We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel”
Review of El Buho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Buho Hotel
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Ok hotel”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

El Buho was pretty average for me, but it is well located with lots of restaurants, bars and shop directly around it.
The room was ok, same for the bathroom.
Breakfast however was good.
Staff friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatrickBuijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    42
    14
    10
    9
See reviews for
19
36
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We arrived quite late but were lucky to find still some free rooms. The hotel is located very near to the main pedestrian street and therefore very convenient. Good price for the quality provided.
We were three persons so we got a triple room which was not very big but sufficient for a one night stay. There is a private bath with hot shower but as very often in middle class Peruvian hotels no shampoo thus it is necessary to buy one from the street...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominik125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Very well located, comfortable, quiet, with an excellent service. My girlfriend and I stayed here for three nights during our trip to Titicaca region. Highly recommended!!! Excellent staff!!!
After we left to Lima, once we got there I realized I have missed my camera with all pictures from our two-weeks trip in Peru. I called the hotel and they have searched and found it. And then they arranged to send the camera to Lima with another guest so it could get back to us before our flight back home. That was awesome and very kind!!!
Thanks a lot!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanieldeMedeiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in July. The hotel is well located, around the corner from the main street in town. I booked my Lake Titcaca tour here and had laundry done too. I got a good deal on the Internet, about half the price of the displayed rates, and the reception staff seemed surprised but had to give me a triple room to myself as all of the single and double rooms were occupied. Puno is a cold place in July and I was told I would need to ay extra for heating. Once in bed I was ok but the room itself was cold at night and less so in the morning. The breakfast was fine, better than the average in Peru. Overall, my stay was more than adequate but I feel that a three star hotel should have some form of heating included.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank nellygiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Very nice hotel, well located, good rooms, very clean!! The staff was amazing, friendly, always smiling and trying to help... We also got a discount for being travelling with the lonely planet. Just perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivi86_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, null, Netherlands Antilles
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The hotel is located very centrally in Puno, with most restaurants and shops around the corner.

Although some renovation would not hurt the hotel, the rooms are clean.

Staff of the hotel is wonderfull. When my friend got sick we were allowed to stay in the hotel (whereas we would have been on a two day tour) with no extra charge, they booked us a short afternoon tour when my friend felt a bit better and offered me a spare room for a couple of hours, when I sat on the couch in the hall some time to let my friend sleep. Furthermore, they made us chicken soup although the restaurant was closed for evening service and arranged for a docter on very short notice.

We would be very happy to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank JorikJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We have a reservation for 2 days and when we arrive they said that they don't have the room available for the second night so we have to find another place to sleep . We had a tourist visit the next they and when we arrive very late we had to look for a room insted of going to visit the city or rest .There wasn't heater in the room and it was really cold .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 65 in Puno
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 65 in Puno
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#11 of 65 in Puno
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cantuta Inn
Cantuta Inn
#14 of 65 in Puno
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Qelqatani Hotel
Qelqatani Hotel
#21 of 65 in Puno
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Buho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Buho Hotel

Property: El Buho Hotel
Address: Lambayeque 142-144, Puno, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Buho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Buho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Buho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing