We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”
Review of Qelqatani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Qelqatani Hotel
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Reviewed 15 June 2014


Stayed here 3 nights with my travel buddy. Although the software of this hotel isn't great, the hardware works fine. And at US$ 45 a night, it's good value.

Pros:
1. Spacious room. Each bed in a twin bed was almost queen sized.
2. Great hot water shower with screen that insulates from the cold. Useful in winter.
3. Rooms facing away from the street are quiet
4. Pricing

Cons:
1. Service is poor. Reception can't even give proper directions
2. Far from the main plaza, where the main activities are located
3. Same selection of buffet breakfast every morning

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank lym7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thanks for your comments and your time to write about your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was the last hotel during our stay in Peru. During our 12 day trip, we stayed in hotels and private apartments. In terms of facilities, the Qelqatani hotel had the nicest rooms, the best bathrooms, and the best water pressure and hot water than anywhere else on our trip. Unfortunately, the facilities did not make up for the lack of friendly service at this hotel. The front desk clerks were indifferent, at best, and sometimes totally inept at other times. Not once did they say "hello" (or "buenos dias") or smile. When asking about a local restaurant, neither clerk was able to find the location or make other recommendations. The worst incident happened in the restaurant. Our group was feeling the effects of altitude and did not want to go out for dinner. When we wnet downstairs to the dining room, we were told that we could not have dinner at 6:30 because there was a group having dinner. We looked into the dining room ( which conservatively has 15 tables) and the group was sitting at 6-7 tables, leaving more than 6 tables free. Apparently, the hotel is not equipped to handle a full dining room and refused to seat us until 7:00PM - not guaranteeing that we would even be served until much later.

The support staff was very helpful when we needed oxygen or some soup delivered to the room, but overall, the front desk staff and the dining room staff were lacking in customer service skills.

The hotel location is good and is very near a pedestrian shopping area and plenty of restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We apologize for what happened, we have new staff these days. We hope to have them better trained soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I found Qelqatani to be better located than hotels off of the pedestrian walkway, having the advantage of being quieter, yet just meters from the hustle and bustle. Also closer to the Bolivian consulate, the tourist health clinic, the supermarket and food stalls it has an unrivaled location. The hotel itself has a rather odd layout in the upper floors with substantial maze like left hand turns and then right hand turns probably meant to maximize exposure to the sun which in chilly Puno is an enthusiastic plus. The room was quite large, with a nice, comfy bed, very large, clean bathroom with tub, good hot water. The internet as has been my experience in Peru was OK, not terribly fast, enough to make calls on Skype but spotty at times. I highly rate the check-in and cleaning staff who made every effort to maintain standards and accommodate needs. I had a clogged toilet in the otherwise trouble free bathroom, the cleaning staff came immediately and did not leave until the problem was solved. The building itself seems to be better maintained on the inside as its outward appearance does not truly express its interior. The included breakfast was nice, with several made to order options, ie scrambled, fried, poached eggs, and.quinoa pancakes-apart from the fruit, hot beverage, bread, jam and a ham standards. I will have to say that it is excellent value for price, but most of all highly commend the staffs bright, sympathetic, can do attitude which can make an average experience a memorable one. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank chachalaca1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear guest we really appreciate your comments and experience with us. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I will start with the positives: best showers we had in Peru, hot water in the showers and toilets that flushed. After that it kinda falls off. Then last night we in Puno, we wanted to eat at the hotel. A large group had reserved half of the restaurant, but since the servers and staff are so inept, they could handle our group of six, in addition to the other people. The front desk tried to set us up with the most expensive way to get to the airport we had experienced AND it HAD to be in $ not Soles for some reason. I got the feeling they were sick of us and just stopped being helpful. The only reason they get the three starts is for the shower.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Frisinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear guest, we appreciate your comments. During your stay we had a big group of persons in our restaurant and we had not enough staff to serve you, we really sorry. Regarding the transfer prices to the airport we give you our normal prices, offered the option in private or shared service, maybe you consider these prices expensive but you have to consider that you can pay us with credit card and we work with touristic vans not a taxi or similar so of course you can find cheaper services in the street but maybe there are not safe and you can not pay with credit card. Regarding your airport transfer prices we give you are the prices we have, also , you are offered the option of service in private and shared for you chose. We hope for your understanding and we apologize if you did not felt well served by our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Staff were really good - organised our lake titicaca tour, bus to cusco and taxis etc. And a good selection of food was offered at breakfast. The room was very comfortable - the best shower that we've had in Peru and good beds/bedding and heater, the tv was very small (but wasn't an issue for us, since we were out most of the time anyway); our main problem was with the noise (some internal and a lot external, with night clubs and honking horns from cars) and this meant that we didn't have good sleeps the nights we were there. We'd definitely go back to Qelqatani but if it's possible, would request a quieter room!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBuckHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thanks for your feedback. We regret that your stay was not entirely pleasant and we recommend our guests request at reception for ear plugs (free of charge) in case you have problems feeling noise at night. Thanks also for recommending us despite the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and always offered us coca tea to help with the altitude sickness.. The room was comfortable but it was VERY noisy at night - a lot of night clubs in the area. This together with the altitude does not make for an easy rest at night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marelie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We regret that your stay was not entirely pleasant and we recommend our guests request at reception for ear plugs (free of charge) in case you have problems feeling noise at night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Staff was great, the price couldn't be beaten (we bought via Hotels.com) and everything else met needs. Breakfast was good, location was a block or two from a lot of good food options and bars. Highly recommend if traveling through Puno

Room Tip: One note...heard the club located on other side of the block on a weekend night. I was so tired, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear guest, we appreciate your comments, we really glad to know that their experience at the hotel was to your liking. Thank you very much for recommending us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#10 of 64 in Puno
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 64 in Puno
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Qalasaya
Hotel Qalasaya
#28 of 64 in Puno
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qelqatani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qelqatani Hotel

Address: Jiron Tarapaca 355, Puno, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range: £18 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Qelqatani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION: Located in the heart of Puno city, within easy walking distance of tourist attractions such as museums, colonial churches, commercial centers, banks, restaurants, night life, and other places of interest for our guests.ACCOMMODATION: The Hotel has 42 rooms, 14 are Single or Matrimonial rooms, 18 are Doble rooms, 7 Triples, 2 Suites “Double Junior” and 1 Suite “Single or Matrimonial Junior”, each room is furnished with carpet, TV / Cable, Telephone (IDD/NDD), Heating, Bathroom with tub and Hot / Cold Water 24 hrs, Safe, Hair Dryer and Energy Transformer from 220V to 110V.SERVICES: Restaurant, Bar and Cafeteria, Laundry, Telephone (IDD/NDD), Fax and Wireles Internet, Room Service, Conference Room, Mail Service, Souvenirs Shop, Tourist Information, Travel Agency, Medical Assistance, Reservation and Flight Confirmation, Transfers to the Airport, Money Exchange, Credit Cards, Baggage Storage and Taxi Service.Our Conference Room offers great benefits to our current and future clients, including our Dinner & Shows offer. During the day, it is also available for conferences, seminars, shops and any other activity that require a wide, elegant and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qelqatani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qelqatani Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing