We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Libertador Lake Titicaca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Libertador Lake Titicaca
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
North Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our 2 night stay here. It was the best thing about Lake Titicaca which we found overrated and overcommercialisied. The hotel is well located on a small headland outside Puno, too far to walk into town. All rooms have a full or partial lake view (ours was partial facing the town over the lake). We think even numbered rooms have a full lake view. Our room was comfortable, especially the bed, although it lacked space for luggage. The ensuite was a good size also. Breakfast was excellent, the best we've had so far in Peru. Meals in the restaurant were a bit pricey but of high standard. Staff were friendly and helpful. This hotel also provided the best exchange rate we've obtained in Peru. We were a bit apprehensive before arriving because other reviews had suggested the hotel was tired and not up to standard but we were pleasantly surprised by the general decor and cleanliness. The downsides were paper thin walls, windows which did not open and a tiny safe deposit box. All in all however we would be happy to recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank daugymro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear guest.
It is gratifying for us to know more about your experience on Libertador.
We appreciate the time spent to write your comments and hope to receive in the near future, our partners and I will be happy to welcome them back.

cordially

Daniel Molero Pino
General Manager - Libertador Titicaca Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    429
    198
    59
    18
See reviews for
205
580
67
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent two nights at the Libertador hotel in Puno (Lake Titicaca) in June 2014 as part of a three week tour of Peru. The hotel occupies a quiet location just outside the main town. Although our room was fairly small, the magnificent views of the lake more than compensated (the east-facing rooms are best). The restaurant was excellent for breakfast and dinner (breakfast starts at 5.00 am). All staff were very efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: East-facing rooms provide best views of the lake and islands
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest.
In comforting to know that your stay with us was very memorable, we appreciate your preference and take the time to tell his experience on Libertador.

Sincerely.

Daniel Molero Pino
General Manager - Libertador Titicaca Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel is located on the lake. The view of the lake is great and you have it all around, the hotel is modern and very comfort, a little far from the center. Breakfast is great.
The rooms are a little too small and the bathroom as well. Tall and big people will have difficulties to get around.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahuvaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback.

Dear Guest appreciate the time it takes to tell her story helps us to other travelers can have the same experience.
We hope to have in the near future again thank you very much pro your preference.

Sincerely.

Daniel Molero Pino
General Manager - Libertador Titicaca Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My husband and I enjoyed 2 nights at this property and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel is located by the shores of Lake Titicaca with a beautiful garden, lovely walks along the shoreline of the lake & if you are lucky a visitation from the herd of llamas that live nearby.

We had reserved a lake view room but weren't aware that we had to specify we wanted a full lakeside view. Our initial room had a partial lake/city view. A request for a room change was promptly given and we were moved to a full lake view room (I believe it was room 408)

The room was spacious, modern & very clean with a firm bed, fluffy robes and towels. As it faced the lake we weren't bothered by the noise coming from the nearby town.

As this hotel is off the beaten path (which is what makes ideal to get a quality night's rest) we ended up eating dinner at the hotel both nights we were there. The restaurant was excellent and all the guests that were in our group thoroughly enjoyed our dinners both nights. The restaurant service was polished, offered wonderful views of the lake & as I mentioned was very delicious with a fairly extensive wine list.

Juan at the front desk as well as all the staff were professional, friendly and most accommodating.

I definitely recommend this property for your stay in Lake Titicaca. Don't miss the lovely path behind the hotel & also climb up to the tower for more lovely views of the lake located at the hotel (ask front desk for directions) l

Room Tip: Ask for room on 4th floor with direct lake front views. I believe our room was 408. Try to rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest.
It is very gratifying for us to know that your experience at Libertador was very comfortable and pleasant, our mission is to be part of this and make it memorable.
We will extend your comments to all our staff who make it so pocible.
Thank you very much for your feedback.

Sincerely.

Daniel Molero Pino
General Manager - Libertador Titicaca Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Although the architects have wasted great lumps of space in the lobbies and stairwells of this Libertador, the quality of the hotel survives. Rooms often overlook Lake Titicaca itself, which is always engaging at sunrise or sunset. The restaurant is outstanding, with good service and a copious menu of local and international dishes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest.
appreciate the time it takes to tell her story in Libertador, hope this was of great pleasure and the short time he was with us was comfortable.
thank you very much

Sincerely.

Daniel Molero Pino
General Manager - Libertador Titicaca Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

While the view from the hotel is beautiful, the overall experience was sub-par. Having the view, you give up the accessibility to the town of Puno. If your only purpose to stay at the hotel were exercusions on Lake Titicaca, the stay should be adequate. The room we had was somewhat tiny, and not updated. The front desk seemed mechanical and forced. The night we dined at the restaurant, was extremely overbooked hence poor service. The food however was very good. The bar and lounge areas is where we preferred.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcia0254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest.
we are reviewing the difficulties experienced during your stay with us, we have corrected some inadvertent errors that occurred for no recurrence.
We are pleased that you like dinner in our restaurant, we hope that in the near future to visit us again.


Sincerely.

Daniel Molero Pino
General Manager - Libertador Titicaca Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was one of the last hotels on our Globus tour of Peru. Located at the shores of Lake Titicaca,the hotel is large and spacious. clean and modern. The staff was friendly and courteous. The rooms on west side of the hotel had an evening view of the sunset, the east side had a morning view of the sunrise, both very spectacular. The group took a boat ride to visit the inhabitants of two islands, we were entertained and instructed on their way of life. I felt a deep sense of peace in this extremely high elevation. Sincere thanks to Globus for putting together such a fascinating tour.
Muchisimas Gracias to our tour guide Mauricio, BRAVO!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Gerente at Libertador Lake Titicaca, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

We are pleased to know that your stay at our hotel due very comfortable and contribute to the experience superb.
We want travelers can have this same experience and therefore appreciate your experience count Libertador.

cordially

Daniel Molero Pino
General Manager - Libertador Titicaca Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
1.9 mi away
Casa Andina
Casa Andina
#10 of 67 in Puno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
2.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
43.3 mi away
Isla Suasi Hotel
Isla Suasi Hotel
#15 of 67 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libertador Lake Titicaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libertador Lake Titicaca

Property: Libertador Lake Titicaca
Address: Isla Esteves s/n | Lago Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puno
#1 Green Hotel in Puno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puno
#10 Family Hotel in Puno
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Libertador Lake Titicaca 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Libertador Lake Titicaca is the only 5-star hotel in the area and sitsatop private Esteves Island. From anywhere in the hotel, guestswill marvel at outstanding sun rises and sun sets since each roomcommands a spectacular view of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Libertador Lake Titicaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertador Lake Titicaca Hotel Puno
Libertador Lago Titicaca Hotel Puno
Puno Libertador Lago Titicaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing