We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Qelqatani Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$52
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suites Antonio's(Puno)(Great Value!)
US$33
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$259
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$175
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Titilaka(Puno)
US$1,503
US$1,102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$139
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
151
186
89
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
186
89
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterthe main pedestrian streetbig bathroomthe hotel staffbreadfew blocksspace heaterlocation is greatgood sizejuliaca airportenjoyed our staycomfortable hotella pazbit datedhamlake titicacalate at night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We, a family of 4, spent 2 night at Qelqatani hotel. We got 2 rooms on the 4th floor, 306 and 309. We have internet in room 306, a room with 2 (full) beds, but no internet in room 309 in the corner. Room 309 is the matrimonial room.
The hotel has a fabulous location just around the corner from Lima Street, a pedestrian only street with restaurants and shops. It is also very close (10 mins) to Puno's Plaza de Armas. However, the location, because it is so central, the hotel is very noisy. It is totally not their fault, and they will give you free earplugs if you ask, at the front desk.

The room itself is a basic size, there is a safe deposit box in each room. The bathroom in 309 is bigger than 306. No problems with water pressure or hot water. Portable heater is provided in each room. There are also complimentary water bottles in the room, and teas in the lobby. The bed is ok, one pillow per person. I am a multiple pillow person, so I would prefer more pillows.

Breakfast was ok. Selections of bread, fruits, cereals. They take eggs order and bring it to you when it is ready. We asked for a later checkout for one of the rooms and was given one hour more. Normally check out was at 11.

Overall, a good stay and we are happy with the location.

Room Tip: If you want internet in the room, try to stay with middle of the hotel rooms and dont choose corner rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctedjopranoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thanks you for your feedback and your time to write about your experience with us. We hope that our authorities can fix the problem with the noise in the street during nights on weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014


Stayed here 3 nights with my travel buddy. Although the software of this hotel isn't great, the hardware works fine. And at US$ 45 a night, it's good value.

Pros:
1. Spacious room. Each bed in a twin bed was almost queen sized.
2. Great hot water shower with screen that insulates from the cold. Useful in winter.
3. Rooms facing away from the street are quiet
4. Pricing

Cons:
1. Service is poor. Reception can't even give proper directions
2. Far from the main plaza, where the main activities are located
3. Same selection of buffet breakfast every morning

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank lym7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thanks for your comments and your time to write about your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was the last hotel during our stay in Peru. During our 12 day trip, we stayed in hotels and private apartments. In terms of facilities, the Qelqatani hotel had the nicest rooms, the best bathrooms, and the best water pressure and hot water than anywhere else on our trip. Unfortunately, the facilities did not make up for the lack of friendly service at this hotel. The front desk clerks were indifferent, at best, and sometimes totally inept at other times. Not once did they say "hello" (or "buenos dias") or smile. When asking about a local restaurant, neither clerk was able to find the location or make other recommendations. The worst incident happened in the restaurant. Our group was feeling the effects of altitude and did not want to go out for dinner. When we wnet downstairs to the dining room, we were told that we could not have dinner at 6:30 because there was a group having dinner. We looked into the dining room ( which conservatively has 15 tables) and the group was sitting at 6-7 tables, leaving more than 6 tables free. Apparently, the hotel is not equipped to handle a full dining room and refused to seat us until 7:00PM - not guaranteeing that we would even be served until much later.

The support staff was very helpful when we needed oxygen or some soup delivered to the room, but overall, the front desk staff and the dining room staff were lacking in customer service skills.

The hotel location is good and is very near a pedestrian shopping area and plenty of restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We apologize for what happened, we have new staff these days. We hope to have them better trained soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I found Qelqatani to be better located than hotels off of the pedestrian walkway, having the advantage of being quieter, yet just meters from the hustle and bustle. Also closer to the Bolivian consulate, the tourist health clinic, the supermarket and food stalls it has an unrivaled location. The hotel itself has a rather odd layout in the upper floors with substantial maze like left hand turns and then right hand turns probably meant to maximize exposure to the sun which in chilly Puno is an enthusiastic plus. The room was quite large, with a nice, comfy bed, very large, clean bathroom with tub, good hot water. The internet as has been my experience in Peru was OK, not terribly fast, enough to make calls on Skype but spotty at times. I highly rate the check-in and cleaning staff who made every effort to maintain standards and accommodate needs. I had a clogged toilet in the otherwise trouble free bathroom, the cleaning staff came immediately and did not leave until the problem was solved. The building itself seems to be better maintained on the inside as its outward appearance does not truly express its interior. The included breakfast was nice, with several made to order options, ie scrambled, fried, poached eggs, and.quinoa pancakes-apart from the fruit, hot beverage, bread, jam and a ham standards. I will have to say that it is excellent value for price, but most of all highly commend the staffs bright, sympathetic, can do attitude which can make an average experience a memorable one. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank chachalaca1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear guest we really appreciate your comments and experience with us. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I will start with the positives: best showers we had in Peru, hot water in the showers and toilets that flushed. After that it kinda falls off. Then last night we in Puno, we wanted to eat at the hotel. A large group had reserved half of the restaurant, but since the servers and staff are so inept, they could handle our group of six, in addition to the other people. The front desk tried to set us up with the most expensive way to get to the airport we had experienced AND it HAD to be in $ not Soles for some reason. I got the feeling they were sick of us and just stopped being helpful. The only reason they get the three starts is for the shower.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Frisinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear guest, we appreciate your comments. During your stay we had a big group of persons in our restaurant and we had not enough staff to serve you, we really sorry. Regarding the transfer prices to the airport we give you our normal prices, offered the option in private or shared service, maybe you consider these prices expensive but you have to consider that you can pay us with credit card and we work with touristic vans not a taxi or similar so of course you can find cheaper services in the street but maybe there are not safe and you can not pay with credit card. Regarding your airport transfer prices we give you are the prices we have, also , you are offered the option of service in private and shared for you chose. We hope for your understanding and we apologize if you did not felt well served by our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews