotel Puno
Libertador Lago Titicaca Hotel Puno
Puno Libertador Lago Titicaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing