We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but noisy room”
Review of Qelqatani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Qelqatani Hotel
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Puno
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but noisy room”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel originally made us sigh with relief. Lovely lobby, a doorman, efficient friendly staff, free bottles of water in the room, big room, big bathroom, an elevator. It's about 1 1/2 blocks from the main drag and the main drag in Puno is a neat street full of the usual shops and restaurants.
Our problem was our Room #303. There's a disco behind the hotel. Thursday night the music quieted around midnight but not on Friday. It lasted until 5:00AM. Uy. If you can be sure not to get those back rooms it's a great place.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 303 or anything in the back near the disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbhallll2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for your comments and for staying with us. We regret the noise problem but we suggest request earplugs to our staff if you do not find them in your room, we are sure to be of great help and reassurance for you and it is free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    176
    80
    16
    7
See reviews for
56
195
48
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

hi, I stayed at this hotel two times during my stay in Puno. The staff and the cleanliness of the hotel made it very comfortable for us. The location was great as it was only a couple of blocks from the main square. This is not a 5 star hotel but most hotels in Puno are not yet the service and comfort as well as having breakfast included were great!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We thank you for your time to write about your experience with us. We are a 3 star hotel and we hope to meet the expectations of a hotel of its category in service, quality and price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The room is large with two double sized comfortable beds, the bigger bathroom has bath tub. The hot water finally arrived after running water for more than 10 minutes. The space heat with premature control function is provided. The breakfast is also the best overall with in-person service (you choose what kind of egg), Fruits, juices and yogurt are so fresh, many choices of other food. For $45 per night I feel we should at least pay $70. The location is also good, It is easy walk to the area with many restaurants. The room is quiet and we have a good night of sleep even with little high altitude impact.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much to share your experience with us. Our goal is to provide more for less and with your feedback on us we achieve our goal, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We, a family of 4, spent 2 night at Qelqatani hotel. We got 2 rooms on the 4th floor, 306 and 309. We have internet in room 306, a room with 2 (full) beds, but no internet in room 309 in the corner. Room 309 is the matrimonial room.
The hotel has a fabulous location just around the corner from Lima Street, a pedestrian only street with restaurants and shops. It is also very close (10 mins) to Puno's Plaza de Armas. However, the location, because it is so central, the hotel is very noisy. It is totally not their fault, and they will give you free earplugs if you ask, at the front desk.

The room itself is a basic size, there is a safe deposit box in each room. The bathroom in 309 is bigger than 306. No problems with water pressure or hot water. Portable heater is provided in each room. There are also complimentary water bottles in the room, and teas in the lobby. The bed is ok, one pillow per person. I am a multiple pillow person, so I would prefer more pillows.

Breakfast was ok. Selections of bread, fruits, cereals. They take eggs order and bring it to you when it is ready. We asked for a later checkout for one of the rooms and was given one hour more. Normally check out was at 11.

Overall, a good stay and we are happy with the location.

Room Tip: If you want internet in the room, try to stay with middle of the hotel rooms and dont choose corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctedjopranoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks you for your feedback and your time to write about your experience with us. We hope that our authorities can fix the problem with the noise in the street during nights on weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile


Stayed here 3 nights with my travel buddy. Although the software of this hotel isn't great, the hardware works fine. And at US$ 45 a night, it's good value.

Pros:
1. Spacious room. Each bed in a twin bed was almost queen sized.
2. Great hot water shower with screen that insulates from the cold. Useful in winter.
3. Rooms facing away from the street are quiet
4. Pricing

Cons:
1. Service is poor. Reception can't even give proper directions
2. Far from the main plaza, where the main activities are located
3. Same selection of buffet breakfast every morning

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lym7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thanks for your comments and your time to write about your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, MA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was the last hotel during our stay in Peru. During our 12 day trip, we stayed in hotels and private apartments. In terms of facilities, the Qelqatani hotel had the nicest rooms, the best bathrooms, and the best water pressure and hot water than anywhere else on our trip. Unfortunately, the facilities did not make up for the lack of friendly service at this hotel. The front desk clerks were indifferent, at best, and sometimes totally inept at other times. Not once did they say "hello" (or "buenos dias") or smile. When asking about a local restaurant, neither clerk was able to find the location or make other recommendations. The worst incident happened in the restaurant. Our group was feeling the effects of altitude and did not want to go out for dinner. When we wnet downstairs to the dining room, we were told that we could not have dinner at 6:30 because there was a group having dinner. We looked into the dining room ( which conservatively has 15 tables) and the group was sitting at 6-7 tables, leaving more than 6 tables free. Apparently, the hotel is not equipped to handle a full dining room and refused to seat us until 7:00PM - not guaranteeing that we would even be served until much later.

The support staff was very helpful when we needed oxygen or some soup delivered to the room, but overall, the front desk staff and the dining room staff were lacking in customer service skills.

The hotel location is good and is very near a pedestrian shopping area and plenty of restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We apologize for what happened, we have new staff these days. We hope to have them better trained soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I found Qelqatani to be better located than hotels off of the pedestrian walkway, having the advantage of being quieter, yet just meters from the hustle and bustle. Also closer to the Bolivian consulate, the tourist health clinic, the supermarket and food stalls it has an unrivaled location. The hotel itself has a rather odd layout in the upper floors with substantial maze like left hand turns and then right hand turns probably meant to maximize exposure to the sun which in chilly Puno is an enthusiastic plus. The room was quite large, with a nice, comfy bed, very large, clean bathroom with tub, good hot water. The internet as has been my experience in Peru was OK, not terribly fast, enough to make calls on Skype but spotty at times. I highly rate the check-in and cleaning staff who made every effort to maintain standards and accommodate needs. I had a clogged toilet in the otherwise trouble free bathroom, the cleaning staff came immediately and did not leave until the problem was solved. The building itself seems to be better maintained on the inside as its outward appearance does not truly express its interior. The included breakfast was nice, with several made to order options, ie scrambled, fried, poached eggs, and.quinoa pancakes-apart from the fruit, hot beverage, bread, jam and a ham standards. I will have to say that it is excellent value for price, but most of all highly commend the staffs bright, sympathetic, can do attitude which can make an average experience a memorable one. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank chachalaca1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guest we really appreciate your comments and experience with us. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 66 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#8 of 66 in Puno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 66 in Puno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Intiqa Hotel
Intiqa Hotel
#13 of 66 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qelqatani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qelqatani Hotel

Property: Qelqatani Hotel
Address: Jiron Tarapaca 355, Puno, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Qelqatani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION: Located in the heart of Puno city, within easy walking distance of tourist attractions such as museums, colonial churches, commercial centers, banks, restaurants, night life, and other places of interest for our guests.ACCOMMODATION: The Hotel has 42 rooms, 14 are Single or Matrimonial rooms, 18 are Doble rooms, 7 Triples, 2 Suites “Double Junior” and 1 Suite “Single or Matrimonial Junior”, each room is furnished with carpet, TV / Cable, Telephone (IDD/NDD), Heating, Bathroom with tub and Hot / Cold Water 24 hrs, Safe, Hair Dryer and Energy Transformer from 220V to 110V.SERVICES: Restaurant, Bar and Cafeteria, Laundry, Telephone (IDD/NDD), Fax and Wireles Internet, Room Service, Conference Room, Mail Service, Souvenirs Shop, Tourist Information, Travel Agency, Medical Assistance, Reservation and Flight Confirmation, Transfers to the Airport, Money Exchange, Credit Cards, Baggage Storage and Taxi Service.Our Conference Room offers great benefits to our current and future clients, including our Dinner & Shows offer. During the day, it is also available for conferences, seminars, shops and any other activity that require a wide, elegant and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qelqatani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qelqatani Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing