We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, room we had was a little dark but did the job for a night. Excellent breakfast too.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casona Colon Inn
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

The price on the door when you walk in is crazy but we negotiated a fairer price (like ones you see if searching online) and got a good room. Good shower and nice and cosy. Only thing I hated was the bed sheets didn't fit the bed so when we woke up the next morning I'm lying on the mattress, don't know why they have wrong bed covers, shame.

Breakfast was excellent. Ive been offered a buffet breakfast all over SA and normally come down to find a spoonful of cold scrambled eggs and a stale bread roll but this was really good, lots of fruit and a good selection.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randygit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

This was a great hotel for us. We went in June which is a very cold time - space heaters were in our rooms, but the rest of the hotel was very cold...so bring warm clothes. Good location and friendly staff. The rooms were very nice and there was hot water.
We were on the third floor, which got us winded climbing the stairs when we first arrived as we were getting used to the altitude.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had spent the two previous nights shivering and hearing loud street noise in another hotel in Puno, so we decided to look into alternatives. The guidebook showed the Casona Colon Inn to be about two blocks away, so we walked in. We were greeted in English by a well-dressed man at the front desk. It was all so much more friendly and easy than our other hotel that we couldn't believe it. We gleefully hurried back to our first hotel, threw our clothes in our suitcases, checked out, and hurried back.

As other reviewers said, this hotel is very really old, and the views from the rooms are somewhere between so-so and ugly. But the rooms are warm, the beds are comfortable, the central location is convenient, and it was the first time in 8 days that the electricity was stable enough for me to charge both my phone and my camera. It felt luxurious!

Breakfast was OK. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was extremely good and the fireplace felt wonderful. Our waiter put little flags on each table to show where each group was from, and we could see a mix of French, Spanish, Canadian and American visitors.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GWScottJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Just one night at Puno and the hotel were up to our expectation, a clean and comfortable room. A bit dark but it is a old building with its charm. Location was the key point, besides tourist points we need some IT stuff, car insurance and groceries, all to be found not farther than 2 blocks. Breakfast was ok but we were not happy to have to pay for a typical broken fallen glass, tipping money, but it was a bit weird.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroeira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We spent a couple of nights at this hotel and thought it was average.

Pros: good central location, friendly staff who spoke English well, clean rooms with a heater in it, extra blankets / bedding, the hotel staff gave us a few rooms options to choose from.

Cons: hotel is somewhat outdated and the rooms don't offer much of a view.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank richardsmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Good location, helpful staff but the rooms are small and dingy. The worst thing was that the hotel had no heating whatsoever apart from small electric heaters in the room which are certainly not up to the job. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetFruitloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We were very disappointed with the stay we had in Colon Inn, room number 209 on 08.10.12.

We arrived to:
- A dirty bathmat screwed up on the bathroom floor which what looked like faeces on it
- Broken toilet seat
- Broken heater
- Plug sockets hanging off the wall (next to the mini bar cabinet)
- Dirty carpets
- A temperamental bathroom light

For $60 per night we feel we have been completely ripped off.

Once more we complained at reception and the lady pretty much laughed at us so we left a complaint letter for the manager and have still received no response.

We saw Colon Inn in the Lonely Planet guide and have subsequently written to them to recommend they remove the hotel.

If you're looking for a great place to stay in Puno try Intiqa Hotel. Only $10 more and it's amazing!!

Room Tip: Avoid room 209!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L_Austin_2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Turistico
0.3 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 64 in Puno
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel
Casona Plaza Hotel
#22 of 64 in Puno
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#10 of 64 in Puno
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Qalasaya
Hotel Qalasaya
#29 of 64 in Puno
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casona Colon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona Colon Inn

Address: Calle Tacna 290, Puno, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range: £26 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona Colon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colon Inn, an antique mansion of the early republican period that has captured all the elegance of this architecture, invites its guests to relax, transporting them to an era where charm reigned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casona Colon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Colon Hotel
Hostal Colon Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing