We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view of Lake Titicaca”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Libertador Lake Titicaca
Ranked #6 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My room was relatively small and 'cozy', but the view was something else. There were glass windows practically from the ceiling to the floor on the side facing Lake Titicaca. I could really appreciate the feeling of waking up with a beautiful sunrise at Lake Titicaca, with the comfort of my own room in my warm bed. When I was there in May 2012, the weather was not very nice - cold, wet and windy. I was very lucky to enjoy an amazing sunrise in my own room. I could even take some pictures after opening the small slide window, without getting wet and cold. Yes, it was relatively a small room but I did not exactly stay in that hotel for the room. I think the view is well worth the money.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room facing Lake Titicaca and ask for a room as high up as possible, as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We value your feedback, it is a pleasure to know that your stay was comfortable.

cordially.

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at the Liberator Estevez in Puno for two night. This is an old world classic hotel but has aged pretty well and the rooms over the lake in which we stayed are absolutely marvelous. The services and amenities in the hotel and truly five star and we would highly recommend staying here whilst in Puno. It doesn't get much better than this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyKni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We appreciate your comments.

Sincerely.

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Its a huge white shipform hotel. We had triple room that is 2 separated rooms and one bathroom.
The rooms had big windows and we could hear how strong the wind is outside. I advice to take pills against mountain sicknes. 3 800 meters at sea level is not a joke. I could eat the fantastic food prepared for me in the restaurant of the hotel because i was sick. I did not expect that the hotel has no own spa. It came home to me later that almost every tourist stays here for only one night and by day spends on lake Titikaka! We were at the end of October 2013 so it was about 10 degrees above zero and later the sun was hot but temperature was the same. The weather is very tricky here. Local children on hovers were wearing sweaters and jackets but with bare feet....and with running noses!! so take more warm windproof cloths and hats protecting you from the hot sun.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your review we note the issues you point out.

carefully.

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We enjoyed our two nights at the Libertador on Lake Titicaca. This is a very nice hotel in an amazing location. On a peninsula/bluff overlooking the lake - our room had a truly amazing view. Given the location and prominent positioning of the building, I don't think there could be a bad view from any room.

While nice as-is, the hotel could very easily be great. The decor in the lobby and room was dated and basic. With a good interior revamp, this place could be amazing. In addition, food and beverage could stand to be improved. We ordered a pizza from the bar one night that was pretty sad (and took a long time to arrive). The ambience in the bar was lacking - with bright fluorescent lighting and dated decor. The breakfast buffet was okay, but nothing exciting (and served in another room with amazing views but dated decor).

Service was good - they were able to book us on a tour of the floating villages (and were able to reschedule the tour when my father was suffering from altitude sickness). All in all, this was a good option for Puno. It is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CJAinMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you very much for writing to us, your comments are very valuable to help us improve details that make it possible to experience in Libertador.

carefully.

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

First impressions were of the location on an island accessed via a causeway with a manned security boomgate. Then I noticed the dozen or Llama contently grazing on the front lawns of the hotel. Idyllic!

Our superior room was on the fourth floor - smallish compared to our other recent hotel rooms but this was more than compensated for by the absolutely stunning full wall glass window view over Lake Titicacca. We were situated on the front side of the hotel - sunset side. The ground or lobby floor boasts extensive lounges and bar areas. Reception are pleasant and helpful but don't seem to have very good English skills.

Only downside was the weak internet - best signal in the room is in the bathroom and even then pictures would not send.

Buffett breakfasts included a wide variety of both hot and cold foods and very attentive waiters.
Beautifully decorated lobby area. A lot of children were staying at the hotel during our two days and they were not always kept under control by parents - running down halls and screeching in the dining room . Destroyed what could have been a very peaceful time.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel have magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear guest.
we appreciate your feedback and we take it as an opportunity for improvement.

thank you very much

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I had two beatiful nights in this Hotel, the services are good but not great, have all services that you want from four star hotel, the thing that I never forgotten is the view of the Lake, is spectacular , two mornings listened sing of birds and see the view of the lake. is amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cuffee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We value your opinion, help us to improve our services.

Sincerely.

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We picked this hotel for the location - lake's edge, and high up. Indeed it had an incredible view of the lake, which was glorious to wake up to as the windows are huge enough to see out of while still lying in bed. East facing so room gets flooded with morning sun - if you're not already gone due to being on an early lake tour.

Big modern hotel with beautiful amenities and grounds, but it felt like we were part of the big "tourist machine" with all the busloads coming and going and the foyer being full of suitcases and people waiting for their buses. At such times, there's no point waiting for the elevators - just use the Escher-style stairs and enjoy the journey down.

The bed was comfortable, bathroom worked well enough not to recall any issues. Maybe we could have done with a little more space for our bags.

Don't miss walking out the door by the bar, turning right, and following the lighted pathway up to the top of the rocky outcrop ... for the most gorgeous view of the lake, from Puno over to the right, all the way to the floating islands of the Uros people across to the left. A lot of landscaping work has gone into this feature, so get your coat and head up to enjoy a little solitude and reflection at sunset ... maybe with a drink in hand (if they let you take them outside).

We took the Andean Explorer train down from Cusco to get here, a wonderful day trip full of surprises - not just your average train ride, that's for sure. Owned by the Orient Express, so your money is well spent on this journey. Then we took the "tourist bus" back to Cusco, which stopped at some sights, and good mountain shopping ... and was enjoyable enough - for a long bus ride.

Room Tip: Get lake-facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneYost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your valuable opinion.

Sincerely.

Daniel Molero
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
2.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
43.3 mi away
Isla Suasi Hotel
Isla Suasi Hotel
#11 of 64 in Puno
515 reviews
2.4 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libertador Lake Titicaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libertador Lake Titicaca

Address: Isla Esteves s/n | Lago Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puno
#1 Green Hotel in Puno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puno
#10 Family Hotel in Puno
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puno
Price Range: £87 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Libertador Lake Titicaca 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Libertador Lake Titicaca is the only 5-star hotel in the area and sitsatop private Esteves Island. From anywhere in the hotel, guestswill marvel at outstanding sun rises and sun sets since each roomcommands a spectacular view of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Libertador Lake Titicaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertador Lake Titicaca Hotel Puno
Libertador Lago Titicaca Hotel Puno
Puno Libertador Lago Titicaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing