We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice to stay in Puno”
Review of El Buho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Buho Hotel
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Located just behind the main street, El Buho is a nice and very quiet hotel, the rooms are big and well equipped, the bed was very comfortable and the shower is hot. Breakfast is reach and of good quality, fast internet is available in each room. The staff is very courteous and really helpful, it helped me in organizing touristic activities. Prices are pretty low compared to the services offered. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alessio n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

The location of the hotel is right next to the main shopping street for tourists, with many restaurants and shops.
The room is clean and big enough for our big suitcases too.
Shower is nice and warm and the bed is nice to sleep.
The only problem is that the power socket is not standard so we had to borrow an adapter fromt he reception.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eratolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

El Buho is in a good location with the main street just around the corner. Our room was clean with an ensuite shower room and hot water. Allthough there was no heating once in bed we were warm enough and did not wake up feeling cold, they do provide extra blankets. The breakfast was Ok but not spectacular! The staff were polite and helpful although I did have a grievance with them regarding their conversion of the bill to US dollars - two different staff with two different amounts! Wi fi and internet available although the computer is tucked into a very dark corner. Taking everything into account I would still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean and bed confortable but it was very very cold ! No heating, no hot water and windows don't close well.
The breakfast is ok but nothing extra ordinary
The personnel is polite but not helpful at all : we asked once for a tea in the evening because we were frozen, they said not possible. We asked another time them to call an hotel for us because we don't speak the language, they said not possible.
We don't recommand this hotel because it's too expensive for the servie delivered

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

The hotel we originally booked online let us down by apparently being no longer in business so we found El Buho. The staff were super helpful (they let us know that our train had been moved forward due to a strike, and then after it was cancelled made many phone calls to find out the situation and get us alternative transport)

Our double bed was very comfortable, the shower hot, the internet very fast (there's a router on each floor) and the breakfast was good enough.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goodlegs_xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

El Buho was pretty average for me, but it is well located with lots of restaurants, bars and shop directly around it.
The room was ok, same for the bathroom.
Breakfast however was good.
Staff friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatrickBuijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We arrived quite late but were lucky to find still some free rooms. The hotel is located very near to the main pedestrian street and therefore very convenient. Good price for the quality provided.
We were three persons so we got a triple room which was not very big but sufficient for a one night stay. There is a private bath with hot shower but as very often in middle class Peruvian hotels no shampoo thus it is necessary to buy one from the street...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dominik125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 65 in Puno
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cantuta Inn
Cantuta Inn
#14 of 65 in Puno
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 65 in Puno
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Qelqatani Hotel
Qelqatani Hotel
#22 of 65 in Puno
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kuntur Inn
Hotel Kuntur Inn
#25 of 65 in Puno
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mosoq Inn
Mosoq Inn
#19 of 65 in Puno
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Buho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Buho Hotel

Address: Lambayeque 142-144, Puno, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Price Range: £30 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Buho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your El Buho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Buho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing